We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's true about the room smell...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The grounds were nice, the motel very clean and attractive. The staff was awesome.
I read other reviews here and sadly agree about the odors in the place. Our room stank, oh, did it stink, of mustiness and old smoke. Staff was especially nice about it, offered to change room (we declined) and had a "deep cleaning" done while we were out. It did not help, but only added a floral smell to the mustiness.
I emphasize though, they did their best to fix the problem and we declined further help.
Broken cover on AC made it impossible to direct the air flow. It shot at the bed at all times. As soon as the AC came on, the cover would fall off again. It did not appear to be the same AC unit that is pictured in one of the reviews as the break is different.

Room Tip: I think our room # was 109. First floor on the left side as you walk in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is extremely important to us, and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements where needed. Your feedback/concerns have been communicated to our maintenance and housekeeping departments.

We apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort experienced on your part as our guest. We value your feedback and thank you for your business at our hotel. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have the opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 145 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Despite the facade, this Comfort Inn is probably one of the older properties in the chain judging by the rooms and their technologies. Still, for cyclists it is safely accessed and not too far from the charms of Shepherdstown's main street, West German Street. This CI is next to a car wash, grocery store, laundromat, and pizza shop, again, all of use to cyclists on long journeys. Other cyclists seen on the visit also seemed to be making use of these amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HistorianOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to all of our staff as it provides insight into your experience at our hotel property.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the modern conveniences that our hotel location has to offer. These conveniences along with our staff's customer service, hospitality, and attention to detail enable our hotel to offer all of our guests an exceptional experience.

We thank you for staying at the Comfort Inn of Shepherdstown, WV and look forward to you return visit. Safe travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were in the area to visit Harpers Ferry primarily, and also to ride our road bicycles. The hotels in Harpers Ferry were full so we opted for this one. The 11 mile drive from the Harpers Ferry Visitors Center is pretty, and Shepherdstown is quaint and lovely. The hotel kindly allowed us a late checkout so we were able to ride 30 miles, take a quick shower, and then head to Harpers Ferry for the afternoon. Very friendly service and it was handy having a grocery and pharmacy close by. There were lots of bicycles in the parking lot, probably because the 187 mile C&O Canal is just across the river from the hotel. We also chatted with a couple birdwatchers who were headed to the C&O. Great base for these activities or just for driving around the countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we continuously strive to improve the quality of our services while providing an exceptional experience for each and all of our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at our hotel! Our entire staff looks forward to your next visit to the Comfort Inn Hotel of Shepherdstown, WV!
Best Regards,

Andrew Lowe
General Manager
Comfort Inn - Shepherdstown, WV
304.876.3160

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

As others have mentioned, some rooms do reek of smoke. The smoking rooms are in the left wing of the hotel, on the upper floors. (Why on earth do they allow it anyway in this day?) Ask for a room in the right wing as far away as possible from those rooms and you should be okay. We found the second floor (go figure) to be better than the first.

As for the hotel itself, staff could not have been nicer. The rooms are tiny, which is puzzling considering the amount of land available. Still, everything was clean, I did remove the awful green bedspread which may have seen all kinds of shenanigans. The housekeeper thankfully never put it back on.

Very welcoming to pets and a nice, grassy relief area.

Breakfast is de rigueur for these stops and that was fine. Free coffee is always nice.

As we are looking to buy a home in the area, we will be back. (Just hope they dump that green bedspread. Shiver... :)

Room Tip: Read the above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Impattyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I am unhappy to hear that your accommodations were not up to your satisfaction. Please feel free to contact me directly so that we can discuss the matter.

Thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We welcome the opportunity to improve your impression of our facilities and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Shepherdstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at this property for one night while my daughter was visiting some friends at nearby Shepherd University. There is a lack of hotel choices in the immediate area within Shepherdstown and we actually have stayed at the Clarion Hotel which is just a few minutes away. But we decided to stay at the Comfort Inn instead and we were pleasantly surprised. It's close to everything and a great value. Guest rooms were large and very clean. The staff were extremely pleasant. The free hot breakfast was very nice as well, with a good assortment of hot and cold items to eat. All in all a very nice hotel and a good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marygran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your comments. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I am currently staying at this property. I was here for work for 60 days, went home for two weeks
during the holidays and am back again. This is an older property but is clean and comfortable. The beds are decent and the place is quiet. I dont sleep really well in ANY motel but this is as good as it gets for me. There is a small fitness room with treadmill, cross trainer, and three different types of cycling machines. They do have a continental breakfast but I cant comment on that as I am up and gone for work before it opens at 6 AM. All the staff members I have met, from the manager on down have been extremely friendly and helpful. They also will work with your company to provide a very nice long term corporate rate. I am comfortable, room is clean, water pressure is excellent. A small kitchen would be nice but have fridge and microwave. I also have free internet and the rooms are large.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Steve A,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Our staff takes great pride in offering all of our guests exceptional service and wonderful experience.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel was perfectly fine, with the exception of the smoke smell (VERY STRONG) mentioned by others. It was a short drive to a very quaint downtown. The grocery store and drugstore were a stone's throw away, which was convenient, and the rates were reasonable. Pets are allowed (I met a couple in the elevator :), the breakfast is better than many continental breakfasts, the gym was functional, and the room was comfortable. Wish there were more options in Shepherdstown, and would have stayed at the Bavarian Inn if it had been available.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vabeachgrl_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
856 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
279 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Shepherdstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Shepherdstown

Address: 70 Maddex Square Dr, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443-4321 (Formerly Comfort Inn Shepherdstown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range: $85 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Shepherdstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Shepherdstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown Hotel Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing