We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That 70's Show”
Review of Inn at Snowshoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Snowshoe
Ranked #3 of 3 Snowshoe B&B and Inns
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“That 70's Show”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I believe that "that 70's show" was filmed at the Inn at Snowshoe. My family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed there for the two days in a 2br, 1 bath room (277).

First I will say that the room was kinda clean and the staff was very helpful, but after that it was down here faster than Lindsey Vonn. The room was old and musty, peeling wallpaper, stained ceilings, sleeper sofa was broken, bathroom had mold around tub, and the carpet was worn and dated.

I understand that it suppose to be cheaper at the bottom but I paid $600 for two nights and feel that was entirely to high.

If you do stay there utilize the shuttle for access to the top of the mountain, there is very limited parking on top, and if you rent skies use the Ski Barn near the Inn (they were great and it was cheaper than the top).

There is no cell phone coverage on the mountain (AT&T is very spotty) and the Inn's WiFi did not work, I had to buy a calling card (blast from part right) just to make some contact with home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    43
    55
    26
    8
See reviews for
37
41
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hemphill, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was average. The staff was polite, the room was clean. There is NO cell service at the base of the mountain. The Internet was limited to the center of the of the lobby and directly above the lobby. The indoor pool was cold but the hot tub was just right! The price was fair for what you get. If you stay at the resort at the top of the mountain you will twice the price. The resort food and the skiing were great and will go again soon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ginranch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I made a phone reservation, the customer rep was charming and I had great expectations for the this hotel, but we were so disappointed. The check in was so unpleasant, perhaps she had a rough day, but when I asked for the coupons for the free chair lift ride, described to me by the reservation agent, she was so condescending, - you want the coupons she said! The room was no better, the wall paper was peeling, it smelt of damp and was sorely in need of renovations. The breakfast food was pretty awful too. It was a hot buffet, but it was very poor quality. I know accommodations are few and far between in the area, and I guess Snowshoe has a reputation, but this hotel does not live up to that. When I mentioned my disappointment when I checked out, they said, well we only have one maintenance man, and it takes him along time to renovate 1 room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank We-L0VE-Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Snowshoe hotels

Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent a lovely three days here and was rejuvenated and refreshed upon departure. The staff was helpful, kind and considerate. Would recommend during in-season as well as off. I was there during non peak season. The restaurants and stores have limited hours, but I was still able to shop and eat well. I loved dining at The Fox Fire, as did others, there were local groups as well as tourist groups. The Inn is a good spot to stay if you are sight seeing, train riding and leaf looking.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cynditooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stumbled into the Inn at Snowshoe on very short planning, after coming off the Stargazer train of the Durbin & Greenbrier Railroad, where on the way back down the mountain we noticed in a local area flyer that the Green Bank National Radio Astronomy Observatory was having a free Family Fun Day the next day on Sunday.

Rather than make the two and a half hour drive home, we decided to make a total astronomy weekend out of our train trip and drove late down to Snowshoe. It and a few other distant hotels, spread out in the area, are sort of the only game in town, so we hit Snowshoe to see what kind of deal we could get.

Coming in late, the lady working reception was extremely friendly, and sympathetic to our plight being late with sleeping kids, etc., and gave us a great deal. She also provided us with free passes to recreation facilities there and the tram for the following day as well, and free breakfast. We only used the breakfast since we were heading for the NRAO, but the intent was awesome.

The room was decent, general and typical of an average hotel room, the beds were comfortable, the room and bathroom was clean. There was nothing spectacular about it ,but nothing out of the ordinary or bad either. We had 2 full size beds, a few chairs, a table, separate HVAC unit with in room controls, full back, TV and dressers. It was fairly spacious as well.

The hospitality is what made the different. The next day, in order to use the pool and hot tubs, they gave us a late checkout, which was perfect to have a pleasurable breakfast (sausage, waffles, bisquits and gravy, fruit, teas, coffee, cereals, muffins, etc) and then the kids were able to enjoy the pool for a good while.

The Inn is in the middle of the national radio blackout area, with strict controls on radio signals, so they have internet, but it's limited to the pool and lounge/lobby area. People complaining about the pool being off the lobby are ridiculous. It's a public hotel pool, you expect privacy? Seriously? Anyway, had it not been where it is located, we wouldn't have been able to sit there on our laptops and iphones reviewing our pictures and catching up on email/etc, which we hadn't been able to do since early the day before when we drove into the radio blackout area.

From past experiences there are a ton of great recreational activities in the area, including those offered by Snowshoe Resort. The Inn has ample parking, is attractive, and is staffed by very friendly folks. Ignore the naysayers and come with confidence. Don't expect the Ritz of a 5 star hotel, but you're in the middle of some of the most beautiful mountains in the world, and you're not paying 5 or even 4 star prices either (unless you're good at Priceline like me).

It is what it is, and it's a deal for what it is. Some people can't be pleased. I don't want to stay in a room next to them anyway. Enjoy the Inn at Snowshoe in the beautiful mountains, go for a hike, take a bike ride, ride the train, ride the tram. Get fit, get active, and enjoy yourself. Then go relax in the pool, with or without your kids. Cheers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcgervey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budds Creek
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The rooms are very comfortable and reasonably priced. If you are coming to this area, and need to save a little, this is the place to stay. If you need something to eat, you are out of luck. We have stayed here several times and the food is just not up to par. You would think with the skiing population, it would be more than it is, but it's not. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place was a dump. Old, peeling wallpaper, chipped paint, not very clean. There is a pool and hot tub smack in the middle of the circular designed building, absolutely no privacy. The restaurant was only open for breakfast (August). The food was mediocre, eggs seemed like powdered eggs, served luke warm. Fruit was canned not fresh. There was no fitness center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
2.5 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
153 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
90 reviews
2.6 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Snowcrest Condos
Snowcrest Condos
#21 of 24 in Snowshoe
12 reviews
2.5 mi away
Top of the World Condos at Snowshoe
2.4 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#18 of 24 in Snowshoe
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Snowshoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Snowshoe

Property: Inn at Snowshoe
Address: 10 Snowshoe Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Snowshoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Snowshoe offers standard, one and two bedroom units located at the base of Snowshoe Mountain. The Inn at Snowshoe is six miles from the slopes and Village at Snowshoe. This property has been a favorite of skiers for decades. It offers all the amenities you need in one location at very reasonable prices. The Inn is a full service hotel with a host of amenities including: Indoor Pool, Jacuzzi and Exercise Room, Arcade, Restaurant and Bar, Full Service Front Desk and Gift Shop. Please note, the standard rooms at the Inn at Snowshoe are non-cooking rooms. Plus, all standard rooms and the lobby are non-smoking. Food is available at the Inn at Snowshoe at Brandi's Restaurant as well as at Brandi's Bar. Complimentary breakfast is also included for rooms at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Snowshoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Snowshoe Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing