We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff here is very friendly and helpful. Especially Michele,who works at night. They are very patient and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. When I couldn't get the fax to work they did it for me, when I needed directions they had a pre-printed map of local places. My stay was for 21 days and most of the staff became my family away from home. I would definately stay here again. Too bad that their sister hotel right next door,the Holiday Inn wasn't as good. My friend and I ate there one night. We had to wait a long time to be waited on and the food made us sick,literally,that night.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agrnthmb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Agrnthmb14, Thank you so such for the kind review. Our staff is 1st Rate and I'm pleased to hear that you have such a favorable impression of them from your stay. I look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

948 - 954 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We are staying right now at the Wingate and it is wonderful. The staff is so friendly and the rooms are well-appointed for the price. The hotel is decorated lovely and the only thing it lacks is a pool, however guests can walk just a few feet to the Holiday Inn next door and swim there. They offer a free breakfast each morning (which was tasty!), light snacks, and Pepsi products free through the day. It is clear the front desk staff and the chef take pride in their work. We are staying as part of a group for this visit and would gladly return as a guest for any stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacyleigh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Stacyleigh75, It's great to hear from you, and I'm happy you had a wonderful time at the hotel. Thank you for the kind comments about the staff and hotel. I look forward to seeing you again and being able to serve you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Victor F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank STAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Address: 402 2nd Ave, South Charleston, WV 25303-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Charleston
Price Range: $103 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston Hotel South Charleston
Wingate South Charleston
Wingate Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing