We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Spruce Cafe and Tavern

Old Spruce Cafe and Tavern
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Snowshoe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Visited while on a ski trip. Inside is rather small. We were lucky to get seats, but glad we did. The food we had was good. They do not have the capabilities to make any fried foods, so that limits the sides you can order. Overall a good meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MntneerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wahington DC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go for the desserts!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you're young and want to hang out in a bar, this is the place on the mountain! It's also got the best desserts by far - you definitely need to have a Slatyfork sundae (say yes to the bacon!) or a Cookie Smash - they are SO good!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank trvlnnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not good service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I stopped in for a drink after getting off the slopes. It was quite awhile before someone acknowledged me then told me to wait a few more minutes. The bloody mary was terrible, it tasted like ketchup. I didn't finish it and went next door to Foxfire for excellent everything. The good looked like it would be interesting if I had eaten there, but they touched alot with their bare fingers.

Helpful?
Thank csalannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LunchTime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a great place is Snowshoe Village to meet up for lunch. Great local food. Excellent soup and sandwiches. Place gets busy, so arrive early to get a table for lunch. Also a great place for happy hour drinks or late night drink. Small place, not much atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank puggy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best home-cooked food on the mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Homemade soups & chili, great quiche, flatbread pizzas, salads. Super value for the price of food. Hang with the locals for happy hour every day from 4:30 to 6:30 pm. Excellent service and friendly staff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Spruce Cafe and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing