We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    317
    125
    45
    20
See reviews for
379
195
60
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was a nice hotel. It was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and in good condition and the breakfast options in the morning were fine. The hotel does not have a pool, but the front desk staff told us we had access to the pool at the hotel next door. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Bradley T,

Thank you for the nice review. We hope you will come back and next time we will strive for a 5 rating.

Cordially, S Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

When we checked out, I sadly left a makeup bag with a number of fairly expensive cosmetics behind. I am quite certain I left it in the bathroom. I called the hotel several hours after we left and was told that the cleaning service had left for the day. I called the next day and no one found it. When I asked that they double check, the person at the desk, hung up on me. I think the way he ended the conversation was very rude and it is my firm belief that someone in housekeeping found it and kept it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Gail A,

While I can sympathize with your loss of an item that was left behind by you , I really do not believe that accusations are applicable. I cannot tell you how often during my long career in the hospitality business that someone thought they left something only to find it in their luggage or other explanations. Please accept my apology that the team was not more receptive to investigating this item and be assured I will look into this personally.

Thanks, Sandy Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We recently used the Wingate in South Charleston to reserve a block for my wedding guests. From the first time I contacted them, the staff was so incredibly friendly. Donna helped me set up my block, and she was just wonderful.

My now in-laws worked with Donna and the Larry (I believe he was the manager) to set up a breakfast for my out of town guests for the day after the wedding. The hotel offers a free breakfast, but basically they set up a room for us to use so that we could all eat together and congregate a little before all heading home. They were incredibly easy to work with on this. Then on Friday, our rehearsal dinner location was rained out, and Larry was so helpful in letting us relocate there. It really resolved a lot of stress on my part.

There were a lot of little things that really added up to big things that the staff demonstrated that just really showed that they cared about the guest experience.

Now onto the hotel itself - the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear AmandaJo614,

Thank you for the kind words about the staff. It really is all about our people. We were glad we could accommodate your guests, especially when we experienced rain and you had to move to someplace indoors. Think about us for your 1 year anniversary.

S. Arnold, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
8.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Address: 402 2nd Ave, South Charleston, WV 25303-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston Hotel South Charleston
Wingate South Charleston
Wingate Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing