We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised at how good this German restaurant was!”

Bavarian Inn Dining Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Upscale Restaurant featuring a wide variety of Authentic German Cuisine along with delicious continental specialties including Seafood & Steaks. Casual dining also available with same menu.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We were very pleasantly surprised at how good this German restaurant was! The food and beer was excellent! We had the sauerbraten, sweinbraten, and bratwurst, with hefeweizen beer and loved it. The German chocolate cake and apple strudel were excellent too. The service was good, but I was surprised when our waitress didn't know what I meant when I ordered a pils beer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David_J_from_Cville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind remarks. Our founder is a native of Munich and Executive Chef is from the Pfalz region, so we try to bring an authentic German dining experience to our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed it. I am also surprised the server did not understand "pils", but will certainly change that. Thank you for this feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Bavarian Inn Dining Room
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 408 of 640 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you are looking for the best German food this is the place. Chef Wolfgang is amazing his menu
is top shelf and beyond. The atmosphere,the staff, the service it doesn't get any better. A stay at the Inn is the most relaxing comfortable place you could ever stay at and the view is breath taking. Every chance we get we stay at the Inn and we eat at the restaurant every night. The Sunday brunch top shelf AAA+++

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ckane3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for these kind remarks. I will happily pass them on to our hard working staff, especially Chef Wolfgang Vomend. We also are happy you enjoyed the brunch, which continues to grow in popularity. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

While staying at the Bavarian Inn for our 30th anniversary we chose to have dinner at the restuarant. I don't think we could have made a better choice. We had a six pm reservation and arrived a few minutes early. We were seated immediately at a table along the windows with a view towards the river. The view was very nice. The room is nicely decorated for fine dinning. There was a pleasant music softly playing in the background. The service was excellent. The waitress was pleasant, courteous, and attentive. We both selected the beef tips and found the meal to be outstanding. The beef was tender and cooked to perfection for the dish. The flavors included a brown sauce with slices of dill pickles and mushrooms over pasta. I highly recommend this meal and would order it again over and over. We ended our meal with inside out german chocalate cake which was very good. I live about an hour from the Bavarian Inn and after my 1st visit in the future I will drive the hour just to experience dinner there. We can't wait to try the other items on the menu which seemed to invite us for a return visit.
The following morning we again visited the Inn restuarant for breakfast and found the same level of service. We were seated immediately at the same table we occupied for dinner the evening before. The waitress was very accomodating. The food was good and we can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mikeinintegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are thrilled that your dining experience was enjoyable. Thank you for sharing these comments with us and tripadvisor. I will happily pass on your remarks to our dining room staff and the kitchen brigade. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The manager of the B&B we were staying at recommended this fine restaurant and we were very pleased that she did! The atmosphere is perfect and the service without equal. In addition to German food, they offer a wide variety of dishes to thrill any palate. Our waiter was there when we needed him and out of the way when we did not. He was assigned a large group and 2 other tables of 2 as well as us and all seemed to be taken care of professionally. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

When they realized it was our anniversary, desert was "on the house" Nice touch.

If there was a down side it was the lobster bisque. Rather disappointing and the large clump of pate in the middle of it was not appetizing.

Other than that - this place gets 6+ stars

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Greg P,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Bavarian Inn with us and tripadvisor. We are grateful that your B&B recommended us, and very pleased that you enjoyed it. I will certainly look into the lobster bisque as well... thank you for this suggestion. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

the food was prepared to perfection, some just like in Germany. You can't beat the quality anywhere. The meals were large and super, desert was unbelievable. they have both Bavarian and American meals, service is better then any where I've ever been.

Thank dwight b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review. We strive to offer our guests a quality dining experience with professional service, and we are so happy to hear that this is what you encountered. We hope to welcome you back to our Inn soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Inn Dining Room also viewed

 
Shepherdstown, WV
 
Shepherdstown, WV
Shepherdstown, WV
 

Been to Bavarian Inn Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing