We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The EconoLodge sign out front had me wary but we were tired and ready to stop rather than push on to the New River Gorge bridge in the rain. Glad we did.
Rooms were larger and better equipped than expected, including microwave and refrigerator. All was clean and neat. The low price fooled me. The breakfast was the only thing that was below the standards of the major chains but with rooms that cost about half the price there's no complaints. The place is a great bargain.
Definitely added to the list for future trips through the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patel8055, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear ,

Thank you for taking the time to Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Property CHI
General Manager
Econolodge summersville
3048726900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    45
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
38
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

While our room was updated, clean & comfortable, I found some of the desk staff rude. ie: when asked about refilling the juice/milk pitchers during breakfast time, the answer was "when it's gone, it is gone". Very poor continental breakfast. Since they have changed hands, they have stopped serving the sausage gravy & biscuits, along with fresh cereal, bread, dispensing of milk & juice instead of 1 pitche. .What they serve now is extremely limited, & stale.

Room Tip: Our room was nicely updated on the first floor near the Dairy Queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at this property for a night while on our way to the New River Gorge Bridge, Fayetteville, WV. The property is pretty decent and right on the US Highway 19 and a short drive from the New River Gorge Bridge. The Rooms are very spacious and the beds are comfortable. The only issue we had was with the Air Conditioner. Even in an always on mode it kept switching on and off but otherwise we had a very comfortable stay and overall very satisfied with the Rooms and the value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank raopapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I presenting my BW Reward card, the staff advised that the location was sold & card not honoured. The room had no cups for the coffee maker & the continental breakfast on display appeared old. Disappointed.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank ROBERT H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Summersville hotels

Fairmont WV
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were generally pleased with everything, especially the service and friendliness of the staff, and the coffee was AWESOME!! However, even though we reserved a SMOKING room, the room had an extremely strong smell of smoke. Just needs to be deodorized more aggressively. One of us is a smoke and one of us is not. We reserved a smoking room because of the time of year and the chance that the weather would be very cold.

Otherwise, we will be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ROSEANN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

There was a minor problem with the TV and morning breafast pancake making machine but we were given a discount on the room which was appreciatted. We did not have to ask for the refund, it was given to us when we mentioned the problem.


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank ARTHUR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Everything about our stay at this Best Western was average and acceptable for an overnight stay except the poor condition of the bed. The mattress cover and fitted sheet on one of our beds was so old and worn out that they wouldn't stay in place. I woke up the next morning with the mattress cover off the mattress and wrapped around my body.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summersville
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 7 in Summersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 7 in Summersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Summersville
Hampton Inn Summersville
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Summersville
Super 8 Summersville
#6 of 7 in Summersville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1203 Broad Street, Summersville, WV 26651 (Formerly Summersville Lake Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing