We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent retreat while our power was out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent retreat while our power was out!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent 2 days here after spending the previous 2 days at another hotel during a power outage. Really wish this one was available the other 2 days!. The staff was friendly and courteous from the very beginning. Very clean and the breakfast was excellent. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. The Holiday Inn right next door(they share the same parking), offers their pool to guests at the Wingate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I'm so glad we were able to help you out during the large power outage that affected the area and I am happy to hear you had such a great stay with us. I look forward to seeing you in the future, hopefully in better circumstances!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    323
    129
    45
    23
See reviews for
396
200
62
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, WV
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I recently had to stay here as a result of the storm outage. I was extremely thankful to find a room but then was treated terribly. Michelle at the front desk checked me in and neglected to inform me of the services that were down at the time of checkin. At 10:48 pm, Michelle awoken me advising me there was an issue with my card, basically that my payment had been denied. She advised that she knew this at check in but was too busy to let me know then. I find it hard to believe as when I checked in at 430 pm I was the only one at the desk. After researching the difficulty with my card was she tried to charge 1,144.38 for one night repeatedly. My card flagged it as fraudulent and denied. After arguing with her about her contacting me so late, I gave her my debit card with implict instructions to only charge the room rate. After asking why they contacted me so late, she hung up on me. Of course I have the room rate charged and a pending authorizaton of $100.00 being held hostage in my back account by the hotel. I contacted the front desk manager, Daugh and asked if this is how they normally treat their guests. He repeated called me a liar about them attempting to contact me. The hotel phone has a caller id as does my cell and there were no missed calls or voicemails from the front desk. In today's day and age, it is hard to believe that someone would not leave a voicemail? Anyway after researching the charges, I have called the hotel requesting an immediate call back from the manager to address the obviuosly fraudulent charges....with no response.

This hotel is in a bad neighborhood and I had to stay there out of desparation. I would not recommend it to anyone. Please look elsewhere!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
I am very sorry for your trouble during your stay. I hope that our phone discussion has helped clear up many items and given you a more favorable outlook on our hotel. As we discussed there have been a few changes made to insure a situation like this doesn't happen again to any future guest. I thank you for your comments and for talking with me on the phone to clear this situation up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

First of all, the hotel was clean, neat, safe and the room was comfortable. The free breakfast is underwhelming, but having fresh fruit and soft drinks available all day was great.

I had two problems.

First of all, the front desk manager who checked me in was a "kidder." When I told him my name at check in he claimed not to have a reservation for me. When he saw how crestfallen I was, he immediately told me that he was "kidding." While I have as good a sense of humor as anyone, after a 10-hour drive I did not find him amusing. At all.

Secondly, the same manager took my credit card and assured me that I could charge drinks/food at the hotel next door (owned by the same company) to my room. When I attempted to do so, the bartender was loud and rude and the experience embarrassing. She loudly proclaimed, in front of a bar full of people that there was no record of my credit card being on file, and that I would have to pay her directly. Whatever. I paid my tab. This young woman is not going to win any prizes for her intelligence. When I ordered a vodka-soda with a splash of cranberry, she asked me if I wanted Coke in my drink. Seriously? I had to explain the concept of soda water to her. This hotel is in my hometown. We didn't used to grow them so dumb.

Other issues included breakfast employees yelling at each other in front of customers – thankfully about food.

I will stay here again. It's reasonably priced and the closest hotel to friends and family. And, I've already sent management an e-mail about my experiences.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for the review and for bringing these matters to our attention. I am glad that the room was comfortable and that you felt safe at our hotel. The staff interactions that you experienced are not typical and we are using this review to illustrate to our staff examples for service improvement. If you wish to discuss this over the phone I can be reached at 304-744-4444, and please ask for Beverly King.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were happy in every way. The hot tub was sparkling clean and they had a great breakfast. I left a wall plug module for my tablet there and called them the next day. They checked the room and found it. My only complaint is that they said they would use fedex to ship it back the cheapest way but it ended up being a $21.24 charge to do so. The module was smaller than a walnut so I can't believe there wasn't a cheaper way.

The Los Agaves Mexican restaurant is 1 block away and had very good food at good prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpintar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateCharlestonMGR, Admin Staff at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed Los Agaves, and that you were happy with your stay. I am sorry for the misunderstanding about shipping methods and we will make sure there is a better procedure in place in the future so that charges like that are known in advance. I look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The rooms were large, the decorating was fabulous. Very nice. Everyone was nice. There is a pool next door at the Holiday Inn Express that can be used by the people at the Wingate. Short walk over.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Admin Staff at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to give our hotel a review. I am so happy that you had a pleasant stay and I would like to thank you for the kind words about our Staff and the rooms. We do have a spa here at the Wingate, but for a full size pool, we do have the arrangement with the Holiday Inn next door to let our guests use their pool, and it is a very short walk next door. Glad you had fun end enjoyed it! I hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Found this hotel on hotwire. I didn't know what to expect because personally i've never stayed at a wingate before. it was very clean with a nice lobby. Rooms were very comfortable overall the rooms were nice. They have a wide variety of breakfast with a nice lobby area to eat it. Another plus is that they offer free wi-fi which is very helpful. This hotel is very close to downtown Charleston and is vey close to th highway. The only downside is that it is in a weird area and kinda made me raise my eyebrow. But overall nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMichiganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Admin Staff at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
I'm so glad you did find us! I'm pleased our hotel was also your first experience with a Wingate Hotel and that you found it such a great place to stay. Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel and I look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Some rooms are smaller and not as nice as others. However, I frequently stay here. It is a decent location and a reasonable price for the area. The breakfast is good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Admin Staff at Wingate by Wyndham Charleston, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thanks for the review, I am glad you like the location and price for our hotel. I appreciate the comments about our breakfast and that you choose to stay here frequently. I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Charleston
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Charleston West
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Southridge
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charleston South
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in South Charleston
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston South
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Charleston
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Charleston

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Charleston
Address: 402 2nd Ave, South Charleston, WV 25303-1216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > South Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Charleston Hotel South Charleston
Wingate South Charleston
Wingate Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing