We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seneca Shadows - Wonderful!”
Review of Seneca Shadows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seneca Rocks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seneca Shadows
Reviewed September 29, 2010

The view is amazing from the walk in sites, as well as the group tent sites. The hosts were wonderful and so nice. The grass was kept cut, so well it harly tracked when wet. The wildflowers in the middle of the walk-in meadow are so beautful. They attract butterflies and bees, be careful if your allergic. Rabbits and other small wildlife are very pretty. Lots and lots of Hawks, neat to watch. And careful with small dogs! They thought my lil' girl out on her leash was dinner and she thought her barking would scare them... There is a small trail at the high end of the walk-in area, sunrise something I think it's called...

The vault and showerhouse were more than clean! Made late night trips with a low light flashlight a relief in more ways than one!

I've been there with my kids (Dogs) and with my best friend. I plan on taking my spouse, hopefully soon!

The hosts were wonderful, nice people. And they deliver firewood cheap! The bundle was the largest I've ever gotten. And when I forgot to bring a starter, the host went and got me a few kindling pieces and some old newspaper! What a firesaver he was!

And at night, when you think it's just time to settle down... Either get away from your fire or let it die out. And look around, see the outline of Seneca Rocks? Now look up, the Milky Way... Very few places have I been to see it and SOoo, many stars. It was breathtaking. A wonderful way to end the day - just to wake up and start another with deer in the fog!

The walk-in area sacrifices privacy for the views, and it's worth it. The bussiest night I was there, it was me and five others. With the wildflowers and the sloping hill - we knew each other were there, but that was it. I kinda think that it helped with security as well, never had anyone willing to risk everyone else seeing them walking from campsite to campsite, with obviously non of us together.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lady_knight_wulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

Been climbing for 20 years, stayed in nearly every availabale spot in the area and always come back to the Shadows. Always clean, hot showers, mostly quiet afyer 11pm and never any trouble. Dean and Peggy run a nice camp, deliver fire wood at a fair price while stayin behind the scenes. But be sure and take some time to ask about their adventures! Oh, be sure to drop by the Front Porch resturant above Harpers Store for some great spagnetti and meatballs.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superbounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

On hot July weekend we decided to escape from the urban summer heat to the mountains. Seneca Shade Campground turned out to be well above our expectations - very green, very clean and very well maintained. Hosts are friendly, busy driving around, cleaning and taking out trash. They also bring fire woods ($ 6) to your sites. The general campground atmosphere is quite, relaxing and comfortable.
Standard drive-in sites are under tall trees, they are pleasantly shaded, nicely separated from each other by about 10-15 m and provide for some feeling of privacy. Individual sites are flattened but the whole campground is on a mountain slopes; and due to the local relief there is a very limited area for walking around your site. However, it probably saves the vegetation. Bathhouses with restrooms and hot showers were clean and they had a plentiful supply of toilet papers and liquid hand soap.
Walk-in sites are on a totally open (very beautiful) meadow with blooming wild flowers, colorful butterflies, little rabbits and view of Seneca Rock. But these sites are just next to each other (no privacy). Depending on a site location the walking distance from car parking is about from 10 m to 100 m. I would say that walk-in sites are almost drive-in sites.
We made advanced reservation on line for a standard drive-in site. On weekend nights in July when we stayed in Seneca Shadow campground all drive-in sites (including those that were not designated for on-line reservation) happened to be taken but half of walk-in sites were empty.
From the camp meadow you can stroll down to intersection of roads 33 and 28. There is a good coffee shop (across the 28 road) with excellent muffins (blackberries, apples, chocolate), which is open from 7 am till noon (at least on Saturday and Sunday); then the restaurant on top of a general store takes over the food service from noon till 10pm.
The only negative fact about Seneca Shade Campground is that there is only one hiking trail in this area (from Discovery center up to observation platform; take water bottles; 60-90 minutes for one way up depending on your fitness level). For all other hiking trails you have to drive somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kf59traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed in a secluded spot in loop B & really enjoyed it. Each site has a picnic table, fire pit, lantern post, & tent pad. Our site had lots of room & shade. Staff was very friendly and available with a hassle free check in/check out. Walk in sites have a great view of the rocks & are spaced out really well. Bathroom/Shower clean & modern plus the campground was litter free. Great spot to stay if you're in the area, would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNelson614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We stayed in the Seneca Shadows campground and it was gorgeous. the facilities are really clean and even the vault toilets weren't bad. The walk-in sites are very close to parking and even with a two year old, it was EASY to haul our belongings. Each site has a fire pit with grilling grate, a tent pad platform covered with fish tank gravel and a pole for hanging trash. Also, there is a hidden cemetary on the trail to the store and the sunrise trail is great for photos.

Added note: avoid the seneca caverns and opt to travel a little further to the Smoke Hole Caverns. our only regret is that we chose seneca over Smoke hole. The black hills waterfall was very scenetic also.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AutumnandRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

My 13 year old and I just spent 3 days at Seneca Shadows and LOVED every second of it. The campground is secluded and peaceful. The site sizes are varied, but all are set among the trees and offer a nice level of space from fellow campers. The bathhouse was spotless, and the water pressure in the ladies side was amazing! Even the vault toilets were clean and smelled fresh.

Peggy and Dean are wonderful camp hosts, coming by to check on us a couple of times a day, and giving great directions to local attractions. We had a wonderful time and are already planning our return trip!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willfromva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We joined two other couples and our dogs for a trip to Seneca Rocks. This campground was a great location to the sights we wanted to see and was ideal for offering a great environment to tent while maintaining access to power and a hot shower. Peggy and Dean made you feel right at home.

Because they discourage folks to bring other wood in with 'other bugs/insects, they sell larger bundles of firewood for $6 and even deliver it to site. Best deal in the area and it's dry and burns well - don't waste your time buying elsewhere or hauling in.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PghTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seneca Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seneca Shadows

Address: Route 33, Seneca Rocks, WV
Location: United States > West Virginia > Seneca Rocks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Seneca Rocks
Price Range: $11 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campground for people hiking up to Seneca Rocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seneca Shadows Hotel Seneca Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing