We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Shepherdstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
kingston, ny
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our room (#311) was clean enough but suffered from maintenance issues. The seam of the wallpaper next to the bed had been "repaired" with scotch tape, the bed spreads were badly worn and the curtains had holes in the linings. The included breakfast was very nice and the staff were all friendly and courteous. The location of the hotel was very convenient to a couple of restaurants and a grocery store. Even given the reasonable rate we would have to consider whether or not we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingstonqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your business and your valuable feedback. I will gladly look into the items to which you mentioned.

Our entire hotel staff takes great pride in its customer service and attention to details. Our staff and myself will look forward to your next visit Shepherdstown, WV and the Comfort Inn Hotel.

Safe travlels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    33
    12
    4
See reviews for
26
44
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terry
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The location was perfect for our family reunion in Harper's Ferry. The staff is friendly. Grocery and drug store across the street, if needed, and a Dairy Queen. My only real complaint is the breakfast area, which is too small and cramped to handle the morning crush. It has two 2-man tables and two 4-man. Only one of these is wheelchair accessible, which I needed. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide online feedback. Feedback from our guests is very important to our staff and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay to all of our hotel guests.

Our entire staff is happy to hear of your pleasant stay!

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future at the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown, WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stay in this Comfort Inn while attending the Contemporary Arts Theatre Festival. Prices are fair and location excellent. But I agree about the smoke smell--last year I had to change rooms because the smell was overpowering. This year, I just put up with it since we were not in the hotel very long. Rooms are reasonably clean, but please remove the bedspreads--I didn't want to touch it. And the blanket on the bed was also questionable. Not covered by a top sheet. My friends were not bothered by this, but I was.
Desk clerk was very confused about our reservation and it took her quite some time to get it straight. And when we departed we each had different charges for our rooms--off by a dollar or so and not worth complaining about. But perplexing.
Staff seems to have been there along time and were friendly. Breakfast area sorely needs to be enlarged. I am not a fan of mystery waffle mix or other prepackaged food, but I was able to find cereal and milk. Suggestion--leave the hard boiled eggs in their shells.
Free wi-fi is always nice and it worked very well for me. Small exercise area that I didn't use but others were using it. Ample parking and great location--nearby supermarkets and drugstore were welcome.
I plan to return next summer for the CATF, but please do something about the smoke and the old blankets and bedspreads!

Room Tip: Choose the second floor. Room 213 was okay, except for the smoke smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maril511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your business and for taking the time to remark on your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Andrew Lowe
General Manager
Comfort Inn - Shepherdstown, WV
304.876.3160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We rode our bikes in from the C&O trail. We had a great stay. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and we had a good breakfast before we set out the next day. Although the hotel is not right off the trail, there are sidewalks and bike lanes all the way there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PIAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Thank you for your business. On behalf of our staff, we all look forward to your next visit to the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown, WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed two nights. The room was not cleaned, towels not replaced. Even some debris on the floor in the hallway was not picked up during our stay. In spite of the air conditioning our room was clammy; some quick-dry underwear did not dry in two days.

Breakfast is fairly lame. When the container of milk for cereal ran down the staff had to go to the store to get more milk. The breakfast room is small and has a loud, intrusive TV playing.

On the plus side, a supermarket and drug store were within a few yards of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0dell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Andrew Lowe
General Manager
Comfort Inn - Shepherdstown, WV
304.876.3160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shepherdstown hotels

Little Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A great value, a very clean, comfortable stay. Quiet, nice staff. Quaint little town and the staff gave helpful advice on restaurants. We came in late but still were able to find our way there and find options for supper. The breakfast was very good, too. I highly recommend this if you're not looking for high-end luxury but just a nice, decent middle-class room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeikeJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and your input helps with our staff's continuing efforts to provide excellent accommodations to all of our guests.

We appreciate your positive comments and are happy to hear that you emjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our entire staff works diligently to ensure that all of our guests have a superior experience while staying at the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown, WV.

Thank you so much for your business, and we look forward to seeing you agai in the future. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta n
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here on trip to Antietem battlefield and wanted to stay near a downtown. Motel was clean and our room did not smell as others had said. We are fussy about where we stay and I would not hesitate to stay here again. We had to drive to downtown but it was a 5 minute trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at our hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to all of our staff and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

We are pleased to hear that our hotel accommodations met your expectations and that you would recommend our hotel to others. It is kind remarks like these that keep our entire staff striving for excellence.

Thank you so much for your business, and we look forward to seeing you again at the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown, WV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
8.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
8.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#2 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Shepherdstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Shepherdstown

Property: Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Address: 70 Maddex Square Dr, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443-4321 (Formerly Comfort Inn Shepherdstown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Shepherdstown 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn Shepherdstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown Hotel Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing