We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn”
Review of Morning Glory Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slatyfork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slatyfork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Morning Glory Inn was first class. We thoroughly enjoyed the cozy front porch with the myriad of hummingbirds constantly at the feeder! The breakfast was delicious and the scrambled eggs were perfect (and I am not crazy about eggs). The bed was very comfortable and the rooms are huge. I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 364 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Huge room, great host and hostess at a great price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halet444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I didn't want to go skiing - I just wanted to hang out at the B & B. Breakfast was better than at home, the rooms were roomy and cozy and the owners want you to enjoy your stay. Beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: Don't forget your camera like I did, because it's so beautifulo there. My room had everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Man I really liked it here! I stayed here 3 different times. Every time the place is better, they work on it every year. Not only sparkling clean but comfortable. There's always birds chirping outside and lots of trees. I feel like I'm in a Northern Garden of Eden but with coffee and pastries ready for me downstairs when I wake up. The other lodging in the area is too $$$ for me :( The rooms are big, and good quality here. Most important the beds are very good so it's a great night's sleep if nothing else. I never got woke up by crying babies or people talking loud, it's all good, it's for people who know what they want and they want a quality place to stay. Nice getaway whether skiing or just got to get away for awhile. After a few days here I have to remind myself that it's not my home. That's the way a B&B should be, no crummy hotels for me!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cedric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

My wife and I just got back from celebrating our anniversary and a birthday in WV with a Snowshoe getaway. We found the Snowshoe resort prices to be far too high, and always prefer B&Bs whenever they are closely. The Morning Glory Inn is a short 10-15 min drive from all the Snowshoe resort action, and Rod and Karin do everything they can to make your stay comfortable. They gave us great restaurant tips (try the Elk River Inn restaurant - you won't be disappointed) and the deluxe continental (one hot item each day) was more than enough for us. The room was very spacious, and Rod was kind enough to let us bring our pet with us (with advanced approval) to celebrate. This place cannot be beat for its value and quiet charm.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gastrocurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I decided on Thursday to take a quick roadtrip on Sunday and Monday of Columbus Day weekend to see the leaves and other sights of West Virginia. I found the Morning Glory Inn with a Google map search, called, and a quick chat with Rod ascertained that the (only) dog room was available Sunday night. He mentioned it had twin beds, so I invited a friend and off we went.

We enjoyed everything about our stay - stopped on the way in at Woody's BBQ Shack and picked up a rack of ribs and sides for a good price, got checked in, took a little stroll, then chowed down on a great meal. Our hosts were exactly the right balance between welcoming and unobtrusive - warm and informative, but not all over you like some are. The room was fine, good-sized and very comfortable, all the usual amenities and everything functional and as expected. A mini-fridge was provided in the room, along with a coffeemaker in the entryway just outside (this room shares an entrance door with the laundry room, with the added attraction of inside access to the kitchen, which has a microwave and a big refrigerator, both available to use as well.) We didn't use the TV, but there was one with info about satellite and DVDs to get from the main sitting room (which we also didn't really use, but it looked nice). We slept great, enjoyed the breakfast - a good continental with scrambled eggs to order that morning - and really enjoyed a nice long walk up the hill behind the inn. It's a gravel road, with a house here and there, and on our 3-mile+ walk on Monday morning we didn't see a single car or for that matter another person, just a couple of deer, a lot of birds and a few other critters here and there.

I'd recommend the Morning Glory Inn to anyone who wants a comfortable place to stay with all the basic amenities, for a good price.

Room Tip: If you want to use the dog room, be sure it's available since there is only the one. And be war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slc624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkkk, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Thanks for your review. We now can convert the twins into a king size bed with a conversion kit we purchased. hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Morning Glory Inn is a lovely B&B in the rural Snowshoe Mountain / Cass Scenic Railroad area. The owners were friendly and helpful, but non-intrusive. The queen bed room we stayed in was quite large, with a full size couch and mini fridge. The whole space was very clean. The room did not have air conditioning, but even in August, we really didn't need it, because there are ample fans and cool mountain air. Breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious -- the main attraction was blueberry pancakes, but there were other items available on a continental buffet -- hard boiled eggs, banana bread, yogurt, fruit. We enjoyed our one night there so much, we're thinking of going back in the winter for some snowshoeing! From what we heard, both from the owner Rod and one of the conductors at Cass, the area does an excellent job of plowing the roads in the winter, so we shouldn't have too much trouble getting there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shall07834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slatyfork
10.4 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
64 reviews
4.3 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
74 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
143 reviews
4.4 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
156 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Inn

Address: 71 Spring Road, Route 219, Snowshoe, Slatyfork, WV 26291-0116
Location: United States > West Virginia > Slatyfork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slatyfork
Price Range: $70 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel/bed and breakfast located near Snowshoe Mountain Resort and Cass Scenic Railroad. We have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor. All rooms have air conditioning, hd Tv's and wi fi. Breakfast is included. We have added remote controlled candles for those romantic nites. We are the number one rated hotel in West Virginia rated by reviews from Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Slatyfork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing