We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good sleep-over for vacationing in WV” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good sleep-over for vacationing in WV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

furniture and beddings are a bit worn but very clean. comfortable bed and quite night though located roadside. Above average breakfast compared with others in the same price range. A good value!

Recommend to those who head to outdoor trips in WV, such as whitewater rafting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
33
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is badly in need of renovations.
It appeared to be fairly clean and the staff was friendly and accommodating. All room furnishings are old and very dated.

Room Tip: All rooms face a busy highway and have just basic amenities. There is a coffee pot though. Contine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Summersville hotels

Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Pittsburgh. For location, it is right off of 19, so it is easy to get to. The bed was quite comfortable. The downside was that the room itself was a little drab. It seems they tried to do some remodeling and painting, the smell was still in the room, but it was not done well. They do have a decent breakfast considering it is a small breakfast area. They have a machine for pancakes, which were not half bad. Overall, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piccurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Children loved continental breakfast complete with instant pancake machine that magically makes fresh pancakes at the press of a button. Also had yogurt, juice, coffee, cereal, and biscuits and gravy. Quite yummy. Very nice night desk clerk, and convenient location on main travel route.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We liked it there a lot. The room had been updated, was super clean and had what we needed.

Just so you know.....The complimentary breakfast was not great so we ate in town at the Schony's. The room was not quiet...someone who was up till midnight and up again at five a.m. was next to us....who knew that would happen??. The carpet fresh was too strong but died down once the door was left open for awhile. WiFi was off and on all evening.

Overall...we would go back because of the clean room and good value.

Room Tip: Pick up a Coupon Book at the WELCOME CENTER, you can get a room for $52./ night with it. Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjhunbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I have always found Best Westerns to be pleasant, clean and comfortable hotels - nothing luxurious, but certainly good value. Not so much with this one. I did book this on Priceline, so perhaps that explains the surly attitude of the check-in lady, who barely made eye contact and made me feel as if she thought I had stolen the room, even though I had paid very close to the regular rate I would have gotten with my Senior discount.

The first impression is not great - the lobby is smaller than most bedrooms and it includes the "business centre" (computer), a couple of couches and the breakfast room with 4 small tables (I'll discuss the breakfast later).

In fairness, the room itself seemed clean and was a reasonable size. But it looked a lot like the roadside motel rooms which we used to rent in the 60's when we were first married and couldn't afford an actual hotel. This room could very well have been decorated in the 60's and never updated. There were dark brown drapes, a blue-grey rug, harvest gold (like the old fridges) bed spreads, and a sort of wine or burgundy chair and ottoman. Everything else was beige except the greenish trim on the baseboards and doors - except where the peeling paint revealed previous paint colours. There was a modern heating/air conditioning unit that worked well and a small fridge and micro.

When we got in the room, we noticed that there was a hospital stool and an extra grab bar beside the toilet, so it was obviously a handicapped room. My wife called the check-in lady to ask for a regular room (hoping that there was a slim chance that it might not be so depressing looking). The lady said that we had booked the room on Priceline and had asked for a handicapped room which was ridiculous since neither of us is handicapped and I certainly know that I didn't request a handicapped room. My wife suggested that we did not want to take the room in case someone who actually needed it might not get it - sort of like not parking in the handicapped spot out of consideration for someone who actually is handicapped. The reply was that she would not give us another room because we booked on Pricline and that was that.

As for the bed (2 double beds in the room - so don't try for a queen or king), the fitted bottom sheet was so loose (and thin) that it kept bunching up all night. My wife though that it hadn't been laundered since there were small stains in several spots. But on closer examination, it just appeared that was just worn through in spots, so much so that you could see right through it and that made it seem like it was stained. Anyway, whatever mattress cover was under the sheet was very lumpy and combined with the paper thin sheet, made for a poor night's sleep.

As for breakfast, it was pretty lean pickings - no make-your-own waffles, no hard boiled eggs, no English muffins, no peanut butter no yogurt and no regular tea bags. Bagels were the size of mini-dounuts (if you tried to put one in the toaster, I have no idea how it would ever come out). The plastic bowl for the cereal was so thin, it literally broke on the edge when I picked it up, spilling milk all over the counter. Even the plastic knife was so thin that it was nearly impossible to spread cream cheese (the only decent thing there) on the toast.

The only reason that I rated this dump as "Poor" and not "Terrible" was the very pleasant and cheery young lady who was on the desk at check out. Sorry, I didn't catch her name, but Best Western should reward her for being the only really good part of our stay.

Room Tip: For good room, go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APTorontoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane J, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We are doing remodeling and hope you will stay with us again soon. If I can assist you with anything futher please contact me.
Thank You
Diane Johnson
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

You want a resonably priced and comfortable place to sleep with a basic breakfast that will get you to lunch? This will do just fine, stayed there on way down to FL. I cannot speak to all the rooms, but ours was very clean and had microwave and small fridge. There was also a computer in the small lobby/breakfast room. Good bang for the buck for snowbirds. Intend to book there again. Lots of restaurants north on the road a mile or two, and a Dairy Queen next door for burgers, etc (did not try that).
A tip - when gong through (or by Summersville) be very careful of the speed limits and also traffic which I have seen run full red lights on many occassions - it can be dangerous..

Room Tip: We were on the ground front, but back from the road, no noise problems at all. Parked right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summersville
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Summersville
Hampton Inn Summersville
#4 of 7 in Summersville
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Summersville
Super 8 Summersville
#6 of 7 in Summersville
3.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1203 Broad St, Summersville, WV 26651-1805 (Formerly Summersville Lake Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing