We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very accommodating - good base for cycling & Harpers Ferry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Shepherdstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very accommodating - good base for cycling & Harpers Ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were in the area to visit Harpers Ferry primarily, and also to ride our road bicycles. The hotels in Harpers Ferry were full so we opted for this one. The 11 mile drive from the Harpers Ferry Visitors Center is pretty, and Shepherdstown is quaint and lovely. The hotel kindly allowed us a late checkout so we were able to ride 30 miles, take a quick shower, and then head to Harpers Ferry for the afternoon. Very friendly service and it was handy having a grocery and pharmacy close by. There were lots of bicycles in the parking lot, probably because the 187 mile C&O Canal is just across the river from the hotel. We also chatted with a couple birdwatchers who were headed to the C&O. Great base for these activities or just for driving around the countryside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we continuously strive to improve the quality of our services while providing an exceptional experience for each and all of our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at our hotel! Our entire staff looks forward to your next visit to the Comfort Inn Hotel of Shepherdstown, WV!
Best Regards,

Andrew Lowe
General Manager
Comfort Inn - Shepherdstown, WV
304.876.3160
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    33
    12
    4
See reviews for
26
44
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

As others have mentioned, some rooms do reek of smoke. The smoking rooms are in the left wing of the hotel, on the upper floors. (Why on earth do they allow it anyway in this day?) Ask for a room in the right wing as far away as possible from those rooms and you should be okay. We found the second floor (go figure) to be better than the first.

As for the hotel itself, staff could not have been nicer. The rooms are tiny, which is puzzling considering the amount of land available. Still, everything was clean, I did remove the awful green bedspread which may have seen all kinds of shenanigans. The housekeeper thankfully never put it back on.

Very welcoming to pets and a nice, grassy relief area.

Breakfast is de rigueur for these stops and that was fine. Free coffee is always nice.

As we are looking to buy a home in the area, we will be back. (Just hope they dump that green bedspread. Shiver... :)

Room Tip: Read the above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Impattyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I am unhappy to hear that your accommodations were not up to your satisfaction. Please feel free to contact me directly so that we can discuss the matter.

Thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We welcome the opportunity to improve your impression of our facilities and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Shepherdstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at this property for one night while my daughter was visiting some friends at nearby Shepherd University. There is a lack of hotel choices in the immediate area within Shepherdstown and we actually have stayed at the Clarion Hotel which is just a few minutes away. But we decided to stay at the Comfort Inn instead and we were pleasantly surprised. It's close to everything and a great value. Guest rooms were large and very clean. The staff were extremely pleasant. The free hot breakfast was very nice as well, with a good assortment of hot and cold items to eat. All in all a very nice hotel and a good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marygran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your comments. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I am currently staying at this property. I was here for work for 60 days, went home for two weeks
during the holidays and am back again. This is an older property but is clean and comfortable. The beds are decent and the place is quiet. I dont sleep really well in ANY motel but this is as good as it gets for me. There is a small fitness room with treadmill, cross trainer, and three different types of cycling machines. They do have a continental breakfast but I cant comment on that as I am up and gone for work before it opens at 6 AM. All the staff members I have met, from the manager on down have been extremely friendly and helpful. They also will work with your company to provide a very nice long term corporate rate. I am comfortable, room is clean, water pressure is excellent. A small kitchen would be nice but have fridge and microwave. I also have free internet and the rooms are large.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Steve A,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Our staff takes great pride in offering all of our guests exceptional service and wonderful experience.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel was perfectly fine, with the exception of the smoke smell (VERY STRONG) mentioned by others. It was a short drive to a very quaint downtown. The grocery store and drugstore were a stone's throw away, which was convenient, and the rates were reasonable. Pets are allowed (I met a couple in the elevator :), the breakfast is better than many continental breakfasts, the gym was functional, and the room was comfortable. Wish there were more options in Shepherdstown, and would have stayed at the Bavarian Inn if it had been available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vabeachgrl_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdstownComfort, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I booked a room on a non-smoking floor, as I am highly allergic to smoke. The hallway, and the room itself, stunk of cigarette smoke, making for a miserable night trying to breathe. I was told that there were no other "non-smoking" rooms/floors available. I see from TripAdvisor posts that I am not the first to complain.

Avoid this hotel unless you are an avid smoker.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmavensny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I was unhappy to hear that your accommodations were not up to par. What you experienced is unacceptable and I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss it with you personally. We would honor the opportunity to improve your impression of our facilities. Please let us know if your travel plans find you back in our town as we appreciate the chance to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shepherdstown hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I had spent a lot of time looking for a place to stay for one night on a Saturday night that would accommodate my parents, niece and I near to Antietam. Most other places require a 2 night stay at the weekend and we did not want that. I opted for 2 rooms at the Comfort Inn, Shepherdstown which were great value. The rooms were spacious and adjoining which was very convenient. The hotel usefully provided information on restaurants in Shepherdstown and we had a great evening in the lovely town only a short drive away. We very much enjoyed our stay, and a mix up with the room charge was quickly and pleasantly resolved by the Manager. I would recommend this hotel for a stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon M, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Judith R,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Antietam! Antietam is such a wonderful park and we are very lucky to be so close to it. The entire area around us is so rich in history and we love being a part of that community. I also want to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our downtown. It is such a unique little historic town with great shops, restaurants, and night-life. I hope that you get to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
8.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
8.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#2 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Shepherdstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Shepherdstown

Property: Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Address: 70 Maddex Square Dr, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443-4321 (Formerly Comfort Inn Shepherdstown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Shepherdstown 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn Shepherdstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown Hotel Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing