We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, nice server” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Cantina

Sunset Cantina
Ranked #17 of 27 Restaurants in Snowshoe
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come check out our exciting new menu!! Sunset Cantina is a fusion of Latin flavors with a burst of Southwest influence. We've up scaled our menu and wine list, to provide a true dining experience. Featuring FRESH seafood, hand cut grade A choice chops and steaks. Every dish is prepared fresh to order with unique taste combinations.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food, nice server”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

got into Snowshoe later on a Thursday, our food was good and the server was helpful in planning the weekend events -
hours of operation not conducive to the summer crowd - had a lot of downhill mtn bikers on Sunday and the Cantina would have done well, but they were closed.......

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tivvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    40
    27
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The food was very good in this restaurant. They had great service and the staff was friendly and quick. I like that you could make a reservation here!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1023Heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“okay food, a bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

This place is expensive compared with the other restaurants at Snowshoe. The food was okay, nothing extraordinary.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oliv1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spent 6 days in Snowshoe over the long weekend, and dined here every night. We had direct access to the restaurant from our hotel, Allegheny Springs, without having to exit the building. This was a huge plus, given the snowy and cold conditions. It also enabled us to avoid the lines/waits, since we could put our names down, go back to our room, and come back slightly before the estimated time was over. The first night I had the shrimp burrito, which was not the best choice, as it was quite heavy. However, the following nights, I looked to the entrée section of the menu and had better luck there. Occasionally, the food was a bit too salty for my taste, but the salmon and scallop entrees were very well cooked overall and very tasty. The tuna nachos were also quite good (the ahi tuna that comes with it, in particular, was delicious). The goat cheese salad was excellent! The service was invariably friendly and efficient. Kudos to them and the kitchen, I must say, since it was a very busy time over President's Day weekend. At no point, over the 5 nights that we dined there, did we have to wait for the food or had drinks forgotten, which could have happened given how busy they were.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MartaH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in at exactly 2pm and hostess with menus in hand said "oh sorry it's 2pm we stopped seating"

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank YblesEnahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing