We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much in this hotel. Large, clean and beautifully decorated room with every small detail included to accommodate our needs. The staff was over the top helpful with directions and even scheduling our in house massages with their therapist (EXCELLENT!). Their choices of in house restaurants was nice and food was very good! Well worth the rate and made for an excellent weekend get away for us!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 253 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

My trip to the Clarion Hotel in Shepherdstown was a much needed breath of fresh air! The amenities were excellent. The upgrade to the suite was definitely worth it! My friends and I ate dinner in the Rumsey Tavern and were very pleased with the quality of food, service and price. My friends and I chose Shepherdstown as a destination for a scrapbooking trip so we could have a quiet night, but also get out and stroll around the quaint town. I would highly recommend the Clarion to anyone looking for a place to stay in Shepherdstown!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherie_marks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

All encounters with staff were very positive. They were helpful and more important, very customer-friendly. The room was comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was clean and adequately stocked with toiletries. Everything worked which is always a plus. We only ate breakfast there, flat rate for cold breakfast and another for hot. A good bargain, especially considering that there are few places in town for a good breakfast. Pool area small but pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel was wonderful. The people at the desk were helpful and courteous. The rooms were large, clean and well decorated (I wanted to take the spread home with me). The beds were queen size and very comfortable. I had reserved 4 rooms for Saturday and they were all ready for a noon check-in which the front desk gladly let us do. Even though I did not have time to visit the pool, my son told me that it was a great pool and my grandsons enjoyed their time there. The lobby was beautiful and radiated a welcoming feeling. The only thing I can think of that I would like changed is free coffee in the lobby. My father had to pay $1.00 for a cup of coffee on Sunday morning because they had used their coffee in the room on Saturday. I am sure, however, that the front desk would have more than happy to bring them some more. However, most hotels we have stayed at have offered free coffee and tea in the lobby. Other than that small thing, I can't say enough about how great this hotel was for us.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda20637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Clarion in Shepherdstown W.V. the weekend of the Harpers Ferry Arts and Crafts Festival in July. The weekend was probably one of the most interesting we have had in a long time.
There was a terrible storm, a van took a pole down and the whole town was out of power. The staff at the hotel were just so friendly and very professional. They came up to our room and took us down the stairs by flash light. They offered whatever meals or snacks and drinks they could put together and we just had a great time. Eventually, the lights did come on that night and we continued to enjoy the rest of the evening in the Tavern.
Over all the staff and service were a 9 out of 10! Going back in September, can't wait!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pusse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I recently had the wonderful experience of staying in this hotel with my wife and two young children. The staff were so genuinely kind and truly sincere. Whether their kindness was a West Virginia trait mixed with hotel professionalism, I can only look back at my stay as being one of my best. The food was great and service was impeccable. The management really went above and beyond to ensure that our time at the Clarion was comfortable for my children, wife, as well as myself. Since our new additon to our family was born, this was the first time traveling with two young children and the staff even helped unload my car and bring it to my room. If you want a great hotel experience, definitely check out the Clarion in Shepherdstown, West Virginia.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stakemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Clarion with our two year old on the B&B package and it was just Great! The staff were all very nice and very professional; the hotel lobby is elegant and inviting, and the breakfast was fantastic. We really enjoyed visiting the downtown, the parks, and checking out the hiking trail around the hotel -- and then popping back to our room to relax. I'm looking forward to staying there again on our next weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xyzjulie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#3 of 3 in Shepherdstown
145 reviews
8.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
7.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 233 Lowe Dr, Shepherdstown, WV 25443-9602
Location: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price Range: $114 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Shepherdstown
Clarion Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing