We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Well Done” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morning Glory Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slatyfork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slatyfork
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Well Done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Unfortunately my wife and I arranged to stay with Karin and Rod only one evening...this time. I foresee a return in the future. Very spacious rooms, tastefully decorated, comfortable bed (Rm 203), quiet. Breakfast included lots of fruit and some homemade goodies (granola and banana bread in this instance), cereals, good coffee, juices--and Rod will scramble you some eggs if you like. Relaxed atmosphere with just the right touch of "white noise" in the distance (Big Spring Fork Crk). Lots of activities to keep one busy within 30 miles or so, including the National Radio Astronomy Observatory at Green Bank, WV, which operates in a huge cellular shadow, so plan on using WiFi while you're at the Morning Glory.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
159
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Pa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for one night while on a motorcycle ride through West Virginia. We chose this B&B based on the great reviews it received on Trip Advisor. What a great place! The room was huge, beautiful, and spotless. The Inn is located on route 219, tucked away behind the trees and can barely be seen from the road. There is a front porch that spans the entire length of the building, with lots of beautiful plants & flowers, that is great for sitting out & relaxing with your favorite beverage. Breakfast was also included in the rate, and it was a real treat. Eggs made to order, fresh fruit, juices, banana bread, granola, cereal, etc. As a retired couple, my wife & I travel a lot and have stayed at many nice B&B's, but none that was a better deal than this. My only tiny complaint would be that the little wooden bridge we had to cross to access the property was not exactly motorcycle friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Room was large, very comfortable and extremely clean. Our hosts. Rod & Karin were friendly and provided suggestions and a great breakfast. Would of loved to stay longer .Our highest recommendation!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank euowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay near Cass so that we could ride the train. No chain hotels in area but somehow happened across this Inn and were so pleased we did. Room was extremely large and very comfortable. Rod & Karin were helpful hosts, who provided suggestions and a great breakfast. Area is gorgeous, peaceful and quiet. Will definitely recommend to anyone going up to Snowshoe or area. My husband is not fond of B&B's, but ate his words on this one. Hope we will get to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ford City, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and if we could have stayed longer we sure would have. It was very clean and nice. I stayed out on the front porch the second night until midnight. We made some new friends and really enjoyed the relaxation. Rod and Karin are very, very nice people and really make you feel at home. Thanks Guys!

Room Tip: We are older and stayed on the first floor. If you want that very nice room, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainesport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Awesome stay at the Morning Glory! Rod and Karin were exceptional hosts, great breakfast, very clean, large accomodations and such a relaxing atmosphere. It was nice to just relax on the large porch after a busy day. Great selection of breakfast from the type of eggs that Rod would cook up for you to the fresh fruits and homemade granola that Karin would make. Great start to the day. Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our first experience at a B&B and it was wonderful. Beautiful property, large, clean room, excellent breakfast and friendly Inn Keepers! We would definitely recommend anyone stay here and we would stay again if ever in WV area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slatyfork
4.5 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
4.8 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
4.4 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
4.5 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#14 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Inn

Property: Morning Glory Inn
Address: 71 Spring road, Route 219, Snowshoe, Slatyfork, WV 26291-0116
Location: United States > West Virginia > Slatyfork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slatyfork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel/bed and breakfast located near Snowshoe Mountain Resort and Cass Scenic Railroad. We have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor. All rooms have air conditioning, hd Tv's and wi fi. Breakfast is included. We have added remote controlled candles for those romantic nites. We are the number one rated hotel in West Virginia rated by reviews from Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Slatyfork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing