We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were pretty clean, but the toilets sounded like a jet taking off. I could hear every time someone flushed, so I did not flush during the night. I also did not care for the half pillows on the bed. I liked they gave you four, but I felt they were too small. Overall the hotel was clean, comfortable and a nice place to stay. We asked the desk clerk for some recommendations for lunch and they really didn't have any suggestions which was surprising. We often travel and count on the locals for suggestions on places to try so we were kind of left out in the dark.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisjim32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Chrisjim32, Thank you for the review! I am sorry to hear that the low-flow toilets were so loud for you and that you heard so much from the other rooms. I will have this checked into to see what we can do. I am also sorry that our desk staff seemed unprepared for the local cuisine questions you had. We will reinforce our training on that to make sure that our guests receive enough information to make an informed dining decision. Thank you for the comments, they allow us to better serve our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
There are newer reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Barbra F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I found the Wingate by Wyndam Hotel in Charleston WV to be nice and convenient. The lobby and breakfast area has just been remodeled and offers a contemporary look. The room was average with a few amenities that were missing like a light bulb in a night stand lamp and a TV control that did not always change channels or volume. Minor problems when the internet was fast and the room temp was comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Carolyn B, Thank you so much for the comments and our entire staff appreciate them. Thank you for bringing the issues with your room to our attention so that we can correct them. We look forward to showing you an exceptional stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank joeworf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank John and Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Address: 402 2nd Ave, South Charleston, WV 25303-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Charleston
Price Range: $103 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston Hotel South Charleston
Wingate South Charleston
Wingate Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing