We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“WVAPT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Snowshoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Snowshoe
Ranked #3 of 3 Snowshoe B&B and Inns
Westerville, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
192 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“WVAPT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Excellent! This is a great off season jewel. The room I stayed had a balcony overlooking the mountains for a great view. My room was a small apartment with a full kitchen. Big refrigerator, stove, microwave and utensils everything you needed to stay and cook. All of the stores and shop were open and you didn’t have to fight the big crowds that come for the winter sports. Great escape for some outdoor adventures.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms faced the mountain view and the other were over looking the ski area. The area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    47
    25
    8
See reviews for
36
38
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I hate to be too negative about West Virginia locales but this place needs a serious face lift. Luckily, I was able to get a much better rate with the help of a helpful golf attendant at the nearby Raven Golf Course. The price quoted to me via phone from the Snowshoe Resort Reservation Center when I called was too high ... especially when one considers the condition of the facilities and the limited amenities when I arrived. I would have been steamed had I paid the full price.

I checked in after my evening round of golf and the lobby was sweltering. The helpful and welcoming front desk clerk was trying to find a little relief from an electric fan behind the desk and assured me the room units were cooling. It was a Tuesday evening so the on site restaurant and the small lounge were both closed but it wouldn't have been very enjoyable trying to enjoy a meal in the heat.

The first thing I noticed when I entered my first floor room was a distinct musty smell. I went over to turn on the AC unit and it turned on ... but it looked like an off-brand window unit that had been fudged in to fit in the opening of a previous HVAC unit. It never could get the room cooled down.

The room looked like it was decorated in the 1990's ... but it did have a LED TV but the signal going to the TV was standard definition and glitchy at best. The bathroom was somewhat clean but dated and with signs of years of wear and tear. The real problem was the towels ... there were the worst I've ever experienced at a hotel/motel. I don't think they were dirty but the were linty and had strings/threads from other linens all over them. I did not inspect them before drting off ... one assumes a folded towel on the rack is clean. I noticed fibers flying as I dried and the towels were not very absorbent. I looked where I had tried to dry and there was lint and threads on my skin ... pretty disgusting. I checked all the linens and they were all terrible. Luckily I had put two clean bath towels in my vehicle before leaving home.

The beds were average and the sheets looked white and clean. But overall the room was musty and sticky, leaving the feeling that every surface needed a heavy cleaning and the room needed a big airing out.

The Inn has wifi available in the lobby (which was hot). I did not even try to access it so I don't know how it works. The Inn is located 16 miles from the National Radio Astronomy Observatory and falls in the heart of the "quiet zone" which appears to inhibit cell phone reception, but this is the boonies anyhow and very mountainous terrain ... even with towers coverage would be sketchy. To me this is only another reason to offer better online connectivity.

The workers were all friendly and nice but I felt sorry for them. There's not a lot of jobs in this rural area and to have to work for owners who probably live hundreds of miles away and don't care about the experience of their guests really puts them in a bad spot. If the owners don't care about the guest's facilities and experiences anymore than they do ... imagine how they treat the workers!

The ratings below are not representative of the staff ... I felt that they cared. But the maids/clerks don't remodel rooms and fix the AC. The owners have let this place really slide!

Room Tip: Bring some Lysol Air Freshener/Disinfectant and some clean linens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentuibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Snowshoe hotels

Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Just ok. Very dated. No wifi in the room and the wifi in the lobby is jammed. Why? The whole area is cellular free, so you're competing with every other schlub to get on. Why? So the observatory nearby can observe and, I am not making this up, search for extraterrestrial intelligence (SETI). Kind of a galactic dinner bell for struggling planets. Aside from that the room was pretty dreary, the bed overly firm and really nothing else to write home about. But then again the skiing was great. So the room wasn't much of a priority. The rate as I recall was good compared to other options. And should be. The "inn", really a big box, is at the base of the mountain. That would be great for nearly every other resort on the planet. But in the case of Snowshoe, you drive to the top of the mountain to ski down. Really.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently rented two 2-bedroom condos at this hotel for four families. All of us had a wonderful stay. The rooms exceeded our expectations and we would have been willing to pay more for this quality. Both condos had fully functional kitchens, full sized refrigerators, microwaves and cooking utensils !! We cooked dinner using their pots and pans and ate on their plates and saucers, using their spoons. The bathrooms even had jacuzzis. The single rooms do not have these kitchen facilities. The hotel has a pool and 2 or 3 jacuzzis for all guests. I found the customer service to be very friendly on the phone and in person. I talked with Jessica on the phone for making reservations,and she was very helpful and professional. We even got free passes, which we used for free rides on the ski lifts. The breakfast had yogurt, milk, cereal, fruit juices and some other stuff. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. If you stay here make sure to ask the hotel for directions. (entry is from Rt 66) The GPS takes you to the wrong place, as the street address does not work very well. We got lost and had to call them. Make sure you have good written directions or a standalone GPS as the phone signal is very poor and the phone GPS does not work.

Room Tip: Recommend taking the 2 bedroom condos and sharing with a friend. Much better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Older hotel in need of updating. Rooms are way past due for renovation. Dining is non-existant. Bar food only, but one look at the limited menu and I was out of there. Really, just not a good hotel, but not a lot of choices in the area.

Room Tip: high floor would be quieter because then you couldn't hear the folks walking around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karns, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Pros-The room was actually quite big.
The Television was flat-screen and was large.
The beds were comfortable.
Close to the slopes, 10 minute drive
2 Hot-tubs and a pool with skylights on the roof.
The front desk was really nice and friendly.
Cons-
Low food selection
Breakfast was quite unhealthy
Standard bed separated from rim on the front
Wi-fi only in lobby
No cell phone service
Alarm clock didn't work.
Creepy, because of large hotel and hallways are like alleys in the city.
Sort of hard to control the temperature of the water in the shower.
Good for the basics, but could be better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lor599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here for a ski vacation March 19, 2014 for three nights. The price was good for us, $49 a night web deal. Regular reservation prices are too high for this hotel due to the repairs that need to be done. Wall paper coming off, woodwork needs painting, bathrooms need caulking etc. Pool and hot tub was nice after a hard day skiing. The breakfast buffet was very low quality and room tempiture at best. Hotel charges 2 bucks regular bottle soda, go across the street and pay $1.99 for 2 liter. Best place to eat for your money's worth was across the street at Route 66. Food was really decent and a lot cheaper then on top of the mountain. If your on a budget, its good place to stay but if there were other hotels in the area, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magicnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
2.2 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
2.3 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#12 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seneca Condos
Seneca Condos
#4 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
2.3 mi away
Snowcrest Condos
Snowcrest Condos
#24 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Snowshoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Snowshoe

Property: Inn at Snowshoe
Address: 10 Snowshoe Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Snowshoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Snowshoe offers standard, one and two bedroom units located at the base of Snowshoe Mountain. The Inn at Snowshoe is six miles from the slopes and Village at Snowshoe. This property has been a favorite of skiers for decades. It offers all the amenities you need in one location at very reasonable prices. The Inn is a full service hotel with a host of amenities including: Indoor Pool, Jacuzzi and Exercise Room, Arcade, Restaurant and Bar, Full Service Front Desk and Gift Shop. Please note, the standard rooms at the Inn at Snowshoe are non-cooking rooms. Plus, all standard rooms and the lobby are non-smoking. Food is available at the Inn at Snowshoe at Brandi's Restaurant as well as at Brandi's Bar. Complimentary breakfast is also included for rooms at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Snowshoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Snowshoe Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing