We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian Food - Perfect on a Cold, Snowy Night”
Review of Auntie Pasta's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Auntie Pasta's
Ranked #23 of 27 Restaurants in Snowshoe
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food - Perfect on a Cold, Snowy Night”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had dinner with my husband, son, daughter-in-law and two year old grandson at Auntie Pasta's on our last night at Snowshoe. It was our first visit to the restaurant at this location (they used to be in another spot years ago) and we were pleasantly surprised. My son/daughter-in-law were at first concerned it was too fancy for a 2 year old, but as the other tables filled with children, their concerns evaporated. The food was very good - Spaghetti with meatballs (soft-ball sized), lasagna, pappardelle, fettucini alfredo with chicken and mac and cheese for the tot - portions so big that 4 of us had "doggie bags." FABULOUS Italian bread with garlic butter or tapenade. Prices were reasonable.

Our server was very accommodating and efficient. The only disappointment was that since this is very close to their season end, our first choice of wine was not available. Will definitely try them again next ski season. Since we were staying in a condo in the same building - not having to go outside in blowing snow was a REAL plus!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Italian Basic”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at Auntie Pasta's, the food was good, but not great. Fresh mozzarella salad was very good. The spaghetti marinara and meatballs, pasta bolognese were good and basic. The chicken milanese was a bit dry, but the accompanying artichoke and arugula salad was delicious. Serving sizes were very generous. Decent wine selection by the glass. Our server was very good & the atmosphere was nice, we sat in the window with mountain views.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank USAHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy Pasta!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

One of 2 restaurants in the resort area that takes reservations so book it and avoid lines and waiting. The pasta was great and the portions very generous. We shared the fettucine alfredo and it was plenty for 2. Our waitress was on the ball--pleasant and attentive. Highly recommend!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jgt3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Update, new management, not as good”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We visited Aunties again, anticipating another great meal. We found out that there is new management and the place was revamped. What a disappointment. The food was nowhere near as good as our last visit. It took awhile to get waited on. Our waiter read us the menu, translating basic Italian menu terms to us and highly recommended like 80% of the menu. I will say caesar salad was on a plate lined with proscuitto and was very nice. They had a small menu and 3 of the 4 appetizers were salads. Oh well, nice while it lasted.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank snorkeler-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelingmomma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food! Great Service!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It took a minute to get seated but the pair at the desk were funny and amiable. Our waitress had a great accent and was quick witted and informative. The roasted garlic soup was so tasty as was the Cesar salad and molten lava cake (they called something else). Some of our party showed up 40 minutes later and we had not arranged for seating for them and because it was close to closing and tables close by opened up they happily accommodated them. The price was right for the food but so a $15-26 for entrees but I would have eaten there for a second night if we did not have so many kids to feed who would have been okay with pizza. The kids loved the fettuccine Alfredo and chicken Parmesan. The atmosphere was low lightening and relaxing as well so prefect after an awful drive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmomma_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auntie Pasta's also viewed

 

Been to Auntie Pasta's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing