We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moon Cafe

Blue Moon Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Damascus, Virginia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Blue Moon has a great vegetarian menu! I had their black bean burger and my wife had the veggie wrap. Both were great! This is a nice little place in Shepherdstown.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WVhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    153
    48
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keedysville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst, worst, worst!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

I so wish I could give this restaurant the same review as my friends, but sadly I cannot. It was the worst dining experience I have EVER had. The service was very slow, spotty and bored. However, paying up at the bar, there she was, talking animatedly to beer drinking patrons her age. The food ... that wasn't food. First, they were out of what I ordered first ~ and this was after the waitress promoted it. And how do you burn the edges of your corned beef and at least not trim it? We saw pecan pie on the dessert board so we ordered that. No whipped cream available to pretty it up and the first bite was inedible. After doing a little taste testing we determined it tasted of the metal of the pie plate. When we complained we found that they purchase their baked goods from the bakery across the street once a week (!) and our pie was a week old!!! NASTY! They did take the pie off the bill but I wish I had never had it in my mouth in the first place. I will never eat here again. I will, instead, recommend that people go to King's New York Pizza. It's everything this place isn't, which I'm glad I found since I was having to come to Shepherdstown every Wednesday evening.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonKeedysville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“BEST in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

This is my absolute favorite restaurant in shepherdstown. The food is delicious and always tastes so fresh. Nothing is really overpriced in my opinion. The atmosphere is very relaxing and laid bad. If weather permits, sit outside and enjoy the town run stream tht runs through the back patio!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doglover11223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just fun, as well as good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The perfect place to hang while reviewing your day, having a meeting, or just eating a good meal. We ate there three times during our weeklong stay in Shepherdstown because we loved the casual atmosphere, the plentiful and delicious meals ( I had salads) and MB, a wonderful staff person. Twice we could eat outside under or near flowering trellises, and in a magical grotto down some stone steps next to the Town Run, a little stream. We missed the open mic, but heard it was great.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank pisces143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique foods”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

had variety of foods that were very healthy and many vegatarian dishes

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank morris-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing