We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, very satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Rimfire, can't wait to go back. We booked 3 one BR units for 3 families. Two of us had adjoining rooms so it was nice for socializing and sharing meals. The kitchen are pretty well stocked (some units better than others) and have all appliances you need. The units are spacious and we had a nice view of the village while our friends had the sunset view--best of both worlds!
There are two large outdoor hot tubs at Rimfire and you also get access to the pool/hot tub facility next door--kids loved the water slides and swim through feature to the outside. The gym at Rimfire is 2 pieces of equipment so not great, but the spa has a nicer gym that you can use. The sauna never got hot enough for me and there were no towels at the Rimfire hot tub/gym but they do have them at the facility next door. Indoor parking is super tight and hardly worth the battle, we just used the open lot. Having a ski locker inside your bldg is great!
Staff are nice, housekeeping was very timely and friendly. Overall a great stay was wonderful, very satisfying. One note: if you are a late sleeper the activity starts early around 7 a.m. with snow clearing equipment which generates lots of rumbling and back up alarms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 92 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Like the old adage, location, location, location. That being said, Rimfire has great location. OK, our stay was happily successful and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. On the downside, be prepared to put all an all-points-bulletin for a service cart upon checking in. Oh, and speaking of that, have fun pulling that behemoth SUV into one of those 'smart car' parking spaces. I had visions during our stay more than once of some lunatic banging into our parked parked in one of the 'zero tolerance' parking spots (never happened thankfully). Yes, we would stay here again. Yes, we would bring more groceries with us next time. Yes, we would ask for a view of the village (and not the lovely parking lot). We had an issue with a window that wouldn't close properly, called the maintenance man, and got lucky on our 'second' call. They sent a guy up who fixed it for us. We were up on the top floor, and naturally during check-in there is quite a wait for an elevator. But Rimfire was clean and comfortable, and provides decent size storage lockers down below that will accommodate your family's skis. All in all we give it 4 out of 5 stars. (Under the rumor heading, a guy told us that Seneca was much nicer, so check them out too). Snowshoe was awesome fun. The kids took lessons at Silver Creek which (we learned after we couldn't get into snowshoe ski school) was actually preferred because of the terrain and less windy, but the shuttle service there was terrible. Sometimes they came every 15 minutes, sometimes 30 minutes. We waited once in the very cold only to have a bus driver give us the motion across her throat to indicate she was "off" so we just waited and waited. Snowshoe really needs to correct this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the village ski side and not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have stayed at Snowshoe several times, and this is BY FAR the worst place I have ever stayed. I only gave it 2 stars because of the location......otherwise it would have gotten only 1. MUCH smaller than anticipated. Everything was worn out and i wondered if the mattress covers have ever been washed. Fireplace was broken, remotes didn't work, fridge was frozen over when we arrived. Wallpaper in the hallway peeling off and it smelled of mold. I won't be staying at Rimfire again!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank teethteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We just recently stayed in the junior deluxe suite. If you have ever felt the burning need to sleep in a bed that folds into the wall, here is your chance. The pros of staying here are that it is close to the places to eat as well as to one of the lifts. The room was also clean. And had cable. That was about where the pros ended. The cons..... the room was really not what we expected... especially not for almost 200$ a night. When we walked in we saw a couch and a kitchen table. For the life of me at first we could not figure out where the bed was and thought all we got was a sofa bed. Instead the kitchen table folds up and then you pull the bed out of the wall. Once the bed is down you have about a foot of space between the end of the bed and the kitchenette. The frame of the bed is made of wood so trying to navigate to the bathroom in the dark in that one foot of space equaled several stubbed toes. The other MAJOR con was that I felt like it was Spring Break. The walls are thin and hearing the yelling and partying of the many college aged kids that were there was a drawback. I would have expected a better group of folks for the price we paid. I would think there has to be something better on the mountain for the amount of money we paid. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exaslonghorn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed 5 nights over Christmas vacation. We stayed in a single bed room accommodation with 4people (2 kids). While bedroom is tad small, the open kitchen and living space was more then adequate for our stay. The room also had quite a selection of kitchen utensils which were really unusual for such a place.

It is one of the best choice if you want to cook for yourself and avoid going to expensive restaurants at the Snowshoe resort.

The room is also close to Pool facility and can be reached by just stepping out from the far end door of south wing of the building.

Only two problems I encountered were very tight and limited parking space (I had a sedan and it was still tight - requiring to fold down side mirrors to fit) and lack of wifi in the building. I recommend bringing mobile wifi router to use it with supplied LAN cable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Atuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Excellent location in the Village. We had a One bedroom deluxe apartment. Beds were not comfortable but the apartment was. It had all the appliances and utensils needed in the kitchen. The apartment had a very convenient balcony that allowed us to enjoy the sunset into the mountains; you must ask for a valley/mountain view apartment, otherwise you will be facing other hotels an the village plaza. Underground parking is a plus when snowing.
The maid service is terrible, we paid $389/night and they only changed towels, they did not clean the bathroom or vacuum the carpet during our four (4) nights stay. At this price they shall change linens at least once; when we asked, they told us that you must stay more than 5 nights to get that service, UNBELIVABLE!! Finally they did it, thanks. Let me be clear about this, it is not the kids (teen/college kids from Chile and Argentina) fault that the cleaning was not performed, the management have them running all the time and do not allow them to do a good job. For the price we were charged a better service is a MUST. I want to thank them for trying to be nice to us despite their heavy task. SNOWSHOE general management must do something, this lack of cleaning/hygiene is not even good for the real owners that soon will have to replace carpet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdiaz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Rimfire in August with a friend. We had a one bedroom suite, which was the perfect size. The living room had a sleeper sofa that was fine for our friend. The suite was clean and comfortable with a decent size balcony. It had all the things we needed. We would definitely stay there again. My only complaint is they don't guarantee check-in until 5:00 p.m. The check-out is at 11:00 a.m. so you would think they could have the rooms ready by 3:00.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YankeeFanNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#9 of 24 in Snowshoe
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seneca Condos
Seneca Condos
#6 of 24 in Snowshoe
39 reviews
2.2 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimfire Lodge Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimfire Lodge Condos

Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range: $161 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rimfire Lodge Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard, junior studio, studio, one and two bedroom units located in the heart of Snowshoe's Village just steps from the slopes and the Ballhooter Lift. Units offer spectacular western vistas and village plaza views. All units except Junior Studios and Traditional Hotel Rooms have full kitchens; Juniors have efficiency kitchens. All rooms feature: High speed wireless internet connection, TV, Gas fireplaces, outside hot tubs with sunset views, exercise room, sauna, vending and laundry facilities, underground parking and air conditioning. Rimfire also has secure lockers for ski equipment storage and a Starbucks located right off the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Rimfire Lodge Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimfire Lodge Condos Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing