We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Location, ski-in/ski-out, dated decor, affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lodge Condos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Lodge Condos
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Location, ski-in/ski-out, dated decor, affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a big complex so the unit you stay will play a big role for your ski-in/ski-out experience. Luckily, we're staying at a unit right next to the stair exit albeit on the third floor. Walking down 2 flights of stair is not that bad but being right to the exit helps significantly otherwise you have to walk a long hallway carrying your ski gear. This condo is located in a great location. It's right next to the ballhooter lift which is the main quad lift at snowshoe. From your condo/ballhooter lift, you can ski down to any lift you want to compared to other ski-in/ski-out condos where you might be able to only ski down to certain lifts. The decor is slight dated 80's era but it sufficed for our needs and our stay - decent-sized bedroom, kitchen, bathroom. Lots of ski/coat racks which is very helpful. Everything in the unit works fine. There's a daily towel service. There's a 24 hr front desk which is a big plus sine we didn't check in until midnight the day we arrived. Not all snowshoe accommodation has 24 hour front desk. The main pool house is across from the condo. The main village market and starbucks is a few minutes away. Overall, this is an affordable, great ski-in/ski-out accomodation (depending on the unit you are staying), very close to the village markets. We had a great time and would return again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank willoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
38
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very happy to have a ski in - ski out for us and our three kids to be able to ski. The place is kid-friendly, which is a plus.

We rented a 1 bedroom condo which was very small. Honestly I barely slept due to the heating and cooling issues and my husband and son were in the bedroom next to the hallway with all the noise. (see earlier reviews where this has been described in detail.) If you leave the windows closed it is stifling in there, leave the window open and of course it's freezing. There's no in between.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MskiNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Here it is in a nutshell. The bedrooms have windows next to the bed which overlook the hallway. In other words, anyone in the hallway has a very good chance of seeing you in bed! We ended up hanging the bedspread over the window to ensure no one could see in. Then of course, if anyone is walking down the hallway speaking above a whisper, you hear it loud and clear in the room. NEVER SLEPT MORE THAN 3 HOURS a night!

Lets talk about the heat... With the heat off, it was never less than 80 in the room. Only way to cool off was open a window. It was 17 degrees outside so you open the window for 5 minutes to cool the place down, then close it. 30 minutes later it is 80 degrees in the room again. This was another reason I could not sleep. Yes, the location is excellent, but so are all the other condos which are within 2 minutes walking distance.

So, Mountain Lodge is the oldest worn-out dump on the Mountain, yet the price for a room is the same as a new, nice, modern complex right next door. The only reason for you to ever utter the words "Mountain Lodge" is to refer your worst enemy there!

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Snowshoe hotels

Cocoa Beach, FL
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The number one reason why there is no Internet. It is throttled to only 75 users to save money! Not because you're in a National Radio Quiet Zone! It works in every other complex. This complex is well situated on the mountain but there is so much wrong with the entire resort. Everything is overpriced, the place is impossible to get to, the staff is underpaid and not happy to be there and the main reservation office will not resolve issues with your room. Last dime mountain west will ever get from me.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G8ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have stayed at ML for 2 years. The units are very much worn out. Pilling off wall paper, dingy wall paper, dim lights... There is virtually no insulation what so ever. The heat rises up, so the 3rd floor units are hot, while the 1st floors are cold. Haven't had one comfortable sleep night. Yeah, all the basics are there, but all the units need to be thoroughly renovated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hongbin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern US
Level Contributor
105 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at the Mountain Lodge in December 2012 for some early season snowboarding. Since I was by myself, I just wanted basic accommodations with ski-in ski out, and that's what I got with ML. The snow came to my back window, and the Ballhooter lift was about 40 meters from by back window, so I was very happy with the location. It took me about one minute to walk from my room to the snow, and would have taken me 5 seconds if I had gone out the back door. I could also walk to the village for dinner and to the small general store for coffee (which was not included with the room). Once I arrived and parked my truck, I didn't drive it again until I left.

My room was basic. The bathroom is very small. The layout of the ML is like a college dorm, with the doors facing inwards. The bedroom is closest to the inner area, and it did not feel very private, especially with the blinds which had small holes in them. The kitchen was small, but adequate for me and allowed me to have a simple breakfast and lunch each day. There was a fold-out sofa in the combined kitchen-dining room-living room, but I think fitting four people in there would be a challenge unless it was a family with two smaller kids, and even then it would be pretty cramped since there is no storage room or extra space. The decor in my place was dated, probably back to when the lodge was originally build in the 80s, but this will vary with each unit. The rest of the lodge was also a bit dated, but not too bad. One complaint I did have was the so-called fitness area was three pieces of equipment (including a treadmill) out in one of the common areas -- who wants to exercise in a lobby? I think they could make a nicer fitness room. I was told there were no other options in the village. Also, the internet was a bit slow, and every time I used it, I would have to accept the terms and conditions all over again; not a big deal, but most hotels at least give you 24 hours at a time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank va_trailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Mountain Lodge in late September, like all of Snowshoe, is practically deserted. There were a maximum of 10 cars in the parking lot. With so few guests there was no-one on the front desk, the lobby was cold, dark and cheerless and the restaurant was closed. However, that said the location is excellent. A short walk brings you to the pool, the small grocery store and the Village whilst the view from the mountain and lake facing units is stunning. One strange aspect of the units is that the bedroom window faces the hallway which is open to the atrium. This means keeping the shades closed at all times, and we can imagine the noise during the height of the season as guests on all floors make their way to their rooms. Said hallways are rather drab, but the top floor condo we rented from the owner for a very reasonbable price could not have been more bright, cheerful and well appointed. The few staff we met were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Consider renting from owner. One bedroom, top floor, HomeAway.com, ID # 337530 is highly recommende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
0.8 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Top of the World Condos at Snowshoe
0.4 mi away
Leatherbark Condos
Leatherbark Condos
#9 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treetop Townhomes
Treetop Townhomes
#12 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lodge Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge Condos

Property: Mountain Lodge Condos
Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Lodge Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Village Central adjacent to the Ballhooter lift with ski-in/ski-out convenience. Village shops, restaurants and the Split Rock Pool & Hot Tubs are nearby. Mountain Lodge features private adjacent parking lot, comfortable lobby with large fireplace and scenic overlooks. Complimentary building-wide Wi-Fi broadband internet access is provided. Also featured is a dedicated electronic game roomand indoors "Little Tykes" children's play area. All enclosed common areas and most condos are non-smoking. Auntie Pasta's restaurant and the Comedy Cellar share the Lower Level.Mountain Lodge offers one, two and (a few) three bedroom condos. Most have queen beds & queen sleeper sofas. All condos feature well stocked fully equipped kitchens and walkout balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Lodge Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lodge Condos Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing