We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming in all aspects!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomas Shepherd Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
197 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Charming in all aspects!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is one of those B&B's that make you want to stay extra nights or plan your return visit immediately. My husband and I stayed here for the location (which is excellent) but would come back for other reasons. Shepherdstown is a small, historic town located within easy driving distance of Washington, DC, Baltimore, and many Civil War battlefield sites, such as Antietam, Gettsburg, Harpers Ferry and Manassas/Bull Run. The town itself boasts easy access to hikes and bike riding along the C+O Canal and kayaking/rafting on the Shenandoah river. Our reason for going to Shepherdstown, though, was more local: the jam session at O'Hurley's General Store on Thursday nights, which has been providing amazing Celtic/mountain/heritage music for at least 30 years--highly recommended! The innkeepers were very detail-oriented, gave us a great tour of the home when we arrived, and made our dinner reservations (based on their excellent recommendation) in advance. Their afternoon snacks, evening sherry, and early-morning coffee and home-made spiced biscotti (served before a hearty and tasty breakfast) were outstanding. It's clear that they take pride in their property and enjoy their guests, and you can choose to be as sociable with them and other guests as you like. Very clean, great amenities, and reasonable - what else could you ask for?

Room Tip: Room 1 is charming - king-size bed, fireplace, and huge bathroom. Just be prepared for some early-m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresita_Herndon_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6, Owner at Thomas Shepherd Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review! The free Appalachian jam session at O'Hurleys General Store on Thursday nights is one of our favorite things to do in Shepherdstown. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Room 1 - guests find that the king bed and triple panes in the windows help a good night's sleep along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
82
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We are regular B&Bers. To me there are a few that really stand-out location or decor-wise (usually $250+ per nite).

The rest are nicely decorated, clean, comfortable, safe and functioning. If you look hard enough you can generally find a couple of annoyances. That's about 90% of our experience. Still not one out of probably one hundred overnights can I categorize as disappointing (either all inn keepers are pretty good or we're of the mindset that it takes a lot to spoil a fun outing)

The Thomas Shepherd Inn falls into this category. It, like many others, should be a 4-Star experience, except for owners who with their friendliness and attention to detail earn that extra star.

Filtered water, sherry, tea and coffee, homemade chocolate chip cookies, spiced biscotti, etc. etc. Lots of maps, menus and local information at every corner.

It seems lately many B&B owners don't spend much time with their guests, Maybe the tough economy and/or difficult guests have something to do with this? Jeanie sat down and spent 45 minutes with my wife and another couple at the breakfast table (good breakfast too!). Jim was also very friendly and interested in us achieving a productive and happy visit.

My annoyance? Oh yeah. The TSI is on a very busy corner at the top of the 1/4 mile downtown area. It can be pretty noisy at times from about 8:30-5:00, but quiets down after (we're not usually in our room during that time frame anyway). But just in case Jeanie & Jim put a large fan in your room's closet to deal with the noise factor. Our night's sleep was quiet and excellent even though our windows faced the street..

Details...that's what I'm talking about!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6. Sofa for seating nice. Lots of windows (street side). If noise is a factor cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6, Owner at Thomas Shepherd Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We're glad we were able to help you enjoy your stay! I must have been letting Jim do all the kitchen work so that I could chat at breakfast time. We like to provide the things that we enjoy when we're away, hence the fans in the rooms and the white noise CDs in the bedside alarm clock. We hope you continue to enjoy B&Bs - The Better Way to Stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The inkeepers are amazing. The property is clean, bright and well appointed. Close to all the wonderful shops and fantastic restaurants. And just when you think it could not get any better - it's time for breakfast! Great stuff and we will be planning another trip with friends in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a terrific little inn in a charming town. My husband and I stayed here for one night for a quick weekend getaway and loved it. The owners were very welcoming and our room (#2) extremely clean and well-appointed, with a separate sitting area and an electric fireplace (which we didn't use since it was August, but would be great in the winter). We loved that the rooms were charming without being overly twee. Breakfast was great and we had fun chatting with other couples. The back porch was a lovely place to sit and read. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

B&B owners ourselves living in rural PA, we rarely find a B&B that we feel lives up to what a B&B should be, but this place exceeded hopes and expectations. The owners are friendly but not intrusive, offered suggestions for restaurants and other activities when asked, and served a wonderful breakfast including fresh fruit and a hot egg entree that was delicious. Our rooms on the second floor were clean, spacious and well-appointed. There was plenty of hot water for showers that had great pressure and the mattresses were a dream to sleep on. The decor was of the period - antiques, oriental rugs, tasteful bed clothing, no frou frou lacey tchotchkes that we find so annoying. Though we have friends and relatives in the area who offer free places to stay, we'll be happy to pay to stay at the Thomas Shepherd Inn. It's that wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarikaPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6, Owner at Thomas Shepherd Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - we love to pamper our fellow innkeepers when we have the chance, as we know what a challenging job it can be! We hope to make a trip to your place some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germantown, md
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a good one. More amenities than we've seen anywhere else. Rooms very clean and neat, spacious, comfortable, well appointed. Breakfast was excellent. Check out their website and believe what you read. Easy walking distance to the main street of town. And you really do meet nice, interesting people at a B&B. This place is conducive to congeniality. Jeanne and Jim are most friendly and helpful, but not in the least bit intrusive. As someone else has said, a good balance. High marks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjobwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a beautiful, peaceful Inn. The Inn Keepers were so hospitable. The room was beautiful and the second floor porch was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and good conversation and just relaxing at the end of the day. A delicious breakfast served in the lovely dining room was wonderful. The Inn is walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants Shepherdstown has to offer. A beautiful little town.

Room Tip: This is Inn has 1 room with 2 double beds, which not all B&B's offer. This was perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
5.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas Shepherd Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Shepherd Inn

Property: Thomas Shepherd Inn
Address: 300 West German Street, corner of German and Duke Streets, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thomas Shepherd Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thomas Shepherd Inn offers guests the experience of gracious hospitality in an historic setting. Unique shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Antietam Battlefield and Harper's Ferry are short drives away. Bike or hike on the C&O Canal Path 1/2 mile away. We offer six spacious, air-conditioned guest rooms with private baths. Our living room with fireplace, guest lounge with TV and porch overlooking our garden are available for your enjoyment. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Thomas Shepherd Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing