We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Snowshoe Inn Disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Snowshoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Snowshoe
Ranked #3 of 3 Snowshoe B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
“Snowshoe Inn Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The room at Snowshoe Inn was comfortable but not yet modernized. The bathroom and beds were old. There was no second lock on the door other than the one deadbolt. The halllways were quite dim. The check-in staff was impatient and very very unwelcoming. Fortunately the breakfast was decent. My friend and I will be looking else where for other lodging.

Room Tip: Not returning to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenyth111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    40
    46
    24
    7
See reviews for
35
37
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

$180 on top the mountain, $99 at the Inn at Snowshoe. Save your money, go somewhere other than Snowshoe. Those are the summer rates during the week. The room was an embarrassment; dirty carpet, spiders in the corner, and a horrible smell.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan_Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Snowshoe hotels

Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
204 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Inn at Snow Shoe is a few years past it's prime but....................
The rooms where clean, the beds comfortable and the staff helpful.
They have an indoor pool, bar w/ limited menu and a breakfast buffet is included in the cost of the room.
We use the Inn as a base camp for our motorcycle group. The whole area is a motorcyclist dream, great roads with limited traffic.
If you're looking for an affordable room in the Snowshoe area I would recommend the Inn at Snowshoe

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you can find the hotel on a website, and on a map, and with your GPS, you are ahead of the game. It is critical to plan your trip in advance with printed instructions before you leave. The Inn is affected by the National Space Telescope which blacks out communications, including cell phones for 40 square miles.

My two adult sons and I enjoyed our stay at the hotel, which is comfortable, and affordable. The hot tub was relaxing (remember to bring bathing suit), and the buffet breakfast, delicious. We very much enjoyed skiing at Snowshoe.

Lastly, plan ahead for dining, too. We battled the crowds during Spring Break Weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontanaNYPurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I read some of the reviews here and some of you need to get real! The Inn is a fairly cheap place to stay and you are not going to get a luxury condo for 85 bucks! What you get is a fairly clean and comfortable room for a pretty good price. You get a free breakfast, two hot tubs, an indoor pool, a bar, and free shuttle service that runs hourly to the top. And you guys that complain about the lack of phone reception and poor wi-fi crack me up! Get a life and get your butt outside! What did you come here for anyway??

The inn is fine! No complaints from me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SafeTmanEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

These accommodations are really basic. The building is old with wear and tear showing everywhere. The breakfast buffet was terrible. We couldn't eat most of the served food. The rooms were cleaned OK but the physical attributes of the motel were just so bad. Walls had holes, doors had worn away marks, furniture had veneer missing. We stayed here because there was no other lodging available.
We knew that by being on the mountain base it meant a bus ride up to ski each day. The bus driver and service was fine.
I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parenava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Inn as it was budget-friendly for a one-night stay. All reviews that I've read are pretty accurate so I'll just presents pros/cons as a quick reference:

Pros
- Budget-friendly
- Staff was helpful/can get lift tickets at the Inn
- Free Breakfast - eggs, pancakes, bacon, biscuits & gravy, cereal, breads, fruit, juices
- Pool/Hot tub
- Comfy beds


Cons
- Approx 6 miles away from the main skiing area. Not a big deal as there are shuttles that ride hourly to The Village (main ski area) and Silver Creek (smaller slopes/night skiing) so you can around without driving.
- No cell coverage or WiFi
- Inn is dated, but rooms are clean
- No refridgerator or safe in room
- No fitness center (probably moot as skiing is quite a workout)

Overall, the room was adequate for our purpose and I would stay there again! Also, the site has a small arcade, a restaurant/pub and a gift shop. Across the street from the Inn are some stores, alcohol and some food although we didn't stop there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
2.2 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
2.7 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
2.3 mi away
Snowcrest Condos
Snowcrest Condos
#24 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Top of the World Condos at Snowshoe
2.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#16 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
2.3 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Snowshoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Snowshoe

Property: Inn at Snowshoe
Address: 10 Snowshoe Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Snowshoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Snowshoe offers standard, one and two bedroom units located at the base of Snowshoe Mountain. The Inn at Snowshoe is six miles from the slopes and Village at Snowshoe. This property has been a favorite of skiers for decades. It offers all the amenities you need in one location at very reasonable prices. The Inn is a full service hotel with a host of amenities including: Indoor Pool, Jacuzzi and Exercise Room, Arcade, Restaurant and Bar, Full Service Front Desk and Gift Shop. Please note, the standard rooms at the Inn at Snowshoe are non-cooking rooms. Plus, all standard rooms and the lobby are non-smoking. Food is available at the Inn at Snowshoe at Brandi's Restaurant as well as at Brandi's Bar. Complimentary breakfast is also included for rooms at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn at Snowshoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Snowshoe Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing