We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and friendly people and place”
Review of The Arnott House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spencer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Arnott House
Ranked #1 of 2 Spencer B&B and Inns
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Very nice and friendly people and place”
Reviewed June 4, 2009

the wife and husband are very friendly and the place is quite big neat and better than many expensive hotels, I stayed twice at this place with my wife and we loved it. and we are going to stay here once again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattareddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
9
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The Arnott House is a beauty. It has been restored with great care and love. Our suite was large and comfortable, with all the amenities. The best part of the stay was the lady of the house, Dilya. What a story she has to tell and what a GREAT cook! She is a delight! Breakfast was cooked to order (tons of food) and served at our leisure. We highly recommend a trip to Spencer, WV, just to meet Dilya, native Russian and All-American. She made our trip memorable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnieSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Arnott house while looking for farms to buy in the area and we are glad we did. Although we had to cut our trip short our time with Greg and Dalya was one of the highlights of the trip. A custom made to order breakfast was waiting for us right on time. Their hospitality and conversation made us feel very comfortable and the restoration and upkeep on the home was immaculate. If you are staying in Spencer, WV, do yourself a favor and book your room at the Arnott house. Great rates too!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeykorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We needed a place to stay for a family funeral. The reviews for Arnott House were good, so we called. We were not disappointed. The house is beautiful and maintaining the original 'old style' which we love. The room we chose was clean and warm (we were there in winter). Our hosts were fabulous and went out of there way to accomodate our questions.

Yes, you need to have the breakfast (I recommend waffles and bacon).

If you want great location, great price and great surroundings, then Arnott House is highly recommended by us.

Travelers from Iowa

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysLookingIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We had a wonderful stay!! We were in town to visit family. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the whole house is filled with a warm ambience. We will definitely stay there again when we are in Spencer.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anaid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2008

Clean, cozy, warm and comfortable. Good folks specializing in providing welcoming hospitality.

  • Liked — Homelike atmosphere
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank T422day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluefield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2008

This property is amazing. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are large with nice size tub/showers. The property remained clean and home like the entire length of our stay. The owners go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and comfortable. I loved the breakfast each morning. There was definitely a sense of true hospitality at this bed and breakfast. I would stay again.

  • Liked — size of rooms
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gagemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Arnott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arnott House

Property: The Arnott House
Address: 103 Locust Ave, Spencer, WV 25276-1311
Location: United States > West Virginia > Spencer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spencer
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing