We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good pseudo-Mexican” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Carreta Mexican Restaurant

La Carreta Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Summersville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
382 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Good pseudo-Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you consider chop suey to be Chinese food or that Benihana serves great Japanese food, then you might call La Carreta Mexican. It's what you'd get in "Mexican" restaurants in the northeast, though no one from Texas or other border states will be fooled. This is not to say that there's anything wrong with the food - actually it's quite good - it's just that you should understand what you're getting. Of course, would you really expect genuine Mexican cuisine in a small West Virginia town?

The food is tasty, attractively prepared and presented, with large portion sizes. You won't leave hungry, in fact, there's a very good chance you'll take leftovers with you. Looking at the staff there, I think they actually are Mexicans, but have chosen to prepare their food as they think (probably correctly) people in this area would like it. Maybe that also explains the fairly slow and indifferent service.

Handy location in a large strip mall by the highway, close to hotel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucky_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Handled a group of 20 couple of us with no problem, whils keeping the rest of the restuarant happy.
Place is busy, food was very good.
I gad shrinp taco's, my wife had gotten fish taco's.
With such a large group of us, I believe we ordered very many things on the menu.
Everyone was very happy.
The waitress ran alot just for our group, and as demanding as we were with beer's, mixed drinks, salads, dinners and deserts I thought she did a great job.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jewildasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food! Wonderful setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

La Carreta has the best queso dip I've ever tasted! We always order it to dip our chips in instead of just the salsa. They have great food and great prices! Great service also.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Follansbee, WV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This restaurant was very accommodating of our large group of 9. The food was great, and our cups were never empty. The servers were very friendly and helpful in explaining the menu items. We will definitely eat here again! :)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Typical Mexican restaurant food, great prices, fast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Pretty happy with my visit here. Some Mexican restaurants are hit or miss, and this one hit the mark with the whole family. Expect good cheap Mexican fare here, would recommend to anyone...

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OverSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Carreta Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing