We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morning Glory Inn
Nearby Hotels
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Roseloe Motel(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Omni Homestead Resort(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baxa Inn(Buckhannon)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveler rating
353
30
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
353
30
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade granolamorning gloryfront porchcheesy eggsbreakfast was deliciouswest virginiabed and breakfastcass scenic railroadour room was spaciousfresh eggsapple piesnowshoe mountainwonderful hostsfriendly ownerswonderful stayrooms are beautifulstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 386 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed on a Thursday night and had the place all to ourselves. Rod and Karin we're great host and the beds were very comfy. It was very peaceful and we woke to a wonderful breakfast. It was very convenient to Snowshoe and we look forward to staying again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robgoodjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Morning Glory Inn for 3 nights. We had a lovely stay and Rod and Karin were very welcoming without being intrusive. It was the perfect quiet weekend getaway and close to Snowshoe Mountain so we were easily able to enjoy skiing and tubing without feeling like we had a long way to go or come back. The room was CLEAN!! and large (ours with a firm king bed and a queen bed) but cozy and warm. The room also had it own large bathroom and a fridge which we used to store our lunch items that we took with us to the ski mountain. A coffee maker was also in the room but we chose to enjoy coffee downstairs at breakfast time. The breakfast was wonderful with a large array of items including homemade pumpkin bread, banana bread, fresh fruits, cereals, homemade granola, white breads, and a variety of teas. Every morning, we were also offered an extra item which included cheesy scrambled eggs with ham and/or pancakes. We were never hungry!! If you go soon and Rod has his green tomatillo salsa, please try it! It is delicious (reminded me of a green chili salsa)!! This is a relaxing place to disconnect from the world (no TV in room) and reconnect with the family (games are available in the family room and the outdoors has space to roam a bit away from the main house and have a snowball fight). If you must have TV, there is one in the main family room with a warm fire burning in the fireplace however we chose to find other things to do. Wi-Fi is also available. We found the price to be reasonable and recommend it to all who want to unwind!! Definitely a place we will return to but next time, we would like to stay for a week.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Needing a place to stay for snowshoe, we found the Morning Glory Inn very reasonable. Although we were due to arrive late, they were prepared to wait up just to meet us. In the end we were made to feel at home in what is an immaculately clean house.

Our children loved the room as it was "so huge!". With a bathroom, fridge and coffee that tastes nice the room had everything you needed. If you must watch television then there is a communal one downstairs in a welcoming sitting room with cosy fire. There are also board games available.
The bed was lovely and comfortable and no problems with hot water.
Breakfast was fresh and healthy with the offer of eggs if you wanted them.
With the lack of cellular coverage in the area it was nice to be able to use wifi to download your emails. You will not be streaming videos, but good enough for most needs.
In summary a welcoming stay. A must for those seeking relaxation at a reasonable cost. Maybe not suitable if you need constant television and streaming video. We have already booked our next stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were heading for Cass to ride the train there, and were looking for somewhere reasonably priced to stay that wasn't a million miles away. A Google search provided several options, but having read the previous reviews on these, we had to give 'Morning Glory' a try. Not only was it only 16 miles from Cass, it was amongst the cheapest on offer, had a website that was informative and easy to navigate around and the reviews were universally positive - and with good reason as we found out during our stay. Both Rod and Karin were informative, friendly and helpful during our brief stay, and the room we were allocated was large,airy and elegantly furnished. The modern heating system worked well, which was important to us as we had just travelled from 95 deg in Florida to 40 deg in Slatyfork, as did the very fast WiFi system. Breakfast in the morning was a treat and included Karins homemade Granola, Banana and Walnut cake as well as a selection of fresh fruit salad, yoghurts several cereals, and different types of bread. Rod also offered to make us scrambled eggs as well, but we declined knowing that we wouldnt be able to do this justice once we had indulged ourselves with the other options available. A lovely couple and a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Just take what you are given!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyOSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Rod and Karin, thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. The extra large accomodations were very comfy. Your breakfast was excellent, the cheesy eggs and the home made granola were such a treat each morning. We stayed 4 nights, wish we could have stayed longer. We will recommend this place to anyone who is staying in the Snowshoe Mountain area. Thank you for spoiling us!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews