We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Diner”
Review of Betty's

Betty's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
DC
Level Contributor
166 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Diner”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just as it should be - a good diner with good service and good food. I over ordered - eqq and hashbrowns (cripy) and bisquits and gravy. The latter could feed an army. All delicious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rbrech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    71
    26
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“normal”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Its an average little diner with a small menu. The staff are very nice and the food is okay but it's lacking a real atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“don't go!!! save your money!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited Shephardstow for the first time and atw lunch at Betty's Restaurant. big mistake!! food was not all that good and they priced gouged us at the register, a $1.89 hotdog costed is over 4.00 at the register!!!!!! ordered a hotdog, cheeseburger, onion rings, coke and water and the bill was over $15.00!!! they charged 3.50 for 4 onion rings!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosiezs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basketfreak, Manager at Betty's, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Sorry you were disappointed. Let me explain that our burgers are all ground chuck, not thin pressed patties you get at fast food restaurants!!! We feel our burgers are well worth it.
Also know that $15.00 is very reasonable for a lunch for two and that you pay the same if not more at a fast food restaurant.
We never serve only 4 onion rings, we serve 8, perhaps you split it with someone?
Again, I apologize for your bad experience, I invite you to come back and ask for the manager and I will be happy to accommodate you at that time!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The place for breakfast!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The breakfast was excellent, plenty to eat and as much coffee that you can drink. it was very busy when we arrived and people were still arriving. Our only complaint was that the service was very slow, but there were busy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cardifftravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
306 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A nice little diner”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

There's no longer a Betty but her name lives on. This is a busy, little main street diner with good down home cooking and service. I had a chicken salad sandwich on wheat - nothing special but it was good. My husband had Salisbury steak with cole slaw and fries. The sides were a bit meager but he liked all of it, especially the steak that had onions and peppers mixed in.

They don't take credit - cash only. So be prepared or use the ATM right in the diner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty's also viewed

 

Been to Betty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing