We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed during the Fourth of July weekend. Easy access from I64. The hotel was very nice. I can't knock the rooms for a single thing, clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed 24 hr access to the soda fountain and snacks.The hot breakfast was good and added value to our stay. Bonnie was great, she kept breakfast moving. Next time we are in town there is no question where we will be staying.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Andrew H,

Thank you for recognizing Bonnie. She works for us while not in school and we always look forward to her summer employment. Having her as part of that first thing in the morning exposure does make the day more pleasant. We look forward to your next visit but know we cannot always guarantee fireworks.

S Arnold GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    298
    114
    40
    19
See reviews for
344
182
55
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Church, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have stayed here on several occasions and have yet to be disappointed. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean and in great condition. The breakfast options in the morning are varied. I find the fitness center to be a plus. There is also a complimentary shuttle service. There was a mix up with our reservation when we arrived, which is indeed stressful, but Mike Smith was extremely kind and patient. He checked our confirmation number several times, as well as looking up our name to see what may have been wrong. He didn't simply brush it off or state there was nothing else he could do. He said that they had rooms available and provided us with a number to call and check about the misdirected reservation. After we discovered the problem - we were able to get a room. Mike efficiently and quickly checked us in. He made a very stressful situation easier. He is a great asset to the staff. He also indicated that we could have a beverage from their complimentary 24 hr. beverage station while we were waiting. He also told us that we would be able to use the fitness center in the hotel next door, as well. I made use of that fitness center, as well. We would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Lulu57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear 19Lulu57,

Mike has been with our hotel for many years and we also think he is an asset. I am so glad he was able to take a stressful situation and turn your experience into a pleasant one. Thank you for finding our hotel and giving us the opportunity to show you our service and out product. We hope to see you again soon.

S Arnold GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was a nice hotel. It was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and in good condition and the breakfast options in the morning were fine. The hotel does not have a pool, but the front desk staff told us we had access to the pool at the hotel next door. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Bradley T,

Thank you for the nice review. We hope you will come back and next time we will strive for a 5 rating.

Cordially, S Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#2 of 3 in South Charleston
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Address: 402 2nd Avenue, SW, South Charleston, WV 25303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston Hotel South Charleston
Wingate South Charleston
Wingate Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing