We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hog rally 2012”

Old Spruce Cafe and Tavern
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Snowshoe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 29, 2013

was in here 2 nights proior to the bad experience. got a burger and some fried tomatoes. burger was okay but things were missing from the order or from the way i ordered my meal, tomatoes were not that great, they did accommodate me on dipping sauce i cant have ant dairy, i got o spicy jelly salsa which was excellent. the second night all our orders were messed up ore than once service took for ever the meal took for ever, we didnt order anything elaborate, ill never eat here again first time soso second horrible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bikeman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie W, Bartender at Old Spruce Cafe and Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Sorry to hear you had bad experiences dining on the mountain! But I think you may have confused us with a neighboring location. We don't serve hamburgers. Give us a try next time you visit Snowshoe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 90 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Cheaper alternative to the pricey Village eateries. Good sandwiches and salads and the people there really seem to appreciate your business. They also have a little take out area to grab and go which was nice

Thank SKI J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friend and I really enjoyed our sandwiches here-- they were creative and delicious (smoked trout wrap and a delicious chicken sandwich w/sweet/hot mustard, etc.). Chunky tomato basil soup was good, too. Service was slow but courteous. Food service ended early evening and bar only began.

Thank CollegeProf-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Old Spruce is the place to go on Snowshoe Mountain to hang out with a lively crowd of locals and tourists alike and throw back some booze. So, go ahead, get sloshed! Why not? You'll have a good time.

Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Spruce Cafe and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing