We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable dining!”

Bavarian Inn Dining Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Upscale Restaurant featuring a wide variety of Authentic German Cuisine along with delicious continental specialties including Seafood & Steaks. Casual dining also available with same menu.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Prompt seating and enjoyable atmosphere....and the meal was enjoyable as well. My party included 4 adults and one child. There was something on the menu for everyone. The chef's appetizer was unqiue and tasty. The dining room was a bit chilly for some reason, my wife and daughter were rather cold. Dessert was great....the German Chocolate cake is a must with a cup of coffee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank creed1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments. I'm so glad you and your family found everything enjoyable. I apologize for the chilliness of the room. During these hot summer days, we attempt to keep the room at a refreshing yet comfortable temperature. We will certainly pay attention to this. Thank you again, and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 438 of 675 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have to agree with the previous reviewer who lived in Germany. The food reminded me of my grandmother's cooking - dried-out sauerbraten and potato dumplings that are tasteless and can be used as boat anchors. The Linzer torte was average too. On top of that, the service was slow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank baytravelinduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Location and service was outstanding but the food quality was not on par with my expectations. I had lived in Germany 2 years and really enjoy vintage German food. The sauerbraten and knodel was average at best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear foodmaven92,
I am so sorry that our German cuisine was not to your liking. I have shared you feedback with our Chef and his team. We do hope that you may come back again to try some of the other 25+ entrees that may be more to your taste. Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent setting. You are in Germany. The location is perfect. The cooking is top rate. Authentic and well prepared. It's not phony in the least. True to its roots after all of these years.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so happy that your enjoyed our authentic German atmosphere and cuisine. Our founder is a native of Munich and Chef from the Pfalz area, so we certainly try to uphold true German fare. We hope to welcome you back for many more enjoyable experiences in the future!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our family had a stellar meal in the Rathskeller. The waitress and bartender worked the entire room together very well and we commend them for their great service. The waitress was also very helpful in making substitutions for our picky son. We were all clean platers which is unusual. We cannot wait to return for another meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank streaks27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the Rathskellar dining experience, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Inn Dining Room also viewed

 
Shepherdstown, WV
 
Shepherdstown, WV
Shepherdstown, WV
 

Been to Bavarian Inn Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing