We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at the heart of it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Right at the heart of it all”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the Rimfire at the very beginning of the skiing season and we loved it. The indoor parking is an incredible perk. We rented a 1 bedroom standard condo which was small but very testefully decorated. The bedroom was indeed VERY small and there was about 1 foot clearance between one of the corners of the queen bed and the wall which was diagonal to the head of the bed. The kitchenette and living room were also small but we are not into large hotel rooms anyhow. The kitchenette was very well stocked, with lots of pans and pots. The gas fireplace did not work when we arrived as the pilot flame had extinguished but we called maintenance (on a Sunday) and they arrived within a couple of hours and fixed it. The room opened to the village with the balcony facing the street. This can be quaint as you feel you are in the midst of the action but I guess the noise in the high season will be an issue if you are a light sleeper and go there to relax. The rooms that overlook the parking in the back have great views of the mountains and the sunset. The common areas such as the hearth room are beautiful and cozy. The outdoor hot water bath was thoroughy enjoyable and also overlooking the mountains. There were only 3 exercise machines but this was not an issue as the place was semi deserted. You can access the locker room to store your skis directly from the street which is convenient although the lockers are small. The indoor connection to Starbucks is also great if there is a snowstorm outside and you want to get there in your sleepwear (not that I would though). Cons are lack of wireless, which is a problem in a town with almost no cellphone reception, only partially mitigated by the fact you can get wireless at Starbucks and that there is a wired connection in the room, thin partition wall between bedroom and living room and a nasty foul odor in the basement areas that give access to the garage. I have no idea where this was coming from. Overall, if you are going to Snowshoe, it is a great advantage to be in the village, as the slopes are only a few yeards away and the Rimfire is a great choice unless you are a light sleeper and you book in high season. We will definitely return there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnricoNovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
39
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a two bedroom unit, which is really two one bedroom units linked together by unlocking the inner separating door. Most of the condos at Snowshoe are small, and this is no exception. Also, you have to walk some to get to the slopes, but the ski locker room really helps with gear storage. The underground parking is great for your car as it can get extremely cold and windy on the mountain top. The place is generally clean and well-kept for the most part, and it is centrally located to all the village has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lona_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I specifically chose Rimfire for a snowboarding weekend with my husband because of its central location in the Village and ultimately because the title of our specific condo (top floor, end of the hallway) described the property as "very quiet." Note that this review is for the Rimfire condos only - we loved Snowshoe in general!

What we liked: The check-in process through Snowshoe Properties Management was completely painless, simple, and quick. The condo was very clean, seemed to be well-maintained and was fairly comfortable overall. The location of Rimfire is perfect for easy access to everything - it's right in the middle of the Village and just minutes away from all of the main shops and restaurants, and steps from the slopes. The storage locker on the first floor was convenient and just barely large enough to hold our two snowboards with bindings. (Note: lockers are assigned by condo number, and some of the lockers were half the size of ours.) We appreciated the secure, underground parking - we were able to park our car and just leave it all weekend. Entry to the building, garage, storage lockers and the condo itself was secure. The Starbucks downstairs was a nice bonus. Yes, there's only one elevator as other reviewers pointed out, but we're pretty patient and the wait didn't seem that bad. It's true that the stairwells reek of cigarette smoke, so we did tend to wait for the one slow elevator.

What we didn't like: During our stay, our neighbors were incredibly loud and the noise went well into what anyone would consider normal quiet hours. Their partying, shouting, slamming doors, and loud music lasted continuously until after 3am. We were right next door so of course we were affected (the music was so loud that our walls were shaking), but the noise could be heard from several rooms down, and surely from below. I'm certain we were not the only guests that suffered loss of sleep. The property management company or the building management/security did NOT remedy the situation even after we notified them twice. There's no front desk or anyone on-site to assist, either. Note that this noise was in addition to the general noise from people in the Village below. There were loud people outside pretty much all hours of the night. I'm glad people had fun, but we didn't get ANY sleep either of the two nights that we were there. That said, at least we were on the top floor and were not also listening to heavy-booted feet walking above.

So it's a nice location if you want to be in the middle of everything with easy access to the slopes, but just know that if you have any issues (such as excessive noise) there may not be anyone to assist you, and that being in the middle of the hustle-and-bustle of the Village means hearing the hustle-and-bustle all night.

Room Tip: The top floor condo at the end of the hallway facing AWAY from the Village is probably the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sesmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed in room 315, a one bedroom corner unit. The pros: Kitchen and bath were spotless when we came in, bed is fine (a bit hard for my taste, but flat, not lumpy!), tastefully decorated, and wired internet connection works fine - just a tad slower than my home service and there is nobody here - so traffic on it is light. If more than one of you expects to use the internet - bring a hub - only one line. A shampoo, couple small soaps, a lotion, and a bath gel bottle in bathroom with average towels. As a corner unit - it's balcony allows you to look west at the mountains (great sunsets!) and into the plaza, close to shuttle stop. It's nice to be central to it all - but keep reading. Old style large TV in living area, but a small flat-screen mounted on the wall in the bedroom. Gas fireplace. Should be enough closet space for your stay, but the bedroom isn't huge so hard to find space for suitcases. Housekeeping came in the morning each day, and we were still in the room twice, but they were really nice and updated us as we needed. Gave us plenty of toiletries, towels, trash bags. etc.

The cons: While the kitchen has plenty of plates, bowls, glasses, flatware, a blender, mixer, muffin tin, it's missing a spatula, nothing to cook pancakes on, no plastic storage containers, no 9x13 pan, or cookie sheet. And while they provide little pre-packaged coffee "thingees" for the coffee pot (and sugar with dry packaged creamers), it would have been nice to have some filters for your own coffee (cone filters in drawer, but it's a basket style maker!). The bedroom has wood blinds like all the units - but it REALLY, REALLY needs black-out drapes. There are lights in central area and they shine in. And the one night - there was some flashing light out there and it just kept lighting up the room with its flashes. BUT THE BIGGEST problem - is the noise of the non-stop music from the plaza. AWFUL, SUCKS, RUINS the experience. I don't think folks who go to a ski resort in the summer are looking for noise. You come here to get away - not to be blasted by music all day long until 11 pm at night. DO NOT stay here with little kids unless they can sleep through anything. We are on the end - mainly facing west, but we can still hear it all the time. It's frustrating as we came for a quiet mountain experience. Sure - we expected some noise from bar hoppers wandering around, but not the resort imposed noise maker. Really, I won't stay in the Central Village again because of it unless I hear the practices stops. The unit needs new carpet - it's got spots and it's shredding in front of the bathroom door, but otherwise things are in good condition in the unit.

So - staff folks around here have been super nice and helpful, and the condo was pretty much what we expected, but the noise from the plaza, the lack of a black-out shade, and the carpet that needs replacing make this place not quite excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novicetravellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice, fl
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for 3 days to visit the area where my Father grew up. The Condo was very clean and a nice size. It’s right in the town area. We visited the local towns in the day, and ate in town at night. My kids had a blast.

I recomend the Cranberry Glades, Droop Mt Battle field, Richwood, an the mountians around the resort.

Also take a fishing pole (in the summer) Best fishing in the east coast.

I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: First floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed at the Rimfire Lodge in Snowshoe in late Feb, 2012 with my wife. We come to Snowshoe periodically, including one trip in Jan with our kids (see my review of Mountain Lodge for that one). This one was just the two of us. Perhaps I'm a little biased because I enjoy our time away so much, but I was really happy with the accommodations at Rimfire.

What I liked:
Location - Can't beat a spot right in the center of the village! Everything (slopes, food, shopping, activities) were a very short walk away. And, the indoor access to Starbucks was great when it was cold out at 7AM.

Room - Clean, with a comfortable bed and enough room for the 2 of us. We stayed in a Junior Studio because it was cheap. Not much of a kitchen in here if you're planning to stay a long time, but we had breakfast and lunch in there (cereal and sandwiches, mostly). We had planned on dinner out each night (did I mention the kids weren't with us?) which worked out perfectly. The Junction is awesome!

Ski storage and underground parking - Everything is right downstairs. No wet skis in the room, no digging the car out if it snows. One tip - the garage floor is filthy (it's a garage, right?), so if you plan to change your shoes/socks into ski boots make sure you do it INSIDE your car. I learned this the hard way. Nothing a little soap can't handle, though.


The only annoying thing I found out about Rimfire has to do with the security system. Basically, you have to use a room key to access the building, even to get into the common areas. This isn't a "bad" thing per se, since the intention is really about keeping us safe. But, I found it to be really annoying to have to fumble with gloves and zipped pockets to get my room card out while balancing skis and poles. Kind of a pain, and honestly the only time I didn't have my key I just waited and tailgated behind someone else. So, it's really not adding too much value. One more little thing... When you check out of your room, your keys are deactivated. If you choose to ski that last day before driving home, get ready for a little hassel getting back to the parking garage after skiing. The nice lady at Starbucks told us this happens all the time, so make sure you know how to get around to the parking garage even if you don't have your key.

Overall, I really liked this place a lot. I'd certainly recommend this to couples and small groups of adults. Not sure how it would be for families since I didn't see the larger units. Again, check my review of Mountain Lodge for that!

Room Tip: 1st floor has easy access to Starbucks, ski lockers, and exit. Upstairs may be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SegundoLunadeMiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We spent 4 days in Snowshoe and we had a wonderful time. The apartment was nice and clean. We appreciated the fireplace after a day on the slopes. Rimefire is in the village, next to the departure for skiing. The bonus was the direct access from our building to the Starbucks where we had great coffee and Internet access.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnestTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
0.3 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#6 of 24 in Snowshoe
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#18 of 24 in Snowshoe
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seneca Condos
Seneca Condos
#4 of 24 in Snowshoe
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowcrest Condos
Snowcrest Condos
#21 of 24 in Snowshoe
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimfire Lodge Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimfire Lodge Condos

Property: Rimfire Lodge Condos
Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rimfire Lodge Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard, junior studio, studio, one and two bedroom units located in the heart of Snowshoe's Village just steps from the slopes and the Ballhooter Lift. Units offer spectacular western vistas and village plaza views. All units except Junior Studios and Standard Rooms have full kitchens; Juniors have efficiency kitchens, Internet connections and full daily maid service, unique among most condominium units. Gas fireplaces, outside hot tubs with sunset views, exercise room, sauna, vending and laundry facilities, underground parking and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Rimfire Lodge Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimfire Lodge Condos Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing