We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to run to...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A nice place to run to...”
Reviewed August 1, 2010

If you're like us, the Eastern summer was just getting to be to much. We've been to Snowshoe in the winter and it has always been reliably awesome. We're on an email list that sends emails about summer and activities they have so we decided to try it. We had a nice drive, stopped at NRAO - the radio observatory which is open every day and then went on to Snowshoe. We stayed at Rimfire again and it always pleases. The Wifi was useful but not overused as we had a great time taking the lift down to the lake, walking around, enjoying entertainment in the village plaza and visiting the Cass scenic railroad. The railroad has some cool activities like dinner trains and music which we missed as they were full so make your arrangements in advance. Cass is about 20 minutes from Snowshoe.

Rimfire 1 bedroom was lovely. Included a blender for drinks and we actually made pancakes for breakfast so it was a fully loaded kitchen. We had a western view on the 3rd floor and the sunset was amazing. This is a great building with a great hot tub and close to everything in the village. And there's a Starbucks on the first floor.

The best thing? It's so much cooler than DC! Cooler and the air felt cleaner and crisper. Like we were really getting away to a different world.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allieooooops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
39
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dnpinva
Level Contributor
283 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Rimfire has a rustic feel but maintains all the creature comforts you'd expect in a full-service hotel. The location can't be beat, with stunning views of the mountains. The bathroom is nice enough. The hotel is right in the middle of Snowshoe village, with a Starbucks conveniently placed by the entrance. I loved the hot tub!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnpinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

My family and I visited Snowshoe between 17th December and 21st december 2009. We stayed in a one bedroom in the Rimfire building and found it to a a great place to stay.
The accomodation comprised of a master bedroom with kingsize bed, a bathroom, a full kitchen and a lounge area with pull out sofa bed. there was a fire in the lounge which was very welcome after a cold day on the slopes. There was more than enough room for us and having the full kitchen helped. There was a private locker supplied for ski equipment and the room was only around 100 meters to the nearest lift. All the restaurants were within walking distance and they all gave good service and great food and weren't too expensive. The resort itself is built at the top of the mountain so is unusual but this added to the charm. The pool area was good but strange to be swimming outside in almost freezing conditions but the hot tub helped.
On our arrival at the resort there were only a few slopes open but the ones which were open were well prepared and good to ski on. On the second day the snow came down and there was two feet of powder to ski on the following day which was wonderful.
I would recommend Snowshoe for most levels of skiers with plenty of runs to keep most entertained for a few days skiing. We will be returning at some point in the future.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbySouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We got away for Christmas this year and had a wonderful 4 days of skiing at Snowshoe. What a great time we had with 2 feet of new snow falling in the days before we arrived!

Rimfire is in a great location - smack in the middle of the village - walk a short distance(about 1/2 a block) one way to the SplitRock pool facility, walk the same distance the other way to the Big Top entertainment center, go down the elevator to StarBucks or to a couple good ski shops that are actually in the building, and carry your equipment just across the cobbled center square to the slopes.

The overall building -The exterior of the building is in keeping with the cute alpine feel of the village and the lobby area is attractive with some couches, a wide screen, and a fireplace. There are no staff members located in this building ; check-in is a short drive up the hill. There are 2 nice hot tubs at Rimfire - much nicer than going to the crowded ones at SplitRock. Maid service was limited to trash being emptied and towels being exchanged - still helpful but not full maid service as we were told.

The unit - we had a 1 BR with a pullout in the den on the 2nd floor right above Starbucks- was VERY cozy for us and our 3 kids -( but we knew we were going to be in a smaller unit than we usually rent on vacation, and were happy to compromise to save $ during the holiday season.) That being said - the unit was no frills but adequate - I would not rate it a "gold" accommodation by my own standards and I doubt most people would. The kitchen in our particular unit was poorly stocked with supplies, and the kitchen table jutted out into the path of walking into the unit's living area. There was a closet by the kitchen for ski clothes - take hangers. The living area was simple with a couch and an arm chair and a coffee table facing the gas fire place. A nice flatscreen was up on the mantel. There is a small balcony with a beautiful view over the mountains - it was deep with snow and we couldn't use it, but would be good for storing extra ski/board equipment. The bedroom barely had enough room to walk on each side of the queen bed, and only had one bedside table with 2 small drawers but had a decent size closet for all those bulky clothes - again, take hangers. The bathroom was much more spartan than it needed to be - no shelves or even a cabinet for toiletries - a pedastal sink, a commode, and a shower, a hairdryer hanging on the wall - that's it. No full length mirror in the unit.

Maintenance - Overall, very clean. Overwhelming cigarette smell in the stairwells and garage - we discovered the maintenance staff has a smoking area in the garage - but none in the building. Our heat in the unit was not working when we arrived - no problem - a nice guy came and fixed it immediately - and we had several lightbulbs out in already poorly lit rooms - also promptly fixed.

Service - In general, we encountered mediocre customer service at Snowshoe - nothing bad but nothing outstanding. Our few requests were handled pleasantly and promptly but no one goes out of their way to go the extra mile.

Ski/Board lockers - are downstairs and you can walk right out to go across to the slopes - we are skiiers and got all 5 pairs of skiis and poles in the locker - but no way would boots or more than 2 boards fit.

Restaurants - we loved Ember for an upscale ambiance and an excellent fine dining menu,and Foxfire was very good and is right in Rimfire- the kids loved making s'mores right at the table. We weren't real impressed with Auntie Pasta's or Hoot's.

The Big Top - we had one day of incredible wind and some rain (Christmas day) - so we spent $20 a kid for 2 hours of fun in the Big Top - very nice addition to Snowshoe. My younger 2 kids enjoyed the bungee trampoline, the bounce house, the flipping ladders, the rockclimbing wall and the play/climb/slide equipment. I felt the staff was very safety conscious. My teen loved all the arcade games and billiards, air hockey, etc. - which does require extra money (but he didn't pay the $20 to do the other activities). There are also some pretty neat more extreme activities - a bull, a gyroscope that flips people every-which-way, an upside down bike - and it was fun to watch people do those.

Split-Rock Pool - was alot of fun for the kids - we adults elected not to get in because although it is not cold, the water was certainly not warm. But the kids loved the slides and the dumping buckets and the spray jets and thought it was so cool to be outside next to snow in a bathing suit. There is also a big hot tub outside and one in a bubble covered area. The staff watches swimmers like hawks - no horseplay or running at all. There are small cubbies for clothes inside the pool area and large locker/bathrooms.

The parking garage- is very cramped but we were lucky enough to get the last space open (there are not enough spaces for all the units) and were able to keep our ski boots in the back of our SUV so we could go down to change in and out of them. There is overflow outdoor parking right across the street.

Ski school - our first time 11 year old skiier had a great experience and was good to go after a morning lesson. Our first time 6 year old had a sweet girl who had no control over 7 little kids and he only learned how to stand up after falling. So - mixed reviews.

Skiing and slopes - what can we say? 2 feet of new powder was SO unexpected in December! Grooming was beautiful and Snowshoe offers a good variety of slopes for a family of various skill levels. Hardly ever waited more than 3 minutes for a lift. For Eastern skiing, snowshoe does a great job!

Ski rentals - we rented in advance from Ski Barn at the entrance to Snowshoe and got very nice demo equipment and super service at a better price than up on the mountain. However, Snowshoe did get totally new Head equipment this year that looked great too.

Of Note -I booked everything over the phone 2 weeks in advance and got the 4 days for price of 3 package (felt it was a really good value) --- we discovered on our last day that our lift tickets had been misprinted and had expired a day earlier than they were supposed to - no difficulty extending them as they should have been, but just a hassle to get everyone off the slopes and back to Top of the World to stand in line to fix it. So check your tickets - we weren't the only ones. Also, we requested late check-out on our day of departure and it was granted with no problem - no charge til 1:00 - very helpful in packing up and skiing on our last day.

We love Snowshoe and will be back - we will probably stay in different accomodations next time - but for a couple, Rimfire would be fine as a no frills, very convenient place to rest those sore shins at night!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gonefrom3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Rimfire Condos are a "gold" rating according to Snowshoe Accomadations. They have a great location in the village at Snowshoe Ski Resort. Although the condos do not overlook the ski slopes, they are in an easy ski in/ski out location and overlook surrounding mountains. The village at Snowshoe is unusual in that it is at the top of the slopes. It has a great relaxed atmosphere. There is garage parking under the condos which is a big plus. The condos have housekeeping services which is a very nice addition for condo rentals. The condos have a health club with workout equipment and a sauna. There are 2 great hot tubs right outside the health club. The condos also have convenient lockers for ski/board equipment. We did find that the locker would only hold 2 snowboards though. The individual unit (We stayed in a 1 BR with pull out sofa) was a little on the small side. The condos are individually owned and the particular unit we were in did not have a very well equipped kitchen. The soundproofing could have been better between floors and units. We rented during the week between Christmas and New Year's which made the cost go up considerably. Each unit has a gas fireplace and a deck. There is also internet access in the individual units via a cord and wireless in a central room. All in all, we would definitely stay at Rimfire again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happytravelers025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Enjoyed cool weather and great times at Snowshoe resort. Stayed at Rimfire Lodge on the west side and enjoyed the gorgeous sunsets from the balcony. Be sure to ask about all fees before coming and bring a calling card for long distance calls. Because of the radio astronomy observatory (fascinating!) and the unique "quiet zone," cell phone coverage is non-existent; Internet access is available using wired access in the condos, but this is perfectly fine for getting away. The unit was well stocked and quite comfortable. Try Snowshoe, you'll like it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairi313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

Back from a two night stay at Snowshoe Resort in WV. Stayed in Rimfire, room 224, a junior studio. Murphy bed/table combo (easy to take down/return to upright), sleeper sofa, tv w/cable, microwave, two burner stove top, under counter fridge, sink w/disposal, coffeemaker, toaster, all utensils and cookware. Room was clean and comfortable. Daily maid service though plenty of towels provided for my brief stay. Bed linens were a bit on the thin side with a few noticable tears. Sofa is beginning to show signs of wear and tear but in good shape; did not use fold out sofa bed though so not sure of condition there. Walls, especially those near entryway showed several scuff marks and could use cleaning/repainting. Fireplace with gas logs on timer. This room overlooks Village so expect some sound to carry over from restaurants, shops, and people gathering just below windows to room. Very short stroll to slopes. Starbucks located within the property. Underground parking was a bonus. Hallways were dimly lit but lighting in common areas was better. Good cell reception in common areas but not in room. Wired internet in room but wireless available in common areas. Noticed several people using laptops though I did not access this service. Check in a bit different than regular hotel. Check in at off site location (Top of the World is one option). Stayed here for a conference and got a great conference rate. Not a skier or snowboarder so I doubt I would pay regular rental rates for this location. Shops seemed to have a good assortment of ski related clothing, many on sale. Restaurants were reasonably priced for 'resort' standards though I thought the food was just average.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeaceLoveBoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#4 of 24 in Snowshoe
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#18 of 24 in Snowshoe
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seneca Condos
Seneca Condos
#6 of 24 in Snowshoe
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowcrest Condos
Snowcrest Condos
#21 of 24 in Snowshoe
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimfire Lodge Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimfire Lodge Condos

Property: Rimfire Lodge Condos
Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rimfire Lodge Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard, junior studio, studio, one and two bedroom units located in the heart of Snowshoe's Village just steps from the slopes and the Ballhooter Lift. Units offer spectacular western vistas and village plaza views. All units except Junior Studios and Standard Rooms have full kitchens; Juniors have efficiency kitchens, Internet connections and full daily maid service, unique among most condominium units. Gas fireplaces, outside hot tubs with sunset views, exercise room, sauna, vending and laundry facilities, underground parking and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Rimfire Lodge Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimfire Lodge Condos Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing