We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Skiing with the Family!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snowshoe Mountain Resort

Snowshoe Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Snowshoe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Start with an 11,000 acre playground serving up the best of the mountains, however you like it. Your days here are like having dessert first. Our Village is situated atop the mountain and gives you access to spa-ing, shopping and even dancing. It all feels better at 4,848 feet.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Skiing with the Family!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is my second year at Snowshoe for a father son ski trip. Conditions were fantastic and although we had one really cold day the experience was really great! The staff are all super friendly and helpful and the choices for food and other activities makes it a well rounded resort. Can't wait to go back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    171
    59
    40
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, safe and great atmosphere! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Get the training lessons at The Village at Snowshoe and then go off to practice at Silver Creek! Silver Creek is less crowded and has more space for learning. Friendly staff, great trainers and excellent atmosphere! Cheat pizza is a must at the Village!

Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is my third year at Snowshoe, a trip that we plan for the latter part of January. The conditions this year (2014) were the best yet...powdery, soft snow, and plenty of sunshine. I skiied on a Friday so the crowds weren't bad at all. The village is a lot of fun too, everything you need is right there, from burger shacks to finer dining. I highly recommend Foxfire Grille. The Junction is alright for a meal, but every time I visit the service takes a long, long time. In their defense, it's jam packed in there.

We stay on South Westridge, so a shuttle bus picks us up and takes us wherever we need to go around the resort. It's free, but tipping is always an option. Not driving anymore once we arrive is a key factor due to the ice, snow, and bud light.

Visit www.Liftopia.com to get a discount lift ticket a few days prior to arrival, it adds up.

After skiing Snowshoe a few times, the slopes I grew up on in NC seem like ant hills!

Also, if you're a great skiier, visit the "Western Territory". It takes a few different lifts and a short walk, but it's world class black diamond skiing (with a bar/grill at the bottom).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It is the south after all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

It's southern skiing at its best. Luckily for them, there isn't much competition. Lift lines are poorly managed and unnecessarily long, lifts are slow, so many people are skiing scared it isn't funny. Western territory and Silver Ck help you avoid the 30+ minute waits. On a crappy weather day, the place is great. I say go Mon - Thurs or don't go at all. Even then you may miss a lift while they fumble to scan your lift ticket.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cmr013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The mountain in the sky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I've been enjoying ski and summer vacations at Snowshoe Mountain Resort for nearly 30 years and would encourage everyone in the Southeastern U.S. to check it out. A huge mountain with ski runs for every level of expertise is the main attraction but summers up here at 4848 feet of altitude are exceptional. When it's hot and humid during the summer, this mountain getaway is usually a cool, dry 75 degrees with many opportunities for hiking, mountain biking, fly fishing, swimming, and just enjoying being outside for a cook out. I highly recommend Ridgewood Condos for its more private, quiet location.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowshoe Mountain Resort also viewed

 

Been to Snowshoe Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing