We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Thai food!”
Review of Kazu

Kazu
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Shepherdstown
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NC, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I had lunch here. Wonderful menu of both Thai food and sushi. Excellent flavors and generous portions.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    42
    7
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spiced just right”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very good, authentic Thai cuizine. Perfectly spiced if you like it with heat and wonderfully flavorful if you don't. Recommend it highly.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank happyclams1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food, marginal ambiance”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The best Thai food out of Thailand or NYC (Pongsri 48 & 8th, NYC) . And they will modify entrees with out additional charges. So if you prefer Mushrooms to Green peppers for example, no problem. But there is one egregious sin of omission. They do not serve the exception Thai Beer
Singha.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColJEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of Shepherdstown's best”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Even though I lived in Shepherdstown for 13 years, I was a late-comer to Kazu, thinking it couldn't measure up to the Thai restaurants I'd tried in the DC Metropolitan area. I was wrong. The spring rolls are light and just right for an appetizer. The Chicken Pad Thai alone will bring me back for more. And though I don't eat sushi, Kazu is now the only place in Shepherdstown that serves it. Since it is both Thai and Japanese, this restaurant also offers a delicious vegetable tempura. The service can be spotty, depending on the time of day you go, and the decor isn't fancy, but the chef is dependable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestVirginiaNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Time to try another place”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Kazu posts a midweek closing time of 9 PM. We arrived at 8:50. The waiter went back to the kitchen and held a conference. He emerged to tell us that they "really mean we close at ten minutes to nine."

Luckily, an quick walk brought us to the Yellow Brick Bank at 8:58 PM. They also have a 9:00 PM close. They seated us with a smile.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmerrick827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazu also viewed

 
Shepherdstown, WV
 

Been to Kazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing