We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highland House Condos
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We loved our one room suite it was clean and it looked out into the village. We will stay here again due it the location which is right in the middle of the village. Close to restaurants and shopping as well as we can walk out the back door of the condo right onto the ski slopes.

Room Tip: Being on the side of the village was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtnTop14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 45 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

The glass in the front door of the building is broken and there is cardboard covering it. The lobby is tiny, dirty and uninviting. Our room is so small there is no place to put clothes or luggage. We have been tripping over furniture and our luggage just trying to move around the room. The hot tub is broken and the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. Someone from the resort came to check it out but never came to the lobby to let us know when it was safe to return our rooms. We were left to figure it out for ourselves. Most of the facilities around Snowshoe seem to be in similar condition. The hot tub at the Split Rock facility has lots of missing tiles. There is an inch of standing water in Starbucks. We were only able to ski one day due to poor weather conditions but were denied a refund or raincheck on lift tickets and equipment rentals. I tried to explain that we drove 10 1/2 hours to get here and it's a special occasion but we were treated with callus indifference. Customer service is a foreign concept here. I feel we just flushed $1400 down the toilet. We are checking out early and heading home and we will never return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great location and the 2 bedroom suite was nice, but the snow blower noise was horrible. Unable to sleep. Very common during check in to ask for ear plugs to not hear the snow blower at night. Ear plugs do not work very well. When we return to Snowshoe we will rent a unit not by the slope because of the snow blower noise. Also the unit we rented was extremely hot. We were unable to control the heat. We noticed other units did have their windows open all day. The location is good but everything is close to the slopes. I would not recommend Highland house condos or any of the condos by the slope because of the noise from the snow blower at night. Seneca and Rim fire are not by the slope. We will try those next time. But everything at Snowshoe is at walking distance.

Room Tip: Do not stay by the slope! You will not be able to sleep well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Booker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We spent four nights at Highland House in September 2011. Unit 405, overlooking the mountains. This is a one-bedroom with plenty of space for the two of us. The village was quiet, and we had easy access to all the shops and the restaurants that were open, as well as the lift down to the lake. This was the top floor, and we never knew if there was anyone else in the building except for seeing a few people on the elevator from time to time. Daily maid service was great and not a thing went wrong. Couldn't ask for a better experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank dbishop89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We were delighted to rent condo 325. It was clean, had good beds, nice thick towels and a wonderful balcony. The only complaint I have is that there is not much sound barrier between the floors. You could hear the people above us walking around. All in all, I would stay here again. It is a beautiful area and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dixiegirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We just returned from a weekend in Snowshoe and can't imagine a better location. Starbucks was right outside the front door and the slope was literally the step outside the back door. We took the elevator down from our room to the lobby, took our skis out of the locker room and voila, we were on the slopes. Our unit was perfectly outfitted with good pillows, excellent kitchen supplies and ample storage. The owner added a drawer unit right outside the bedroom door to compensate for the lack of storage mentioned in other reviews. The closets had lots of wooden hangers and shelf storage for luggage. I noticed this was a problem in several earlier reviews. Housekeeping did tell me that our unit was one of the nicer ones. It was on the end and had light coming in from two sides. Housekeeping was limited to replenishing towels, re-making the sleeper into a sofa and making the bed. I was in the room sick with fever so I'm not sure if they were rushing in and out because of me or if housekeeping is always this relaxed. It was a team of four women who were very nice but not up to hotel standards.

We also asked for a village facing room because other reviews mentioned snow grooming noise during the night. If it had been a party weekend, party noise on the streets may have been more of a problem. There were some drunk yahoos yelling early one evening.

We also took an earlier reviewer's advice and took our own groceries. I'm glad we did this. The restaurants in the village looked very crowded with long waits and we were happy to be inside by the fire watching a movie.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SavannahGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We had never been to Snowshoe. The experience has been fantastic. Highland House is a great location. We had a studio unit which was room enough for 3 (two adults and one teen) but can't imagine 4 or 4 adults in the unit. The unit seems either hot or cold but the gas fireplace is fantastic. The water pressure is weak, but I guess we are at the top of a mountain! The storage lockers on the main level saved us a lot of effort and having the rental store just 500 feet away was nice as well. Only thing I wish was better was the value (we paid $350 a night for our room) and the shuttle bus system. The shuttle bus system lacked enough buses to accommodate the holiday crowds. We went to Silver Creek at night and the lines were long to get on the bus and it was not a "safe" feeling being so crammed with all the other ski and board patrons. Thankfully the internet worked because there is no cell service (only occasionally on our iphones would our text messages or voicemail would chime in). We will come back but won't come during a holiday period when the rates are over rated, and the crowds take away the charm.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
0.7 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Seneca Condos
Seneca Condos
#6 of 24 in Snowshoe
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#8 of 24 in Snowshoe
62 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland House Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland House Condos

Address: 10 Snowshoe Dr, Snowshoe Resort, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Snowshoe
Price Range: $166 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland House Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Junior studio, one, two and three bedroom units located in the heart of Snowshoe's Village. Highland House is slopeside, adjacent to Ballhooter Lift. Enjoy spectacular eastern slope vistas and village plaza views. Most units have extensive amenities including gas fireplaces, full kitchens and balconies (except for the junior studios that have a mini-refrigerator and microwave). Internet connections and full daily maid service is unique among most condominium units. Outside hot tubs, exercise room, sauna, vending, laundry facilities in building, and air conditioning. *Some Highland House junior studios have pull down murphy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Highland House Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland House Condos Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing