We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ive slept in bigger tents”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ive slept in bigger tents”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was the smallest "hotel room" I have ever seen. I booked through snowshoe and requested a one bedroom unit and i assumed for $340/night I would get what i requested. Instead I was given a closet with a bathroom. The room was also dirty and had tears in the carpet and scuffs on all the walls. Snowshoe you should be ashamed. I made a serious mistake not staying at Soaring Eagle Lodge like i usually do. Its the best spot on the mountain and Rimfire is the worst, at least out of the properties on the summit.

Room Tip: Stay at a different property
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tratravlinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
39
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My family and I stayed two nights at Rimfire. We had a great time. The condo was clean and well stocked with utensils, pots and pans. Having a full kitchen (with oven, dishwasher, microwave, stovetop) is convenient- my mother cooked Thanksgiving dinner in the kitchen.

We had a great view of the mountains. Our fireplace stopped working on Thanksgiving, but we gave front desk a call and it was fixed within 2 hours while we were out exploring the Village.

The location is great- Starbucks is right below and Split Rock Pools is right next door.

We would definitely come back.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank watermelon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have stayed in 3 different condos at Rimfire over the years and have found the location to be central to the top of them mountain ski lifts and usually stay in a one bedroom unit because the junior studios are more sleeping units with small kitchen area and the one bedrooms have full kitchen. The Rimfire building has a Starbucks in lower lobby and 2 hot tubs and heated parking garage for loading and unloading car out of weather and ice and snow. There are free ski lockers on first floor so you can store ski boots and skis downstairs. Also there is a ski & snowboard rental place right next door. The restaurants are a little pricey so the full kitchens make it nice just bring cereal, milk, frozen pizza sandwich stuff to save some money. Top floor units are quieter because of people wear snow boots in room instead of using lockers downstairs.

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter //large studios or 1 bedrooms have queen beds / junior studios are very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jordan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were melting in DC with "feels like" temps over 100 and decided to run away to the mountains (high 85, low 72). We picked Snowshoe and had a great time. The Rimfire Condo building remains awesome. We parked underground, cooked breakfast in the room and used the location as the launching point for all the village activities. Rimfire is in the heart of Snowshoe village making the walk to dinner about 2 minutes, and to the slopes/trails about 2 and a half minutes. It also has the most fabulous hot tubs (I know, hot tub in July!) . A couple of us mountain biked (they bring you back up by lift) and a couple did the Green Zebras (see separate listing). We all went down to the lake to lounge, peddle boat and hang out at the boathouse (beer, ice cream and waffles all day!). Snowshoe is awesome for skiing and they really have some fun stuff for a get away in the summer - just to get away somewhere fun, or to beat the heat. And the bonus is a bunch of village activities.

Foxfire Grill was good. Junction was good. Spruce Bistro was good. It's an easy going, everything at your fingertips kind of place.

We stopped (again) at the National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO) on the way home. It was awesome. It's free, and includes a discussion, movie and bus tour around the grounds to look at the fabulous telescopes. Tours are every hour on the hour and take about an hour. Because of NRAO Snowshoe is in a "quiet" zone but you can use computers on the mountain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allieooooops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

This was our first time staying at Rimfire. Very nice central location with underground parking. Outdoor hot tubs were nice touch at end of a tiring day. Only complaint was that walls and floors are very susceptable to noise. I highly recommend staying on top floor.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank terfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

If you're like us, the Eastern summer was just getting to be to much. We've been to Snowshoe in the winter and it has always been reliably awesome. We're on an email list that sends emails about summer and activities they have so we decided to try it. We had a nice drive, stopped at NRAO - the radio observatory which is open every day and then went on to Snowshoe. We stayed at Rimfire again and it always pleases. The Wifi was useful but not overused as we had a great time taking the lift down to the lake, walking around, enjoying entertainment in the village plaza and visiting the Cass scenic railroad. The railroad has some cool activities like dinner trains and music which we missed as they were full so make your arrangements in advance. Cass is about 20 minutes from Snowshoe.

Rimfire 1 bedroom was lovely. Included a blender for drinks and we actually made pancakes for breakfast so it was a fully loaded kitchen. We had a western view on the 3rd floor and the sunset was amazing. This is a great building with a great hot tub and close to everything in the village. And there's a Starbucks on the first floor.

The best thing? It's so much cooler than DC! Cooler and the air felt cleaner and crisper. Like we were really getting away to a different world.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allieooooops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnpinva
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Rimfire has a rustic feel but maintains all the creature comforts you'd expect in a full-service hotel. The location can't be beat, with stunning views of the mountains. The bathroom is nice enough. The hotel is right in the middle of Snowshoe village, with a Starbucks conveniently placed by the entrance. I loved the hot tub!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnpinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
2.1 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#7 of 24 in Snowshoe
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#20 of 24 in Snowshoe
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seneca Condos
Seneca Condos
#4 of 24 in Snowshoe
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snowcrest Condos
Snowcrest Condos
#22 of 24 in Snowshoe
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimfire Lodge Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimfire Lodge Condos

Property: Rimfire Lodge Condos
Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rimfire Lodge Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard, junior studio, studio, one and two bedroom units located in the heart of Snowshoe's Village just steps from the slopes and the Ballhooter Lift. Units offer spectacular western vistas and village plaza views. All units except Junior Studios and Standard Rooms have full kitchens; Juniors have efficiency kitchens, Internet connections and full daily maid service, unique among most condominium units. Gas fireplaces, outside hot tubs with sunset views, exercise room, sauna, vending and laundry facilities, underground parking and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Rimfire Lodge Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimfire Lodge Condos Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing