We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Miss This!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maria's Taqueria

Maria's Taqueria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a small taco shop in Shepherdstown, WV specializing in quick, fresh, and inexpensive Mex/SoCal influenced food! Come try us out and let us know what you think!
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

While staying in Shepherdstown , W. VA. my wife and I were strolling the main street in town at lunchtime when we opted to grab a bite to eat. We had read on a travel brochure of a small lil restaurant named Marias that served up some wonderful dishes. So we were walking and walked past the place - but the wonderful smell in the air brought us back. The menu at Maria's Tacquiera has got something for everyone who likes cuisine with a lil spice and pizazz. We ordered taco platters and were not disappointed. The tacos were loaded and the veggies fresh and crisp. A great value! We sat on stools in the corner and wolfed down these tasty treats. Highly recommend - and all the other folks flying through the doors while we were there are in agreement...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VacBruen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    29
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just to let you know for starters, there is only 1 regular table with 2 chairs, and 3 bar stools at a counter inside. If there is no one else in there eating, you can sit inside. Otherwise, it's better to take out.
With that being said, this food is super good and reasonably priced! It's fresh and Maria is so nice. She will fix it any way you want. It's really good for us college kids who are trying to find something good on a budget. If you are a Shepherd student, they don't take Rambler cards.
She does take credit/debit cards but it has to be a minimum of $5 purchase.
My first time in there, she was so nice and helpful to me and it wasn't busy so we chatted.
I don't have enough wonderful things to say about this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

After reading the glowing reviews we knew that we had to try Maria's, and we were not disappointed. We had the Hokie Bowls and it was plentiful as well as delicious better then a major chain which we frequent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Maudeydaudey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepherdstown wv
Level Contributor
232 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“So much for so little”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Love the fresh and saucy tacos from Maria's, the taco salad and nachos are fresh and tasty, made to order. The burrito is big enough to feed a crowd.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shetown12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tiny spot big on flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We got to Shepherdstown late on a Monday and at 7:30 p.m. this was the only restaurant open. And what a find. Very small place with only one table inside, a few stools inside and an outside table. Most people come for takeout. It may be small but the food is very good. Nicely seasoned with fresh ingredients. You can create your own meals with flavors you like. Staff was very helpful and fast. We loved the ground beef tacos, fresh chips, though the salsa wasnt that inspiring, and wonderful burritos. A real find. And very inexpensive. Lots of vegetarian and vegan options if that is how you roll.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Olinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Taqueria also viewed

 
Shepherdstown, WV
Shepherdstown, WV
 

Been to Maria's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing