We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel on the River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Albans
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our room was reasonably clean. The carpet was so so. The water was warm in the tub. Plenty of soap and stuff. We had a nice view of the river. Had coffee in the morning. Nice staff. Had a microwave and fridge. I paid 55.00 with tax. You can get a good deal off of priceline.com

Cons: Not on the nice side of town. You will pass strip joints on the way there. Luckily the kids were asleep when we traveled.

Also, expect 100 dollar deposit or bring your credit card. This is not mentioned anywhere, but you will be expected to put collateral up. It is in a bad neighborhood so I guess that is why.

Room Tip: Rooms near the river have a nicer view and less noise. Also all the amenities work in these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISTALBANS, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Frank K,

We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of the river. We do require a 100% refundable cash deposit if not using a credit card. We do inspect each room to ensure that there is no damage. I am sorry if this caused any inconvenience. We hope that you stay with us again in the future.


Regards,
Russell-manager
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites-St. Albans, WV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 41 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a very nice and comfortable place to stay, they have a nice bar and dance floor along with great food and atmosphere. There is a river out back if ya just want to take sum time and enjoy view or have a picnic, the service is exquisite and the owners make sure your needs are met. The rooms are very clean and up to date w anything you may need. Really enjoyed my stay, just wish the pool was up and running bt i would reccomend this to anyone wanting a great place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russellll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISTALBANS, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Russelll,

Thank you for writing a review with us. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our lounge area which serves great food and provides good entertainment. Come back sometime and see us!


Regards,
Russell-manager
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites-St. Albans, WV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The price was decent. Good linens and towels. fridge, micro, coffee maker in room. The room was actually decent, except the carpet was nasty, I couldn't do it w/o socks. Not a family place, but not uncomfortable for the road warrior. The bar has a lot of characters, def potential for trouble. But cheap drinks. Newer washers and dryers, $1.75 each.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVISTALBANS, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Angellpowell,
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly work on improving our hotel. We have most recently upgraded our Wi-Fi, as well as our furniture. So next time you travel to the area please stop in for the night.

Russell - Manager
Americas Best Value Inn, St. Albans, WV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The reception building is misleading as it is newer and cleaner than the Motel. The staff at check-in and out was pleasant. We stayed in a "non-smoking" room #210. The carpet was filthy black, stained and ripped. The bed while sans "bedbugs" had an old worn marshmallow matress. The sheets were clean but the whole room stunk! The hotel does have a view of the river which is ok for watching the boat traffic. The area is full of "gentleman's clubs and adult book stores" and the restaurants in the area are limited to fast food. We were concerned about some of the indiviuals guest that were hanging around and almost parked the motorcycle in the room rather than outside.....I believe that by the looks of the carpet it had been done before. Happy ot was for only one night...never again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BUX4FUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Bux4fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share an opinion with us. I am deeply concerned about the issues you encountered during your stay. We have recently added new carpets to 35 of our rooms and are planning to do an additional 20 rooms in the near future. We have also recently added new night stands, dressers, lamps, pictures, chairs, mattresses, pillows to 50 rooms. We hope that these improvements will enhance the overall experience.

Regards,
Marie-FD Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-S Charleston, WV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The receptionist was polite and professional and took good care of us. The location is convention to several fast food restaurants and it was nice to have a view of the river at the back of the hotel. The room was okay, but no daily room service other than trash and towels. The internet was constantly resetting itself on my laptop. The front receptionist told me that checkout was at 12PM, however when the housekeeper came by at 11:15 she was a little upset that we hadn't left yet....as I closed the door she was complaining with the maintenance coworker about us "staying and taking advantage of every "d**n" minute! I mentioned the worker "comments" to ABVI customer service but have not yet received any acknowledgment that they even read my complaint.

Room Tip: I might try a different hotel the next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroadsince1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Roadbug,

Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. We are in the process of upgrading our WIFI internet service. We have addressed the issues mentioned with our housekeeping staff to ensure that this will not happen in the future. Each of our hotels are individually owned and operated.


Regards,
Marie-GM
Americas Best Value Inn- S Charleston,WV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This hotel is nasty. When we first got there we checked our beds, and found dried blood on the pillows. Then the A/C was not working right and on top of everything, the carpet turned our feet black after being there for only a few minutes. There was a downstairs and we heard motorcycles and fights all night long. Our company arrived at the hotel around 4:15pm and they did not have our rooms ready even though we had advance reservation. The guy at the front was a little rude and seemed overwhelmed by our arrival. Find a different hotel, not in South Charleston, and enjoy a good, clean nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clh8625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie L, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear clh8625<

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay. Recently, we have added new carpets to 35 of our rooms and are planning to do an additional 20 rooms in the near future. We have also recently added new night stands, dressers, lamps, pictures, chairs, mattresses, pillows to 50 rooms. We hope that you stay with us again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns located across the Country.

Regards,
Marie-FD Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-S Charleston, WV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

This hotel is in what looks to be a bad part of town. Several adult book & video stores and strip joints, gentlemens clubs and the like or worse all up and down the street. in this area. But of all the other motels and hotels we seen up this strip this one looked better than all the others. So yes we stayed there....
This hotel also has a bar/ lounge called Smileys at the far end of the hotel and there were drunk people shouting back and forth across the parking lot all during the night and wee hours of the morning. It was a Satuday night when we stayed so it may or may not be that bad on a week day.
There is a train track across the street and the train ran through at least times after midnight.
As for the room it was difinetly not the worst I've had but far from the best . There were many cigerette burns in the carpet and on the edge of the tub. The shower curtains had mold on them and the furniture was pretty worn. The front desk attendent was freindly. If you have to stay in this area . I would suggest this hotel over the rest along this strip of town, but if you have a little extra to drive on your next day I would suggest going back to the town of Dunbar.
Good luck.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highmiles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston

Address: 6210 Maccorkle Ave, Saint Albans, WV 25177-2331 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Saint Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Albans
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the beautiful Americas Best Value Inn of South Charleston/St. Albans, West Virginia. Our 2 story, exterior design Inn situated on the Kanawha River offers 108 accommodations, some of which have a river view. Tour groups are welcome, as we offer plenty of RV and Bus parking. Our efficiencies feature full kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, stoves, dinning and a sitting area. All of our guest rooms offer cable television, Internet access, free local calls and hairdryer. We only offer five pet friendly guest rooms so please mention whether you will be bringing a pet within the remarks section of your reservation or contact our hotel directly to make sure that we will be able to fulfill your reservation request. Come relax and enjoy the value at the Americas Best Value Inn of St. Albans. Located off I-64 Exit 54. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - St. Albans / South Charleston Hotel Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing