We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for two nights, needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Snowshoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Snowshoe
Ranked #3 of 3 Snowshoe B&B and Inns
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for two nights, needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family stayed here. The hotel really needs updating! There was a stale smell in our room. I know it is the off season, but I think they could have spruced it up. The breakfast buffet was good. The kids liked it. The indoor pool was the best part of the hotel. It was very clean. We ate dinner on the mountain. We went to Cass Railroad and Green Bank, which was a short drive away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracimed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    42
    54
    26
    8
See reviews for
37
40
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Frankford, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My aunt and I stayed here so we could visit the Cass Railroad and the Green Bank Observatory. There was a dirtbike rally at Snowshoe and all the places on top of the mountain were booked. The hotel was okay-it was clean but well-worn. The wallpaper was peeling, tiles were cracked etc. The amenities could use some major updating-most hotels nowadays at least have a coffee maker in the room. They had coffee in the lobby-sometimes-but no decaf. We asked one evening at the restaurant for decaf and were told they had none. (They had it at breakfast though...) The front desk clerk that was there when we checked in was friendly and helpful as were the two overworked waitresses that evening at the restaurant, but many of the staff members at the desk and restaurant were not helpful, even to the point of being rude in one case and did not seem to care much if they could help us or not. There are not too many choices for hotels in this area but I would stay in another town rather than stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Skiing is an expensive get a way and the Inn at Snow Shoe made it affordable for us. The room was nothing fancy but the beds were good for sleeping; which when you are there to ski is really all you need. They have 2 hot tubs which was great after my day of falling (new skier). The drive to the slopes wasn't to bad its only 4 miles to get to Silver Creek and 6 miles to the Village! I would definitely stay here again just because the price was so much more affordable than staying at the top. The staff was friendly and the included hot breakfast was excellent before heading up to ski for the day! Our meals up top were averaging about $40.00 dollars a couple so having a meal included is worth the short drive to the top for skiing for me!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frequenttravler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I booked this room for a girls snowboarding weekend, and that's all it was for. Hotel was a little dated, but we didn't care. The 2 things that really annoyed me was the front desk employee who checked me in and the breakfast buffet. The employee was rude and unaccomendating. I asked her If we could purchase lift tickets from them in the morning, and she just rolled her eyes, and ignored my question. I also asked her about the shuttle service, and just have me a piece of paper and a bored look. We realize that the breakfast was free, so we weren't expecting anything great, but nothing was edible. We really aren't picky people and all we wanted was a clean room to sleep, and that's what we received! Probably won't be back, but it's ok!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
405 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 738 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

For a budget-friendly, but still nice stay at Snowshoe, consider the Inn at Snowshoe at the base of the mountain about 6 miles away. There are shuttles that run between the Inn and Silver Creek at the top of the mountain, so staying at the bottom isn't a problem. And they keep to the schedule quite well. The staff were friendly and helpful and there are most amenities. They have a restaurant, bar, ski shop. Complimentary breakfast buffet was quite good and there was a good selection. There's also a pool and hot tub - great after a chilly day of skiing to relax and warm up. All this for quite a bit less than what it costs to stay at the top of the mountain. We plan to come back and stay here again. My only complaint is that there was no refrigerator or safe in the room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmpncsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckner, Kentucky
Level Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

If you are looking for a 5star hotel this is not for you it may be a 2star at the most. The rooms are clean and if you are just sleeping then it's OK. If you are there for skiing you are better off to stay in the Village so you don't have to worry about catching a shuttle or driving up a very step curvy road. If there is a lot of snow and ice you will NOT make it up the hill.
There is an indoor pool and hot tub. I think this place is for a younger crowd.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2DIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

You get what you pay for here. Its located at the bottom of the mountain (Snowshoe is an upside down ski-resort with almost everything else located at the top of the mountain). Its about a 6 mile drive up the mountain to get to the slopes (there is a shuttle if you cant drive up or if its really crowded and there is no parking on the mountain avail)
Rooms were somewhat small, as were the beds, (bigger than a twin but not a full size)
The inn does have a nice pool area with 2 large hot tubs! They close at 10:30 every night which is a little disappointing though.
The breakfast buffet at Brandi's is included with your stay and a very good way to start the day before hitting the slopes.
Free WiFi is available but only in a second floor lounge area, and there is ABSOLUTELY ZERO cell service anywhere on the mountain (or within an hour from the mountain really) so having WiFi in the rooms would have been extremely helpful and an ammenity this hotel should really consider adding in the future!
If price is not as important I would recommend staying at one of the more expensive, more conveniently located, nicer choices on top of the mountain, but if your are just looking for close, cheaper options the Inn at SnowShoe is worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwalk03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Snowshoe hotels
2.2 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#18 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#4 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.4 mi away
Leatherbark Condos
Leatherbark Condos
#15 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
2.3 mi away
Snowcrest Condos
Snowcrest Condos
#20 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Snowshoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Snowshoe

Property: Inn at Snowshoe
Address: 10 Snowshoe Drive, Snowshoe, WV 26209
Location: United States > West Virginia > Snowshoe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Snowshoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Snowshoe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Snowshoe offers standard, one and two bedroom units located at the base of Snowshoe Mountain. The Inn at Snowshoe is six miles from the slopes and Village at Snowshoe. This property has been a favorite of skiers for decades. It offers all the amenities you need in one location at very reasonable prices. The Inn is a full service hotel with a host of amenities including: Indoor Pool, Jacuzzi and Exercise Room, Arcade, Restaurant and Bar, Full Service Front Desk and Gift Shop. Please note, the standard rooms at the Inn at Snowshoe are non-cooking rooms. Plus, all standard rooms and the lobby are non-smoking. Food is available at the Inn at Snowshoe at Brandi's Restaurant as well as at Brandi's Bar. Complimentary breakfast is also included for rooms at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Snowshoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Snowshoe Hotel Snowshoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing