We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely evening”
Review of The Press Room

The Press Room
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My daughter, Maria, owns a small, mostly carry-out, restaurant in Shepherdstown and she is a great fan of The Press Room, its cuisine, and its staff. Last night four friends and family members accompanied Maria there and we had a lovely dinner, great service, and a wonderful evening. Laurie, our waitress, could not have been nicer or more accomodating, the food was excellent, and the atmosphere was warm, friendly, and comfortable. I would highly recommend an evening at The Press Room!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rlia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    88
    22
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Really worth the visit. Nice Italian themed menu. Our waiter was great and made a number of recommendations that were spot on. Don't miss if you are in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank achates7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Came to Shepherdstown for the weekend from the DC area, looking for an escape from the asphalt, but not the food. The Press Room's target demographic based upon menu and prices (DC prices. Food was acceptable. Good atmosphere. Served us at 9 PM, which was nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheyenne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We chose this restaurant for our anniversary dinner while staying in the Shepherdstown area. Based on reviews here, we expected it to be pretty good. It turned out to be excellent in almost every way! We enjoyed fresh foods, well-presented in an attractive atmosphere. Our only complaint is that we had to wait a long time for the entree. The heirloom tomato with mozzarella and basil was delicious, as was the grilled salmon, and the scallops with mushroom risotto. We also chose the dessert of the day, and while it was wonderful, I can't remember what is was called. It involved phyllo pastry, apples and caramel. Yum!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
407 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Press Room was recommended to us by the owners of the B&B where we stayed. We both enjoyed our meals very much. We will return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Press Room also viewed

Shepherdstown, WV
 
Shepherdstown, WV
Shepherdstown, WV
 

Been to The Press Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing