We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Solid "3"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Solid "3"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for three nights as a "base camp" for adventures in WV. The hotel was nice - what I expected from a Best Western. The room was large and had plenty of room. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the heater worked, the fridge-microwave-coffee maker came in handy, and the bathroom was clean with a nice shower. All of the linens were in good condition and clean. We had no problems with the WiFi in our room.
The free hot breakfast was good and included a "hot pancake oven" that made pancakes that were much tastier than some of the food produced with the usual "waffle machine" some hotels utilize. We had a first floor room and did not notice any noise from the street (Route 19). We enjoyed dining at Bob Evans and a local place on the other side of Summersville Lake,

Room Tip: We were in Room 101, right next to the Dairy Queen. Heard some noise from people on the 2nd floor b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 757JLVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
26
35
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I would have given them a 4 if the WiFi had worked in the room - we could only connect in the tiny lobby, despite trying with an iPad, an iPhone AND a netbook. The room was a good size, and - unusually for a chain motel - smelled fresh when we went in. The bed was comfortable but I found the pillows hard and lumpy so I didn't sleep that well. Our room was on the 2nd floor and it was a bit of a squeeze getting the luggage cart through the entrance and into the elevator. Although we didn't hear any noise from the highway, we did get disturbed by other guests who left the hotel early, simply because we were right over the parking lot. Breakfast was free, and about par for the course in a chain motel. Good location just off US 19, and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sometimesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

As my daughter and I were just driving past on our way home from Florida, we booked this hotel online, just for its location.
Its a very basic hotel, old. Its at the very south end of the town, but there's not much to Summersville. There are a couple of restauants, some basic shopping, but at least there was a Dairy Queen right next door!
Be careful looking it up. We were given the wrong address and the girl at the desk said she's heard that many times before. Its across from the Burger King on Hwy 19.
The rooms again, very basic. They had just painted or plastered and the room smelled of it. We dealt with it as it was just one night passing through.
The price was ok but I would have really booked elsewhere. Spend the extra $10 and book something else. It was ok but thats it.
The continental breakfast was very basic but a bowl a cereal, a juice and yogurt was enough to get us on our way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuy1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Summersville hotels

Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Not a Holiday Inn Express by any means, but a nice place at a reasonable price, with all the usual things, including a large room with a COUCH to sit on while watching TV. Dairy Queen next door for quick snacks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed 1 night here as we wanted to check out the New River Gorge Bridge & area on our way home from a long road trip. It aint' the Plaza, that's for sure, but for a rack rate of about $70, what do you expect? It was clean enough and comfy enough for a night. Service friendly and efficient. It's right on the highway and serves the standard regular old 2* joint breakfast (why are the pancake machines always broken?) from 6am. Just fine for what we needed. True the paint and finishing are not the prettiest but didn't bother us too much.

Seems most are either hunting/fishing/rafting or passing thru so I There are a couple fast food joints at the intersection of this hotel along the highway. Otherwise you have to drive 1/2 hr up the road to the touristy area past the big bridge in Fayetteville to get more restaurant-y options. Otherwise, bring your own vittles!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaWaMiDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Recently spent the night at this hotel en route back to Canada.
The check in staff person " Dawn" was extremely helpful and cheery. This was a welcomed bonus, as when we booked the room via cell phone and in the car, the gentleman on the phone could hardly speak english and thus combined with traffic noise was frustrating. When in the hotel business, customer service is the # 1
priority when inquiring or booking a room.
The room was clean and had a fridge and microwave which worked well.
The rooms however are dated and could use some tender loving care. The bed was comfortable, however the sheets had that piley textured feel.
Very nice new AC unit. Unfortunately there was night time road work being done and the sound of the rollers and equipment made for a fitful sleep.

Room Tip: Perhaps call to see about the night road work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

As soon as I entered my room, the power was interrupted due to a storm. However, the desk clerk was very helpful to all guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summersville
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Summersville
Hampton Inn Summersville
#4 of 7 in Summersville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Summersville
Super 8 Summersville
#6 of 7 in Summersville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1203 Broad St, Summersville, WV 26651-1805 (Formerly Summersville Lake Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing