We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maintenance Issues= Major Disappointment”
Review of Bavarian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bavarian Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Lawn
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Maintenance Issues= Major Disappointment”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and i spent two days at the Bavarian Inn on December 24th and December 25th. We had heard about the inn from friends and we had seen a segment about the hotel on TV- what a disappointment!!

When we checked into our room overlooking the river, a host of maintenance issues awaited us. The smoke detector was beeping continually; there were three bulbs out in lamps and overhead lights. The doorknob on the front door did not work properly. There were three stinkbugs on the ceiling and a centipede near the door. Curtis, the maintenance man, was very personable and fixed the various problems. As a lark, we tried the TV to see if it worked- no reception despite his changing the cables. He suggested a room change and Colin, the manager on site, agreed to upgrade us to a luxury room with jacuzzi bath. He even helped us move our bags and belongings.

We appreciated the new room and didn't complain about the fact that there were four stinkbugs on the curtains. (I understand this is an ongoing concern in the area.) After a couple of hours we again noticed light bulbs out in the room and a toilet that ran continually unless you jigggled the handle several times. We simply resigned ourselves to the fact that things weren't going to get much better.

We did enjoy eating in the restaurant on Christmas Eve as snow fell in an idyllic setting.

However, someone needs to pay attention to the maintenace of the rooms- why didn't the workers who cleaned the room notice the problems? I really cannot recommend the Bavarian Inn due to the unsatisfactory conditon of the rooms. You are forewarned!

Room Tip: Check out the condition of the room before settling in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrincipalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Dr. Howard Schechter,
Thank you for again sharing your comments with us, and trip advisor. Once again, we are greatly sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay. We are glad you at least enjoyed your meal, and the complimentary room upgrade. We have already fixed the areas mentioned, immediately after you brought them to our attention during your visit. Once again, I am sorry for your dissappointment, and hope that you will find the opportunity to revisit us in the future and enjoy the same postive experiences our other guests have. Wishing you a HappY Holidays, and a enjoyable 2013.
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    208
    110
    35
    25
See reviews for
106
523
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakfield, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Overall this is a great place to stay - my wife and I were in the area on business and chose Shepherdstown to stay overnight. It's a neat town, worth the visit. We stayed in a river view room, and the view was worth the extra fee. The decor is dated, but that didn't bother us much. Our lone complaint was the heater noise - it was so bad that when it kicked on it was waking us up. Not sure if they are all like this - we stayed in room 30 - you may not want this room if that doesn't get fixed! Also, we ate at the Press Room downtown - it was great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us during your trip to Shepherdstown. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for letting us know about the heater so we can get that fixed right away. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Happy Holidays
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

What a treat! It is like going to Bavaria and not having to use your passport. My wife and I went there for her birthday and had the treat of staying in the Royal Suite. What a fantastic room! Fireplace, hot tub, sitting room, wet bar, it was truly a royal experience.

The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was outstanding. I had the fortunate opportunity to taste their wild boar goulash as part of their Wild Game festival. OUTSTANDING.

You will not regret going to this delightful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the Royal Suite if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCreasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are thrilled you enjoyed the suite and your dining experience. I will certainly pass on your nice comments to our hard working staff. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

So disappointing. To start with, the Inn needs a face lift and the restaurant needs a new chef. Several of us stayed at the Inn for the weekend. All three rooms in our party were worn and outdated. They needed new paint, rust was present, they just looked neglected and unkept. Our one set of friends had continuous plumbing problems throughout the weekend which was never taken care of. Upon checkout the management tried to overcharge relenting begrudgingly after they realized they had made the error. As to the restaurant where we had Sunday brunch, I have to say it was one of the worst brunches I had ever experienced. The menus has fish on the menu which is basically paper thin quarter size pieces of fish (maybe a hundred of those would form a real piece of fish) and all kind of fish appetizers, not one real piece of fish anything. Both the meat cutting station and omelet stations were vacant (no one there to serve it), and several of the hot plates were empty. MInd you this was about noon when we were there. Also the food just tasted bad. I had this one supposedly meat roll that smelled and tasted like dog food, I kid you not. The red cabbage tasted rank and bitter as did the mushrooms and several other dishes. The mozzarella cheese was tasteless like the eggs and hash browns which were cold like they just threw frozen them on the hot plate, the maple syrup was watery, the desserts were so small it was a joke, the vegetable in one vegetable dish tasted bitter, the list goes on and on. I really had to wonder what they did to the food to make it taste so bad. Fast food is better than this. On top of that the service was bad. Our party had to hunt down our waitress for everything, and they forgot to bring several of the drinks to our table while bringing others not ordered. There was also a marked lack of attention to the customers. I really wondered where all these positive reviews came from as in our estimation the entire Bavarian Inn was highly overrated. As to any comparison with the real Bavaria, all I can say is that it suffers in the translation. The only reason I didn't give this place just one star instead of two is because the actual spot of the hotel is very nice and the ambience in the restaurant was decent, but everything else was well below standard for this type of facility. All in all a disappointment and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank catilain14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your criticisms. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. I have shared your comments with all of our staff. Everyone including myself, are very surprised to hear of your disappointment, especially in our brunch. We served over 200 people last Sunday, and heard rave reviews from most guests. We offer about 100 different items on the buffet, and purposefully keep them bite size, so our guests are able to sample a greater variety. I am sorry that things were not to your liking though. It was exceptionally busy, being brunch with Santa, but even as you mentioned most people love the brunch. I again am sorry that the Bavarian Inn, and our very popular brunch, is not for you. We'd love the opportunity to change this last impression you created of our Inn, but understand that your mind is made up. Wishing you a happy holidays,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
317 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

If it has retained its four diamond rating, AAA needs to visit again. Given its location, prices seem a little silly. Room was spacious but a little rust here, & a little chipping paint there did little to impress. Liked the gas fireplace but you would think they could figure out how to better seal the door to the small balcony to keep the stink bugs (8 found) out of the room. My wife was not happy. Also as the whirlpool tub was filling with water she noticed dirt and hair sufficient to change her mind and take a shower. Speaking of water, the hot water became hot faster than any place I can recall. But it's hard water, and if they claim they have a water softener, it isn't functioning properly. Bed was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CWnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We will absolutely look into the areas noted, and fix them right away. I apologize for the impression this left you with. We are continously upgrading and improving upon our property, and hope you will take the time to experiences all of these new improvements in the future.
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent a night at the Bavarian Inn in conjunction with the annual memorial Illumination at Antietam Battlefield. We had dined at the inn before and had a great meal then. The hotel portion of the in is very nice. reminding us of comparable small hotels in Europe. The river-view room in one of the three chalets was very large with two queen beds, nicely appointed bathroom with separate vanity outside, and had a wonderful view of the Potomac River. The meds were stupendous, by far the most comfortable we've experienced, with thick pillow-top mattresses and comfy duvets. The room had a small fridge and coffee-making equipment. We had dinner in the elegant restaurant (another review) and breakfast the next morning. The breakfast menu was very good and reasonably priced, and included European menu items such as cheese and meat plate. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_in_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much for joining us for the annual Antietam luminaries. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in offerring a feeling of Europe, in our little town of Shepherdstown. WE hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here 12/2/2012. We were pleasantly surprised to receive a free upgrade to one of the Luxury Style River View rooms. The room was very spacious, with a king bed, gas fireplace and jacuzzi. The view from the balcony was beautiful.

Later that evening we walked to the Rathskeller for dinner (we wanted to watch the football game as we ate so we preferred that to the dining room). The meal and service were top notch - a wide variety of wild game on the menu.

Will definitely stay again; can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GREGORY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope we get to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
8.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
9.2 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
0.4 mi away
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Thomas Shepherd Inn
#1 of 2 in Shepherdstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn

Property: Bavarian Inn
Address: 164 Shepherd Grade Rd, Shepherdstown, WV 25443-4601
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavarian Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff overlooking the Potomac River in Historic Shepherdstown West Virginia on 11 acres. The Bavarian Inn is a AAA Four Diamond Award Winning Dining Room and Hotel Accommodations. Most rooms have breathtaking river views from private balconies, whirlpool baths, and gas fireplaces. Fine German and Continental Cuisine. Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence". Casual Dining and Cocktails in the Rathskellar or on the outdoor garden patio. Walking distance to downtown Shepherdstown and great shopping. Golf Packages available with neighboring and private Cress Creek Country Club. Open 365 days per year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Bavarian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Shepherdstown
Bavarian Inn Shepherdstown
Bavarian Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing