We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Second Visit One Year later was just as great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Carreta Mexican Restaurant

La Carreta Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Summersville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Second Visit One Year later was just as great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had talked to friends about this discovery on our way from Florida to Ontario, so I was looking forward to a repeat experience. We were not disappointed.
We were very tired after being held up by a terrible accident, so we were tired from our 13 hour trip.
We were seated instantly not far from several families whose sons were on a baseball team.
We were served some tacos in huge bowl accompanied by a homemade sauce.
We ordered the "Dinner for Two" which was a generous portion that we could scarcely finished.
The service was great although the waiter was kind of aloof at first.
We will return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
189 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fast and Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We arrived after a basketball tournament game with a group of about 14. The size of our party was no problem. The food arrived very quickly, and it was good. The service was very good, promptly re-filling nacho chips, salsa, and drinks.

The food was standard mexican fare, although I went away from my usual and ordered a dish pictured on the menu -- chicken and chorizo topped with white cheese... it was very tasty. I'd gladly order it again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
349 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Good pseudo-Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you consider chop suey to be Chinese food or that Benihana serves great Japanese food, then you might call La Carreta Mexican. It's what you'd get in "Mexican" restaurants in the northeast, though no one from Texas or other border states will be fooled. This is not to say that there's anything wrong with the food - actually it's quite good - it's just that you should understand what you're getting. Of course, would you really expect genuine Mexican cuisine in a small West Virginia town?

The food is tasty, attractively prepared and presented, with large portion sizes. You won't leave hungry, in fact, there's a very good chance you'll take leftovers with you. Looking at the staff there, I think they actually are Mexicans, but have chosen to prepare their food as they think (probably correctly) people in this area would like it. Maybe that also explains the fairly slow and indifferent service.

Handy location in a large strip mall by the highway, close to hotel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucky_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Handled a group of 20 couple of us with no problem, whils keeping the rest of the restuarant happy.
Place is busy, food was very good.
I gad shrinp taco's, my wife had gotten fish taco's.
With such a large group of us, I believe we ordered very many things on the menu.
Everyone was very happy.
The waitress ran alot just for our group, and as demanding as we were with beer's, mixed drinks, salads, dinners and deserts I thought she did a great job.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jewildasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food! Wonderful setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

La Carreta has the best queso dip I've ever tasted! We always order it to dip our chips in instead of just the salsa. They have great food and great prices! Great service also.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Summersville, WV
 

Been to La Carreta Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing