We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Englishtown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Thomas Shepherd Inn was a treat. The Innkeepers could not have been more helpful re: making dinner plans and with tips on optimizing our time spent in exploring nearby historic attractions. For that, the B&B's location was perfect as it was only a few miles from Harpers Ferry and from the Antietam battlefield. Shepherdstown itself is very historic and the B&B is located right on the main street -- super convenient for restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very good but we selected the one room with a king size bed -- it was outstandi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
92
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We loved our 2 night stay at the Thomas Shepherd Inn! The innkeepers are so gracious and friendly! They went out of their way to accomodate my gluten allergy making special treats for me. They were amazing!! The Inn is so nice and love the way its decorated and there is a fabulous library. Shepherdstown is such a lovely town we really enjoyed walking around the town. We also enjoyed biking on the C&O Canal towpath and visiting Antetam battlefield. We highly recommend going to Shepherdstown and staying at the Thomas Shepherd Inn!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penniesfromheaven3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Thomas Shepherd Inn overnight after a wonderful dinner with friends at The Press Room. We stayed in Room 6, which was very bright, cheeful and cozy - we felt immediately comfortable and especially liked the electric corner fireplace. Although I'm not a huge fan of the claw tub/shower combos, this bathroom had a great showerhead! I was impressed by the fresh flowers in our room.

Many past reviews remarked on the road noise....I did not find this a problem at all, but my husband noticed the traffic a bit (but not majorly problematic).

The included breakfast (and coffee) was very good, as well. After breakfast, we walked down the street to the Farmer's Market which was quite diverse. If you have never been there, Shepherdstown is a little gem with several unique shops and great restaurants on the main street. It is full of and surrounded by history (Antietam and Harper's Ferry are VERY close by). It is a perfect place for a day trip or relaxing weekend get-away from central PA, MD, WVA or DC. The C & O canal trail is 5 minutes away - perfect for running, walking or biking. I believe kayaks can also be rented for a great experience on the Potomac.

We love every visit we make to Shepherdstown...and would not hesitate to stay at The Thomas Shephard Inn again in the future.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper or road traffic bothers you, you might want to bring earplugs with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidzeyedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Thomas Shepherd Inn is a great B&B, charmingly restored, and very comfortable. The hosts are friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed talking over breakfast. Shepherdstown itself was an unexpected delight for us, following a day of hiking in Harpers Ferry. The town has retained its 19th century character, but updated with a combination of interesting shops, one or two excellent restaurants and a few "new age" eateries.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a family reunion in Shepherdstown recently, and stayed again at the Thomas Shepherd Inn, where we also stayed in 1988. It is a gem! A beautifully Federal structure originally built in 1868 as a parsonage, it has been loving restored. It's spacious rooms are filled with antique furniture, historical art and artifacts, and rich colors and patterns. Jeannie and Jim are the consummate B & B hosts - friendly, knowledgeable, and available, but not intrusive. The breakfasts are a feast both for the eyes and for the tummy. Near the back of the inn (where we stayed,) there is a comfortable sitting room with pamphlets about the area, a small refrigerator, a computer, and a tray with a corkscrew and wine glasses. Just off the room is a large screened porch replete with white wicker furniture and overlooking the garden, which was already in bloom; the perfect place for our birthday celebration. Staying at this inn, one does not need a car to explore the interesting, quirky history-infused college town with its many restaurants, coffee bars, a top notch independent book store, clothing and other fun shops. This is a town where the arts clearly flourish, and it begins one block from the Thomas Shepherd Inn.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but room 6 overlooks the garden and is close to the screened-in porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pisces143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

One of the better Bed and Breakfasts I have stayed at in the area. The only ting I found odd was that the breakfast was an extra $10. Though the breakfast was good, my experience has been that the breakfast is included in the price when staying at a bed and breakfast, not extra.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6, Owner at Thomas Shepherd Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
We are happy that this guest enjoyed his/her stay at the Inn. We do provide comfortable lodgings and an excellent breakfast. Guests are NEVER charged an additional fee for breakfast UNLESS they are staying here on the government per diem rate. We provide rooms as-available to government employees working in the area at a greatly reduced rate, and in accordance with the per diem guidelines, it does not include breakfast. We are sorry if this guest was confused about this charge, but it is explained in detail on our policies page and in their confirmation. Breakfast is always optional for our government guests and the guest could simply have eaten elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed for two days and had a great time! The inn is close to everything you want to do downtown, an easy drive to Antietam battlefield and to the canal walk.

Jeanne & Jim are sweet innkeepers who know all the best places in town to have dinner, find the quirky local artisans and where to go for a great scenic walk.

We'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean_likes_maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
5.6 mi away
Antietam Overlook Farm
Antietam Overlook Farm
#1 of 3 in Keedysville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas Shepherd Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Shepherd Inn

Property: Thomas Shepherd Inn
Address: 300 West German Street, corner of German and Duke Streets, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thomas Shepherd Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thomas Shepherd Inn offers guests the experience of gracious hospitality in an historic setting. Unique shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Antietam Battlefield and Harper's Ferry are short drives away. Bike or hike on the C&O Canal Path 1/2 mile away. We offer six spacious, air-conditioned guest rooms with private baths. Our living room with fireplace, guest lounge with TV and porch overlooking our garden are available for your enjoyment. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thomas Shepherd Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing