We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay at Wingate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with other staff. We were coming from Huntington WV, and were trying to find somewhere to eat in the Charleston area before checking in. We called the hotel, and the reservations clerk was most helpful in directing us to a restaurant. We arrived late(10:00PM), checked in and crashed, as we had an early flt out. The rooms were clean, and the beds were the best ever! I wasn't there long enough to check out anything else, but if you're looking for the best beds in Charleston, WV, you might want to stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Sharon B,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the compliments for the staff and are very glad we could help you in your search for a restaurant. Next time you are in Charleston, please drop by and stay a little longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

People book a room based on the services you offer. When you arrive and the soda machine is broken it matters.
When you have an influx of guests and you run out of food, plates, condiments, etc 30+ minutes 2 days in a row before breakfast time ends....it matters.
The staff knew the food was out and tried to scrape the edge of the egg bin in hopes of making it look like 1 serving of eggs would work for the 12 people waiting for a plate to be brought out from back.
STOP promoting these services, if you truly don't intend to offer them.

Asked check in attendent about options to eat, not pizza, she could only offer pizza places. Every step of the way... it definitely seemed like this was the WRONG place to stay.

Shower pressure was non-existent both days and times of showering.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Geraldine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Room was clean and good size. Especially liked the common area where drinks & snacks are available all day. Good experience using the common area for work most of one day. The wireless service is good connection and speed. Fitness equip well maintained and included two walking machines. Easy on/off I64 and short distance to the Capitol.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Address: 402 2nd Ave, South Charleston, WV 25303-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Charleston
Price Range: $103 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston Hotel South Charleston
Wingate South Charleston
Wingate Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing