We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always wanted to stay here but starting to show its age”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bavarian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bavarian Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
317 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Always wanted to stay here but starting to show its age”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

If it has retained its four diamond rating, AAA needs to visit again. Given its location, prices seem a little silly. Room was spacious but a little rust here, & a little chipping paint there did little to impress. Liked the gas fireplace but you would think they could figure out how to better seal the door to the small balcony to keep the stink bugs (8 found) out of the room. My wife was not happy. Also as the whirlpool tub was filling with water she noticed dirt and hair sufficient to change her mind and take a shower. Speaking of water, the hot water became hot faster than any place I can recall. But it's hard water, and if they claim they have a water softener, it isn't functioning properly. Bed was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CWnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We will absolutely look into the areas noted, and fix them right away. I apologize for the impression this left you with. We are continously upgrading and improving upon our property, and hope you will take the time to experiences all of these new improvements in the future.
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    206
    110
    35
    25
See reviews for
105
515
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent a night at the Bavarian Inn in conjunction with the annual memorial Illumination at Antietam Battlefield. We had dined at the inn before and had a great meal then. The hotel portion of the in is very nice. reminding us of comparable small hotels in Europe. The river-view room in one of the three chalets was very large with two queen beds, nicely appointed bathroom with separate vanity outside, and had a wonderful view of the Potomac River. The meds were stupendous, by far the most comfortable we've experienced, with thick pillow-top mattresses and comfy duvets. The room had a small fridge and coffee-making equipment. We had dinner in the elegant restaurant (another review) and breakfast the next morning. The breakfast menu was very good and reasonably priced, and included European menu items such as cheese and meat plate. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_in_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much for joining us for the annual Antietam luminaries. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in offerring a feeling of Europe, in our little town of Shepherdstown. WE hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here 12/2/2012. We were pleasantly surprised to receive a free upgrade to one of the Luxury Style River View rooms. The room was very spacious, with a king bed, gas fireplace and jacuzzi. The view from the balcony was beautiful.

Later that evening we walked to the Rathskeller for dinner (we wanted to watch the football game as we ate so we preferred that to the dining room). The meal and service were top notch - a wide variety of wild game on the menu.

Will definitely stay again; can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GREGORY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope we get to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent Thanksgiving 2012 with 9 members of my family at the Bavarian Inn and have only positive things to say. The customer service was outstanding. Rooms were clean and everyone very helpful and friendly. Views are breathtaking from the verandahs. We had an incident where our dog was injured and they willingly made an exception to let the dog stay with us. Quality all the way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are so happy you enjoyed the Holiday with us and your family. We wish your dog a speedy recovery, and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Quite possibly the best of Bavarian this side of Bavaria. From our first impression at the check-in desk where we were greeted with warmth and courtesy to the final touches of our holiday dinner the next day our too brief visit exceeded our wishful expectations. Our room was a delight with creature comforts and a balcony that looked across the center of the grounds to the mansion that houses the rathskeller and dining rooms. We tried both, the first for an evening meal and the latter for breakfast and Thanksgiving dinner. The menus reflect the continental intentions and the food was excellent. There is an attention to detail at this place that defines the work of management professionals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Jerome N.,
Thank you for your kind remarks, and thank you for spending you holiday with us. I will certainly pass on your comments to our hard working staff! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our family decided to do things differently this year. I didn't want to have to plan the big meal so we decided we would take our college-aged sons away for the beginning of the weekend. We would have them to ourselves for the first 2 days, then they would be free to see their friends for the rest of the weekend. So, we didn't want to travel too far from Annapolis. After looking at everything within a 2-hour radius we settled on the Bavarian Inn. The room rate was reasonable enough that we could afford 2 rooms. We also made reservations for Thanksgiving dinner.

The rooms were lovely. The view of the river was beautiful. The chalets are direct access from the outside. So you open the door and you feel the cold right away. I missed having a lobby to go to. I wake up early and like to have somewhere to go to have a cup of coffee and read a book while I wait for the rest of the family to wake up. There was nowhere to go.

The restaurant was lovely. We ate breakfast there the first morning and liked it so much we went back the second morning. Thanksgiving dinner was very well done. It is a very popular place to go. They started serving at noon and it was full all through the day until 8:00. But we ate a lovely meal, the food was well prepared. We never felt rushed. I was very impressed with how smoothly everything ran. I highly recommend this hotel and restaurant. My husband was sorry he couldn't try one of the Bavarian dishes. So, I think we will be back some Sunday afternoon just to have a leisurely drive and dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and also thank you for spending your holiday with us. Thanksgiving was an extremely busy day for us, but we are thrilled that it was an enjoyable experience. We hope that you do indeed take that Sunday (or any other day) drive to taste some of the German, and extensive continental fare on our regular menus. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocala
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Bavarian Inn is one of those "old reliables." We stayed in a standard room in one of the large lodge buildings. If one wants to splurge, there are smaller buildings where rooms have views of the Potomac and jacuzzis. Our room was pleasant, clean and comfortable with the a lovely balcony. The staff were helpful. We enjoyed the restaurant, and Sheperdstown is a good walking town. Golf courses abound within a 30-45 minute drive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us and trip advisor. We are happy we have become your "old reliable!" We also have a great affiliation with Cress Creek Golf Course which is about a three minute drive from the Inn. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
8.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
9.2 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
0.4 mi away
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Thomas Shepherd Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Inn

Property: Bavarian Inn
Address: 164 Shepherd Grade Rd, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavarian Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff overlooking the Potomac River in Historic Shepherdstown West Virginia on 11 acres. The Bavarian Inn is a AAA Four Diamond Award Winning Dining Room and Hotel Accommodations. Most rooms have breathtaking river views from private balconies, whirlpool baths, and gas fireplaces. Fine German and Continental Cuisine. Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence". Casual Dining and Cocktails in the Rathskellar or on the outdoor garden patio. Walking distance to downtown Shepherdstown and great shopping. Golf Packages available with neighboring and private Cress Creek Country Club. Open 365 days per year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bavarian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Hotel Shepherdstown
Bavarian Inn Shepherdstown
Bavarian Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing