We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stayed here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here on trip to Antietem battlefield and wanted to stay near a downtown. Motel was clean and our room did not smell as others had said. We are fussy about where we stay and I would not hesitate to stay here again. We had to drive to downtown but it was a 5 minute trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at our hotel. Feedback from our guests is very important to all of our staff and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

We are pleased to hear that our hotel accommodations met your expectations and that you would recommend our hotel to others. It is kind remarks like these that keep our entire staff striving for excellence.

Thank you so much for your business, and we look forward to seeing you again at the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown, WV.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 144 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an excellent choice if you're staying in the area. There are not many hotels in Shepherdstown. It's not a 5 star hotel but the service and price exceeds all expectations. The staff there was very friendly and accommodating. There is a grocery store, a pharmacy, a few restaurants and a McDonald's in the plaza near by. As a single traveler, traveling by myself, I felt very safe. The breakfast buffet was very good, with fresh fruit, waffles, cereal, danish and muffins. This hotel is just a short drive to Harper's Ferry and other historical sites in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandqueenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

Our hotel staff takes great pride in their customer service and attention to details. Your comments will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we continuously strive to maintain our high levels of quality while providing an exceptional experiences for all of our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This location was convenient for a trip to Sharpsburg MD for the Memorial Saturday parade and to Antietam Battlefield. The young man who checked us in was super nice and very helpful. The wi-fi was a little spotty in the room the evening we were there. Breakfast was good, although the eating area is very small. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback provides all of our staff with valuable information so that staff can continue their high level of customer satisfaction and attention to detail.

On behalf of our staff, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and would welcome staying with us again. Regrets on any minor inconveniences experienced as we are happy to look into these matters and have them properly addressed.

Thanks very much for your business. We look forward to your next visit to the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown, WV.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The grounds were nice, the motel very clean and attractive. The staff was awesome.
I read other reviews here and sadly agree about the odors in the place. Our room stank, oh, did it stink, of mustiness and old smoke. Staff was especially nice about it, offered to change room (we declined) and had a "deep cleaning" done while we were out. It did not help, but only added a floral smell to the mustiness.
I emphasize though, they did their best to fix the problem and we declined further help.
Broken cover on AC made it impossible to direct the air flow. It shot at the bed at all times. As soon as the AC came on, the cover would fall off again. It did not appear to be the same AC unit that is pictured in one of the reviews as the break is different.

Room Tip: I think our room # was 109. First floor on the left side as you walk in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is extremely important to us, and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements where needed. Your feedback/concerns have been communicated to our maintenance and housekeeping departments.

We apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort experienced on your part as our guest. We value your feedback and thank you for your business at our hotel. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have the opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Despite the facade, this Comfort Inn is probably one of the older properties in the chain judging by the rooms and their technologies. Still, for cyclists it is safely accessed and not too far from the charms of Shepherdstown's main street, West German Street. This CI is next to a car wash, grocery store, laundromat, and pizza shop, again, all of use to cyclists on long journeys. Other cyclists seen on the visit also seemed to be making use of these amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HistorianOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to all of our staff as it provides insight into your experience at our hotel property.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the modern conveniences that our hotel location has to offer. These conveniences along with our staff's customer service, hospitality, and attention to detail enable our hotel to offer all of our guests an exceptional experience.

We thank you for staying at the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown, WV and look forward to you return visit. Safe travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were in the area to visit Harpers Ferry primarily, and also to ride our road bicycles. The hotels in Harpers Ferry were full so we opted for this one. The 11 mile drive from the Harpers Ferry Visitors Center is pretty, and Shepherdstown is quaint and lovely. The hotel kindly allowed us a late checkout so we were able to ride 30 miles, take a quick shower, and then head to Harpers Ferry for the afternoon. Very friendly service and it was handy having a grocery and pharmacy close by. There were lots of bicycles in the parking lot, probably because the 187 mile C&O Canal is just across the river from the hotel. We also chatted with a couple birdwatchers who were headed to the C&O. Great base for these activities or just for driving around the countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we continuously strive to improve the quality of our services while providing an exceptional experience for each and all of our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at our hotel! Our entire staff looks forward to your next visit to the Comfort Inn Hotel of Shepherdstown, WV!
Best Regards,

Andrew Lowe
General Manager
Comfort Inn - Shepherdstown, WV
304.876.3160

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

As others have mentioned, some rooms do reek of smoke. The smoking rooms are in the left wing of the hotel, on the upper floors. (Why on earth do they allow it anyway in this day?) Ask for a room in the right wing as far away as possible from those rooms and you should be okay. We found the second floor (go figure) to be better than the first.

As for the hotel itself, staff could not have been nicer. The rooms are tiny, which is puzzling considering the amount of land available. Still, everything was clean, I did remove the awful green bedspread which may have seen all kinds of shenanigans. The housekeeper thankfully never put it back on.

Very welcoming to pets and a nice, grassy relief area.

Breakfast is de rigueur for these stops and that was fine. Free coffee is always nice.

As we are looking to buy a home in the area, we will be back. (Just hope they dump that green bedspread. Shiver... :)

Room Tip: Read the above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Impattyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I am unhappy to hear that your accommodations were not up to your satisfaction. Please feel free to contact me directly so that we can discuss the matter.

Thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We welcome the opportunity to improve your impression of our facilities and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Shepherdstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
846 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
8.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
105 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Shepherdstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Shepherdstown

Address: 70 Maddex Square Dr, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443-4321 (Formerly Comfort Inn Shepherdstown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range: $73 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Shepherdstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn Shepherdstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown Hotel Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing