We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as bad as it seems” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Snowshoe

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inn at Snowshoe
Ranked #3 of 3 Snowshoe B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not as bad as it seems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here due to the everything in or near the Village being booked. Upon driving up the property is well kept and clean. The lobby is descent there is always hot coffee there too. The front desk staff is ok at best the staff at top of the world are more persobable.Upon entering the room the heater was already going at 67 degrees which was perfect after spending all morning on the slopes. We utilized checking in at the top of the world.The room was ready way before the 5 pm check in time. The room is like any other economy motel two beds a small table a tv. The room was clean the bathroom was clean just a really worn. The beds were comfortable. The pool area and the hot tub area were clean and everything was is working order. Really good for the budget minded skier. The room is good for a few days at most since there is no fridge or microwave. So it is kind of a pain when you have leftovers. All in all it is a good motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcb626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    42
    53
    26
    8
See reviews for
37
40
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I booked the Inn at Snowshoe based mostly on the price. The hotel is at the base of the mountain making it about a 7 minute drive to the top of the world (Snowshoe Mountain ski area) and about a 4 minute drive to the Silver Creek ski area. The hotel is on par with perhaps a 2 to 2.5 star chain. The economy rooms are clean and equip with a 32" flat screen TV, two beds, a work table and chairs and dresser. The beds are a little on the firm side and pillows would rate poor, about the equivalent of a bath towel in a pillow case. If you had your own pillow the stay would be fine. Pool, baby pool, and two hot tubs are available and in good working order. Hotel has a bar and restaurant. There is also a shuttle bus to take you to the top of the mountain if you do not wish to drive. It seemed to operate every half hour, but you may want to call to confirm that schedule.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmtripsOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn this past weekend for our anniversary. For the most part, it was a pleasant stay. We are the kind of people who don't mind paying less especially when we are aware that the hotel itself and the amenities aren't "world" class. More specifically, we knew we'd spend more time up on the mountain skiing rather than in the hotel. We always thoroughly research our trips and where we plan to stay so we knew in advance that the Inn wasn't going to be the nicest, but the most affordable since we didn't want to spend that much on lodging. Plus, we were able to bring our little Yorkshire with us for only $50 for our entire stay (most places charge non-refundable deposit or per night fee).

With that said, if you're looking for a nicer place to stay, look elsewhere. The Inn was old, but kept clean. Yes, the rooms are a bit out dated, but it was clean and stocked with your typical amenities. There is NO microwave, refrigerator, or WI-FI (at least when we were there) available. In fact, there is NO cell phone service at all so if you can't live without it, then go stay up on the mountain where WI-FI and some service is available. Otherwise, you will be out of touch with civilization for awhile which isn't so bad.

Back to the hotel, they offer decent, free breakfast which included a buffet-style of eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, and pancakes. They also give you a couple of options for cereal, bagels, and fruits. Beverages offered--coffee, water, orange juice, apple juice, and milk.

Inside the hotel, there is also a bar called "Brandi's" which we weren't impressed with simply because there wasn't much of a bar to enjoy. There was a pool table, foose ball table, and a few small TVs. It was NFL play-off weekend, yet they didn't have any of the games on when we were in there. Also, the service wasn't that great so if you're looking for a real bar to hang out at, go down to the Fiddlehead (only a few minutes down the road) where you can have a better time. They offer decent bar food, beer, games, live band, and free WI-FI.

Although we didn't go swimming or enjoy the hot tubs available, they have three nice size tubs ranging from small, medium, to large, with a small pool. Another thing to point out is Snowshoe offers a shuttle bus from the hotel up to the mountain, but we'd recommend driving up there and parking at the General Parking at Top of the World since it's free. Less hassle and you save time since the shuttle bus only picks you at certain times.

Overall, we can't complain about the hotel since we knew it wouldn't be that nice, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and trip to Snowshoe.

*****Points of Interest*****

Fiddlehead Bar: Local bar hangout

Elk River Inn and Restaurant: Fine-dining; If you're looking for a fine dining restaurant, the Elk River Inn and Restaurant about 5-6 miles in Slaty Fork was REALLY good! The blue-crab stuffed rainbow trout was delicious!!! Prices aren't terrible considering it was "fine-dining" ($14-$34 for entrees).

Boathouse: In our opinion, the most reasonable (compared to the other eatery options) eatery to get lunch. It's down at the Ballhooter Lift near the lake. Great view, good food, and free WI-Fi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raborns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Its not as bad as it looks. Cant beat the price compared to condos up top. I was hesitant to book because there was so little information available so here goes. It reminded me of my college days in the dorm. Rooms were OK. Beds were comfy, heat worked, hot water, 32" flat screen with good TV selections, no frills. It was clean but hskpg did not clean 2nd day. No coffee maker in room but do have coffee in lobby. Breakfast was included and was very good. Eggs, sausage, bacon, french toast, biscuits/gravy, whole fruit, bulk yogurt, breads, cereal, OJ/apple juice. Never got internet connection but noticed many trying in lobby. Indoor pool was nice with 3 hot tubs. Never made it to Brandis - the rest/bar. Staff was warm but not overly hospitable. Drive to slopes is 6 miles. Across the street is a Subway. they have a bus that transports you up the hill and back but we drove. Nice gift shop on property for sundries and souveniers. For $90 a night is was good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place is DISGUSTING!! Walking in, the tile is old and always dirty, the carpets haven't been cleaned for about 20-years and are black, crusty and gross. The roof leaks, the beds are hard and walls are paper thin with the wall paper peeling off. THERE WAS A HOLE IN OUR ROOM! (seriously) the A/C is just stuck in a cut-out hole in the wall. NO microwave, NO fridge, NO coffee maker.. NO Wi-Fi!! Despite what they claim, the wi-fi does not work. Ever. (NO cellphone service either). The service the Inn uses, (Frontier) is always out and just plain doesn't work. The staff is very rude and wouldn't even let me borrow a screw driver for two seconds to fix my snowboard. This is mostly a gross cheap party hotel if you plan on just getting wasted and pass out on the slate rock beds. The only pro is the location if you can't stay on the top of the mountain. However, even then, I would suggest staying at the Hampton Inn in the town of Elkins about an hour away.

Room Tip: Save yourself, spent the extra buck and stay on top of the mountain!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Snowshoe hotels

Cocoa Beach, FL
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

5:00 is check in time! After a LONG drive and the room is not available until after 6:30...not cool! The room....well....ugh! Just don't stay here. This place should be torn down. The help is the kind that won't look up in hopes of not working.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G8ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA - NC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over New Years. The motel is older, but kept clean. If clearly caters to skiers looking for an affordable option while at Snowshoe. Our room was on the first floor and was a clean room. the decor is dated but that doesn't bother me as long as the place is clean and secure which it was. Our rate included breakfast buffet each morning. The food was ok, not bad but nothing special. If you're hungry from skiing it is fine. We didn't use the pool or hot tubs but they had a fair amount of people in them. There is also a small bar that connects to the restaurant which is a nice place for adults to relax and have a drink away from kids. The motel also has a shuttle that runs up to the top of Snowshoe for skiing, but it was just as easy for us to drive and park at the parking lot near Top of the World for free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
2.2 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#16 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Leatherbark Condos
Leatherbark Condos
#11 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
2.3 mi away
Snowcrest Condos
Snowcrest Condos
#20 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
2.5 mi away
Treetop Townhomes
Treetop Townhomes
#15 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Snowshoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Snowshoe

Property: Inn at Snowshoe
Address: 10 Snowshoe Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Snowshoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Snowshoe offers standard, one and two bedroom units located at the base of Snowshoe Mountain. The Inn at Snowshoe is six miles from the slopes and Village at Snowshoe. This property has been a favorite of skiers for decades. It offers all the amenities you need in one location at very reasonable prices. The Inn is a full service hotel with a host of amenities including: Indoor Pool, Jacuzzi and Exercise Room, Arcade, Restaurant and Bar, Full Service Front Desk and Gift Shop. Please note, the standard rooms at the Inn at Snowshoe are non-cooking rooms. Plus, all standard rooms and the lobby are non-smoking. Food is available at the Inn at Snowshoe at Brandi's Restaurant as well as at Brandi's Bar. Complimentary breakfast is also included for rooms at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Snowshoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Snowshoe Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing