We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegetarian dining at it's mellowest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mellow Moods Cafe and Juice Bar

Mellow Moods Cafe and Juice Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vegetarian dining at it's mellowest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I made our day trip to Shepherdstown, WV, home of Shepherd University, to do some shopping and grab lunch. We stumbled upon Mellow Moods by accident. It is on the main street and shares space with Jala Yoga studio. The staff was friendly and the food was awesome. They cook right there so you can see and smell everything. They have both indoor and outdoor seating and a wide range of vegetarian fare sure to suit any palate. There were children through seniors enjoying lunch.

Well worth a trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wes s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    20
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Vegetarian paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting Shepherdstown a few times a year for ages, and as vegetarians we have had slim pickings. The highly overrated and overpriced Yellow Brick Bank and the pedestrian China Kitchen have been our go-to restaurants when we're there, and the veg options are pretty predictable and limited. So you can imagine our delight at discovering Mellow Moods! The entire menu features fresh, flavorful, imaginative selections that would not be out of place in a white tablecloth restaurant, although this is a funky, rustic, spot where you order at the counter. We enjoyed our dinner so much that we returned for breakfast the next morning. Although we didn't have any of the fresh juices, we heard from other diners that they were superb. Simple, pleasant vibe and friendly staff complete the picture of this up-and coming restaurant.

Make no mistake, this restaurant heralds a major shift in the ecology of Shepherdstown culinary life. We'll be back often!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BetsyPlatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Super little cafe with lovely back yard & porch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great selection of fresh juices, good, fresh food - lots of vegetarian / vegan options too. Cozy little place full of locals. Sweet backyard and little porch area, also more inside seating in back of restaurant. Comfortable, good service, decent prices, good food. EXCELLENT selection of fresh fruit/veggie juices - about every combo you could possibly imagine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Somerset
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Felt very relaxed and comfortable here, drinks were so varied and all I tried were delicious. Usually go for small size but not here! Cakes, cookies and omelettes all very tasty. Also good for yoga classes and wifi

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophie040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and daughters love this place. We visit Shepherdstown at least once per year and this is the first stop they make. I've never heard them say a discouraging remark about it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank creed1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Moods Cafe and Juice Bar also viewed

 
Shepherdstown, WV
 
Shepherdstown, WV
Shepherdstown, WV
 

Been to Mellow Moods Cafe and Juice Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing